Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6 & Ungraded
Public
Scottsdale, AZ
Students enrolled: 634

4 stars
Based on 83 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


87 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pinnacle Peak Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2013
- a parent
Moved from VA & top rated school with fabulous parent/teacher involvement, so were concerned whether this school would measure up. Our son attended 3rd & 4th grade, class size: 29 to 31 - teachers handled it great. Principal is very visible & creates an open, caring environment & is very involved with the kids. Teachers are qualified, well organized & caring. Parent/teacher conference: useful & provided great feedback. Honors program (English & Math) were great. Art teacher communicated nicely on one of our son's assignments. PE teacher held morning cross country running class & gave great feedback; he's really nice & caring. Honors teacher: very nice, knowledgable & efficient. She gave insight on behavior, common with gifted kids. Staff: nice & efficient & involved! Safety: morning drop-off can be busy; cross-guard lady helps keeping things safe. We've volunteered for recess for over the past year. We'd address bullying (very little of that) & ensuring kids didn't get into things that could hurt them & handling disputes. It also discouraged random people from entering the school yard. Maintenance: very clean, updated equipment. Community: beautiful & clean.
1 person found this helpful

Pinnacle Peak Elementary School 5

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is in kindergarten at Pinnacle Peak Elementary. I couldn't be more pleased with the school, staff, and teachers. Everyone has been so nice and welcoming. The class size is small (18), and the kids get the attention that they need. Parental involvement is very high. Parents are encouraged to eat lunch with the kids and help in the classroom. I love the school and am look forward to the next several years there!!
1 person found this helpful


Pinnacle Peak Elementary School 1

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
Choose wisely -- you have a choice. This school will never be good or even average until it gets a principal who does something besides back-up ineffective teachers and students who are bullies. The parents are lovely, many of the kids are, too, but the academics are weak in comparison to other elementary schools and teachers. Bullies run rampant and the teachers and targets can't do anything because the principal doesn't handle it in a meaningful way. Teachers know they can slide by on little and the principal will back them up. There are some good teachers, but many are weak, and this principal brings the whole school down. Choose another school with a better leader; most of the good families avoid Pinnacle Peak -- we left, following the lead of three far wiser families who left months before us, and we all went different ways but are delighted with our new situations.

Pinnacle Peak Elementary School 3

Posted November 21, 2012
- a parent
The school is good, not great. There are both good and bad teachers. And there is a lot of nepotism, staff's children getting preferential treatment. The No Limits program is a combined 5th and 6th grade class with almost 40 kids and one teacher. They score well on AIMS because they teach to the test. It is a large public school with overcrowded classrooms. It is what it is.

Pinnacle Peak Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2012
- a community member
We are new to Pinnacle Peak and are amazed at how great this school is. This is a dream school. Perfect in every way. The principal is outstanding. The school is run smoothly and the teachers are what you wish every teacher across America would be like. I have never seen my kids so happy and excited to go to school. Also, all of the parents that we have met are so nice along with their children. An A + school.


Pinnacle Peak Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2012
- a parent
I feel so blessed to have my neighborhood school be Pinnacle Peak. Mr. Lee is an outstanding principal. We have the most amazing teachers, dedicated PTO and parent volunteers.Our school is always looking for unique way to make it a better learning and social enviroment for the children at the school- Ipad lab, project gold, No limits, etc... We are really looking forward to another great year at PPES- The Best School in America!!! !

Pinnacle Peak Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2012
- a teacher
As a teacher of the PPES staff I can assure you that the educators in this building are some of the most dedicated and talented educators you will find. We focus on what is best for every student and provide support so every child can be successful. And their success shows, we were ranked as the #1 K-6 elementary school in the state. Our school's innovation and hard work is being recognized by our district. This year we will be piloting a "No Limits" program for a group 5th and 6th grade students that integrates inquiry based learning, physical education and technology. With the support of our Professional Development department we have created a Center for Teaching Excellence that is starting within the primary grades. Our goal is for these programs to expand. These programs would never have been an option without the caliber of educators we have in EVERY classroom as well as the leadership of our principal and the support of our community.

Pinnacle Peak Elementary School 3

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
In my opinion, it is true that many of the teachers at this school give preferential treatment to kids whose parents shower them daily with gifts such as Starbucks, dessert items, fast food, etc. For the enormous quantities of donations the PTO takes in, there should be more money to supplement such things as textbooks and field trips. Certain teachers, however, such as the art, band, and honors teachers, DO NOT participate in this behavior and are FANTASTIC teachers. There are very tight cliques of parents who rule the roost at this school. Parents who are not part of these cliques feel like outsiders and our children pay the price daily. The core knowledge curriculum is EXCELLENT, but many of the teachers (especially those demanding gifts) do not adhere very closely to it. The lunch period is too short, especially when time spent in line to and from the cafeteria and to buy food is taken into account. In my opinion, although the principal may not be getting everything right, he has good intentions. I do not believe that this school is terrible, but there is much room for improvement.


Pinnacle Peak Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
I am one of the parents who went on the Library field trip and I love this field trip. The students are getting to walk on a beautiful day with as many parents as want to join. We learned all about the construction of this wonderful library, it being Green and all, our kids were able to check out books for an up comming report that was due and then we all walked back and enjoyed a picnic lunch and fun in the local park! Its nice to get back to the basics and enjoy the simple things in life. Walking to our local library with our brown bag lunches.

Pinnacle Peak Elementary School 3

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
It's no surprise the defenders of PPES are lurking to challenge any truths about the school. A neighboring elementary public school took their 2nd grade kids to the Music Instrument Museum, and they have an upcoming trip to a different cultural museum. Our kids walk to the nearby public library? As if kids have never been there? Some "trip"... The PTO is partially involved in sharing the expense of field trips with the school. The PTO has fundraiser after fundraiser and the kids are walking to a library? As for the favoritism, it exists, whether you are aware of it, or not willing to admit it. Maybe you haven't experienced the discrimination that goes on in this school. When you don't play to the school's games, you see certain kids receiving preferential treatment in class. Either you are a participant or not very involved in school. Those who attend know the modus operandi of this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pinnacle Peak Elementary School
7690 E. Williams Dr., Scottsdale, AZ  85255
(602) 449-6700
Last modified Pinnacle Peak Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pinnacle Peak Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 87 reviews. Top