Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

International School of Arizona

Private | PK-5 | 280 students

Our school is best known for our full immersion language program.

 
 

Living in Scottsdale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $286,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2011

Since we were not bilingual we were worried out children would have a difficult time. That was not the case at all and we are so happy we enrolled out children at the school. My 8 year old is completely fluent reading, writing and speaking French. Great interenational education as well as strong US education. Start your children as early as you can but they can succeed even starting at 4 or 5 years old. Gives them a great headstart in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

My 2-year-old son goes to the school and we are extremely happy with the education there. He is already bilingual: he speaks Spanish to the teachers and English to the other children in his class; he just love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

My daughter has been in this school for 6 years and speaks French fluently. The quality of education and diversity cannot be over emphasized. I love the school, the community of parents/families as well as the administrators as well. It is not a big facility and the arts are present but not emphasized. Very strong academic focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

We enrolled our 4 year old daughter in the German summer program and she learned so much! She is not billingual, but we wanted her to learn some language prior to visiting relatives in Germany. The teachers were caring and it was a loving fun environment for her with no pressure. What a great unique opportunity for Arizona children to learn more about their world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2007

My 3-year-old son goes to the school and we are extremely happy with the education there. He is already somewhat bilingual: he speaks French to the teachers and English to the other children in his class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2007

My son is in his second year of preschool and we intend to keep him there as long as possible. The teachers are warm and supportive environment, which is all the more important because the immersion program is challenging, with an emphasis on academics. Parents are highly involved, as can be expected in a small private school. Additional language offerings are building upon the strong French program and are moving the school toward a true international focus. We love and highly recommend the International School of Arizona!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2006

Our three children attend and we are very pleased. The quality of the education is very high and the children are exposed to many cultures. The school is now expanding to a Spanish and possibly German track which is very exciting for the parents. The after- school programs are also excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

Excellent School A+++ My son has been going their for 3 years and speaks 3 languages fluently. Great teachers and staff. High Recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

This is a great school to send your child to. It has been a blessing having such a wonderful option for school in Arizona.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

Excellent educational opportunity for young children. Not only do students learn what a good elementary school would teach them but they acquire a new language in the process. With a little extra effort children become proficient in a new language. Hopefully ISA can expand in order to offer middle school grades and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

This is an amazing school. My family and I just moved from France, and were so relieved to find that there is a school that will teach English and the culture of America, as well as continue to teach in a French manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

A much needed multicultural and multilingual environment for children in Arizona. It suffers from lack of funds however and it would be great if it received more community involvement. Unfortunately Arizona is not very international.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

Outstanding French language/immersion program, following the French national curriculum and benefitting from the school's international community. By Kindergarten all chidren are bilingual. By 2nd grade they can all read/write in both French and English. Small school with strong and warm support from the parents, teachers and the Phoenix international community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2003

French immersion school. Kids are all bilingual.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Italian
German
French
Chinese (Mandarin)
American sign language
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Michelle Borie
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 663-6894

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish and French Curriculum
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9128 E. San Salvador Drive
Scottsdale, AZ 85258
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 874-2326

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT