Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Basis Scottsdale

Charter | 5-12 | 701 students

We are best known for accelerated academic program.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Scottsdale

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $420,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 20 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

145 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2010

This is a one-of-a-kind treasure for anyone who's kids are interested in learning and knowledge. Slaves to fashion and dedicated athletes may find it less hospitable, though many of the latter do find a very comfortable place at the school also. What you will not find at Basis is Social Promotion (moving someone up with their age group in spite of inadequate achievement) molly coddling, or a great deal of belly aching. You will also likely notice the fact that it is a small school with both the positive and negative attributes this implies; the environment is collegial and supportive, but not everything is clockwork all the time. Do I wish there was a little more stability in staffing? Sure. Could school administration be better at communicating with and supporting parents? Very likely. However, my kids have found nothing even close to the excellence they find here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

The turnover rate at this school is shocking, not only for teachers, but for students as well. Weaker students are weeded out before exam time so their lower scores won't appear in the school's rankings (the only thing administration cares about). Teachers who question their policies are subsequently eliminated. This place is an unethical business, not a school. Stay away!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 10, 2010

My son attended a Montessori education through 4th grade and joined BASIS in 5th for what they call "boot camp". The transition from a free-flow environment to a quite rigorous one was challenging for the first few months. I am a single parent and don't get home until dinner time. My son always has all of his homework completed by the time we are ready to sit down for dinner.... which enables us to have a normal, evening. Many students struggle to complete their course work in less than a few hours nightly. It's TOUGH work.... it depends on your student and how you've raised them to work independently and efficiently. My son is in 9th grade this year and will graduate with honors from BASIS with the tools to be an amazing college student. KUDOS BASIS!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

Here is what you need to know about BASIS. The school is not for everyone. It is a VERY challenging school and the children are inundated with academic rigger. Don t get me wrong. Any child can succeed at BASIS. The key is hard work, discipline and scheduling. Beginning in 6th Grade, students study three independent science subjects: Biology, Chemistry, and Physics. Concurrently, your child will take math with an expectation of Pre-Algebra by 6th Grade, Algebra I in 7th Grade and Algebra II in 8th Grade. Your child s curriculum will also include classic literature, writing, Social Studies and Language. There is a Fine Arts requirement to include PE, Music or some other elective. My son is in the 8th grade and is doing well. He works hard and puts in a lot of hours studying and preparing for classes. I hope this helps in your decision on choosing BASIS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

We moved here from California two years ago so that our children could attend BASIS. It was the best decision that we have ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

A very challenging school with excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

My daughters teacher is leaving school next year for good but all he does is showing videos to students.He has no interest left in teaching and that is very unprofessional. Seems like no body cares.I am disappointed.School overall is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

My kids love BASIS because course work is challenging and teachers are inspiring. With discussions, videos and demos, teachers show a connection between classwork and the real world. They have high credentials and are enthusiastic about the subject that they teach, which rubs off on the kids. My son is very much into sports and was hesitant to move here because of the lack of a gym. But, to his pleasant surprise, he found that the school addressed that issue by linking up with local organizations. They have Basketball, Football, Rugby, Volleyball, Tennis teams as well as Fencing and Running Clubs. The award-winning Music program and art are also favorites with my kids. With a curriculum that is the best in the country and an extra-curricular program that is on par with a private school's (without the private school price-tag), my kids are receiving an excellent, well-rounded education at BASIS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2009

My daughter is 3 months into the 5th grade at Basis. With my other kids this is the 8th American school with which I have experience as a parent. There is no comparison between Basis and any other public school, charter or otherwise. The education she is receiving is nothing short of phenomenal. I would not have thought it possible, or even reasonable for a 10 year old to learn the stuff she is learning. She already knows FAR more than 99.9% of all Americans about geography, required at Basis but not taught in the majority of elementary schools. The math she is learning approaches 9th grade in most high schools. Latin, classis, english, science, & social studies round things out. Kids who are organized, motivated, pay attention, and have support at home will do well. The opposite is also true; this school is not for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

My son learned more in the past 3 months at BASIS than in the last 3 years! And finally, he's not bored at school. The kids are expected to master material, which makes for a difficult transition for any child who was trained in Scottsdale public schools (where vague recollections will earn you A's). The rule for 5th graders is no more than 1-2 tests a day, so the teachers coordinate the ensure the kids aren't overwhelmed. Kids have ample notice of tests; only super-disoranized kids get slammed. Note that even gifted kids will have to work hard, and learn to be organized, which takes time and can be stressful. But for families who believe a solid education is critical to success, BASIS is the place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Clearly this school is not for all students. This is my daughters 3rd year. I took her out of the pathetic middle school she was attending so she could get the eduacation, exposure, and challeng she desired for better learning. I am mosted impressed with the teachers ....and the administration as they encourage everyone to think outside the box!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I've seen just the opposite. My child entered BASIS in 7th Grade. At the beginning she struggled mightily to catch up in the maths and sciences. In each instance, the teachers contacted me, set up times to meet and discuss strategies to help her succeed, and talked about their perceptions of her strengths and weaknesses. There have been a couple of teachers who have not met this high level, but the transition out pretty quickly. It is my belief that over 90% of the teachers sincerely want their students to learn and succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

When we moved to Arizona, our priority was education for our two kids. After doing extensive research, we decided BASIS was far superior than anything we have encountered before. Sure, the work is hard and alot is expected from the students...welcome to the real world. This school is focused on success in college life and the real world afterwards. There is no teacher in college that cares if a parent isn't happy with a certain teaching style and certainly isn't going to cutail his/her lessons to coddle a particular student. The teachers at BASIS are engaging, dynamic and encourage a student to take the lead role in their own lives. It is a students job to be organized, involved and take an active role in their education. We as parents back their efforts and work with our students to help them succeed. We also act as a liason with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

I do not like this school. Some of the teachers think that every one should understand everything 2 min. after they teach. it is certainly a chalenge and i would not reccomend anyone go there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2009

As a parent at Basis I was lured in with the promise of an excellent education, but my experience has been that teachers are not held accountable for what they teach or how they teach. Some teachers are excellent, but unfortunately they are overshadowed by the very bad ones. Consistency is lacking in the level and quality of teaching - for example, in middle school sciences the material ranges all the way up to high school and college level and the subjects are often poorly taught by teachers that appear to have no guidance or supervision. This led to massive overwhelm and confusion for my child and I saw many stressed teachers. Since attending Basis, my child changed from being positive and taking pride in school work to being depressed, irritable and having no motivation left, despite getting good grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

This school is amazing.....IF you have the right kid for it. Make no mistake: the education is the best you can find in AZ, possibly the country! Do not expect to be a 'stage-parent' Your student is totally responsible for his/her own success. Personally, we like it. My husband and I are both full-time working parents and do not have time to be part-time teachers. Our son is doing great and learning things not available in public schools. Our kid has a well-balanced social-life, but knows that 'learning' is his #1 priority. Basis has been enforcing our philosophy!! Kudos!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

Parents considering Basis for their children's education clearly care about their children's education. This school has many good things going for it, which others have described in detail. But be warned, for your child to be happy and successful in this environment, he/she must have an excellent memory and a competitive attitude. Without the memory, you and your child will spent countless hours drilling facts and studying for exams. Without the competitive attitude, your child will not be happy and will very likely flunk out. And even those with a competitive attitude are often upset by the poor grades. Tears and stomach upset are common at this school. Parents are not communicated with and unless the student talks freely at home, will not have any idea of academic problems until report cards come out and it is too late to do anything. The dropout rate is very high here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

From the other reviews you can tell people either love or hate this school. I haven't met any parents that give anywhere near the glowing reviews of the 5 star people on this page. Make no mistake, BASIS offers a 1st class education if your child is bright and can do 3 to 5 hours of homework a night. This is a tough school - for both students and parents. My child is finishing up 6th grade and is learning 9th grade material in math and science. While this may seem wonderful, I question whether the emotional toll and family stress is worth it. If you don't start your child in 5th (pre 6) grade, it is very difficult to catch up. The school also weeds out students with comprehensive exams that must be passed to move on to the next grade. AIMS is nothing compared to these.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

Yes the school is academically challenging and culturally diverse. The teachers are great for the most part, but why do they have such a hard time getting good teachers to stay. The turn-over rate is quite high from what I have seen over the past few years. We will probably move on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

I have a child at BASIS Scottsdale and it is a VERY frustrating experience! If you expect the teachers to communicate with you...forget it! We get the feeling that they allow kids to fail, if they are even close it, instead of trying help at all. If your child needs any type of help or encouragement with schooling...do not expect it from BASIS. We are definitely considering leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 41% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Hispanic 2% 43%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 100% of High School students passed the AIMS exam in all subjects tested (math, reading, writing, science). (2010)
  • Ranked the Top [High] School for Overall Academic Performance by BusinessWeek (2009)
  • Regional Science Bowl Winners (2010)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Fax number
  • (480) 451-4555

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
  • flag football, fencing
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • flag football, fencing

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Bulldog booster parent organization communicates regularly with the school and parents to open communication channels. in addition, they coordinate socials for the students and teachers as well as fundraise for many school programs. organizations in the community provide extracurricular opportunities for the students including tennis, golf, basketball, chess, and yearbook.
More from this school
  • BASIS Scottsdale 10th grade students earned a 100% pass rate on the 2010 AIMS Science exam (BASIS Tucson was the only other school in the state to share this distinction). In fact, 92 percent of BASIS Scottsdale 10th graders EXCEEDED state standards on the 2010 AIMS Science exam compared with only 27 percent of students statewide. 100 percent of BASIS Scottsdale 8th grade students also passed the AIMS Science exam and 99 percent of those students EXCEEDED state standards on the AIMS Science exam compared with only 33 percent of students statewide. BASIS Scottsdale students had the highest overall 2010 AIMS scores in the following grade levels: 5th, 7th (tied), 8th (tied), 10th (tied). Moreover, 100% of BASIS Scottsdale students passed the 2010 AIMS exam in the following subjects and grade levels: 7th grade math, 8th grade math, 10th grade math, 6th grade reading, 7th grade reading, 8th grade reading, 10th grade reading, 5th grade writing, 7th grade writing, 10th grade writing, 8th grade science, and 10th grade science.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11440 N. 136th Street
Scottsdale, AZ 85259
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 451-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT