Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
300 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


International School of Arizona 5

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
My Son is finishing 1st Grade. Not only is the education fantastic but the bonus of a second language is certain to open doors in the future. The school is growing and the students and parents are eager to welcome the new campus this summer. A great school, we trust, will just get better now that it has room to expand. It is nice to be in a community of well educated worldly people who share common values and treasure a fantastic education.

International School of Arizona
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
The teacher for the first grade spanish track is a rare gem. She is one of the best teachers my children have ever had.


International School of Arizona 3

Posted February 14, 2016
- a parent
The small class size, which decreases each year, and extremely small number of new students entering my daughter's class from Kindergarten to the 4th grade has limited her social development.

International School of Arizona
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children have been at ISA for three years, and I could not be happier with the multi-language education they have received. The teachers are very dedicated, and the immersion curriculum is outstanding. My children are becoming worldly citizens who are not only well above their grade level in English reading, comprehension and math but are also curious about different cultures, exploring new things and thinking outside the box. I have several friends who are native Spanish speakers and have their children in the public school system ( a couple at schools that offer an second language program) and every time they converse with my children, they are always blown away by their Spanish language skills. It is truly the best gift you can give your children!

International School of Arizona
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
My son was in another private school in Arizona since he was two and never wanted to go. When we walked into ISA for the first time to meet the teacher he was shy. By the time we left 20 minutes later he was hugging her goodbye. This attitude carried out throughout his first year at ISA. His English and Spanish skills are tremendous. He completed pre-k this May at age 4 and is reading. He loves to read and write at home and has a very strong bond with his classmates. The teachers are very dedicated to giving the children a great education as well as providing a fun and safe environment. We can't wait for kindergarten!


International School of Arizona 5

Posted June 22, 2015
- a parent
My child loves the International School and so do we. The children learn so much, in French or Spsnish and English. The teachers are excellent - very experienced, loving and focused on their curriculum. Classe are intentionally small. Expect a Waitlist for some classes, so start early - 3 or 4 year old. I was nervous about starting my child at 3 years old but they offer so much more than day cares or church preschools, it's been well worth it. I've learned so much about language immersion and how children have the ability to process and learn several languages without confusion. The English teachers are also excellent and they offer STREAM, so in Kindergarten my child started do science, engineering and math projects. Very impressive. Love ISA.

International School of Arizona
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 22, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are excellent. Very caring, smart and focused. My daughter has learned so much. . New Head of School seems to be very experienced and brings a new level of professionalism to the school.

International School of Arizona 1

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
We left the school due to the absolutely poor education! We were promised a high level of education, but the majority of 2nd graders cannot read. The children are very far behind other students at their level and they will not be able to compete when they get into a "real" school. Parents excuse it claiming the immersion keeps their children behind, but that is just wrong. The school promised immersion, but how can you have that when they now combine the French and Spanish students for many hours each day due to lack of enrollment in the upper grades. It's just a poorly run school and the administration and board have no clue what they are doing so no one will be able to fix it. The only ones who lose out are the kids and that is very sad!


International School of Arizona 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended ISA for 5 years now - starting when he was only 2 years old. I was a stay-at-home mom at the time and wanted to allow my son to socialize with other children his age but didn't want to send him to the 'typical' day care that just involved aimless playing. Language immersion sounded perfect - learning, nurturing intermixed with playing. The adjustment was hard at first but after only a few days, my son would literally run to his classroom excited to learn! Over the years, his classmates have become his extended family, all accepting of each other! The teachers are amazing as well and very dedicated to the entire process of teaching through immersion. Hearing my son speak fluent French with a perfect accent brings tears to my eyes! And he still runs to his classroom! ISA = Money well spent and an true investment in his future!

International School of Arizona 4

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
I am extremely pleased with the International School of Arizona. Our son has been at the school for 5 years and is fluent in French. In addition, he has had after school Spanish and Mandarin for the past 3 years and is progressing well with both. We don't speak another language at home so this experience has been amazing so far. The teachers are native speakers of Spanish and French and are absolutely amazing. The American English program is also now implementing a STREAM (Science, Technology, Reading, Engineering, Art and Math) curriculum and we are very pleased. ISA is certified by the Spanish and French governments as well they have been recently certified in the American curriculum through AdvancED. My wife and I believe in academic excellence and both have graduate and post graduate degrees. However, academic excellence is nothing without the leadership ability through global cultural intelligence. There is no other school like ISA in Arizona. Every year ISA has grown by 5-15% and so there are always some growing pains. They are in search of a new building in response to the overwhelming agreement of academic excellence through second language immersion.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

International School of Arizona
9128 E. San Salvador Drive, Scottsdale, AZ  85258
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (480) 874-2326
Last modified International School of Arizona is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top