Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Shepherd Of The Desert Lutheran School

Private | PK-8

We are best known for sharing the love of Christ.

 
 

Living in Scottsdale

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $238,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2009

I have a 4th grader and a 2nd grader at the school and couldn't be happier! This school has such a strong sense of community, not only among the parents and students, but the staff as well. All of the teachers know every student, regardless of grade and go out of their way to help each child. Having previously been at a charter school, I can't say enough about how impressive this school is both academically and socially for my kids. They are really thriving and I've seen their confidence soar in the smaller environment. I also love the uniforms-no hassle getting the kids ready or them worrying that they don't have the 'right' clothes to wear. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

As a speech-language pathologist I service private and charter schools all over the valley and have also worked for a large school district in Arizona. I am convinced that the education my children are receiving is top-notch and national test scores support this. In addition to a high-quality eduation, I feel that SOTD provides a deep sense of community for my entire family. I am so blessed by a loving, Christian atmosphere and great education for my children. All 4 of my children have started in the early childhood program at age 2 and next year will be our 7th year at SOTD. Arizona private school tax credits have helped us tremendously by significantly reducing the cost of tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

My daughter has been at Shepherd since Kindergarten. She is currently in the 6th grade. I could not be happier with the education she has received. The teachers are loving and caring of all the students. They challenge all the students to do their best. The current principal is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

My son is currently in the 3rd grade here and so happy! We have been with the school for three years and with each year I have seen him grow emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. His confidence has blossomed with the loving support that is encouraged from students, teachers, staff, and parents. The smaller class sizes allow for more individualized attention to his school work and he is challenged in all subjects including Religion, Art, Music, Spanish, and Computers. The Saxon Math and Shurley English used here have proven to be superior teaching methods that are supported by documented test-score increases and research studies. They are also the most widely used home school curriculums on the market. Most importantly, the schools overall modeling and guidance to instill in our children to have respect for others, be responsible for their own actions, and be involved with giving back to the community sets it apart from any other school, private or public.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

Having taught in the public schools I've seen a lot of teachers. These teachers are top notch! They put so much into their teaching! The new principal is taking a whole new lead and doing great! Extra-curricular activities have really blossomed this year with great coaches and student enthusiasm and participation! It's like a family! Parents are very involved and contribute to the loving atmosphere generated here! Academically my children are shining and there is individual considerations made for those who need extra help! I love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

My son finished the 2's class and is in the 3's class this year. He absolutely loves school! It is the best part of his day! The Teacher's and staff are great and parent/teacher communication is great as well. My son comes home from school each day having learned something new. Best of all is the Christ centered curriculum. I understand that the Elementary school has struggled with lack of leadership during the past few years, but the new principal has really turned things around and leading the school in a new direction. I look forward to having all my children attend the Pre-school and day school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

Positives, from our perspective, include the small size and Christian education, however we feel there is much room for improvement in the quality of academics, especially in the middle grades. Lack of strong leadership, including careful attention to curriculum review/development, has been a problem for the past few years. A new principal has just been hired, and there are signs the school will be taking steps to try to better prepare the students for academic success in high school. Many families are hoping for improvements next year, under the direction of a new principal; some have decided not to return in the fall, partly because of newer, more academically rigorous schools opening in the area, there are just so many more options now than there were a few years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

Our son is excited to come every day. He loves his teachers, classmates, and activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

Such a wonderful school! The morals and beliefs they teach these kids are amazing. I couldn't be happier and moe pleased that we have this blessing at our fingertips. Both of our kids are happy and doing great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

Beautiful facility. Wonderful art teachers and after school sports program. Everyone is very friendly. Excellent structure but not too strict.


Posted August 24, 2007

We just put our son here in the middle school and have found the teachers and administration to be very caring and concerned about each individual child. So far my son is very happy and we feel he is challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

Great Christian based elementary school where character, morals and respect matter. Very pleased to have my daughters there...one just graduated 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

Provides a safe, active learning environment. Students are encouraged to be friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

Best kept secret in Scottsdale! Our daughter loves this school and is excelling in everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

My son went to shepherd 3's, preshool and kindergarten, when we switched him in first grade to a charter school he had to play catch up because he was so far behind. There is more play time than there is learning. In my opinion if your looking for a place for your kids to come play this is a great scool, but if your looking for a great education this isnt the right scool for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2004

Not any parent involvement in the classroom. Not very much learning our second year at the school. The 2's program was great and the 3's program was not as good. There was not much of a curriculum if any at all. Since our child has changed schools his vocabulary has increased and he is developing so much. The 3's program needs some richness added and a stronger curriculum to stimulate the children. On a good note the teachers were very nice and loving.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 42%
Black 3% 5%
Hispanic 3% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Andy Benscoter
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (480) 860-4152

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9590 East Shea Boulevard
Scottsdale, AZ 85260
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 860-1188

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT