Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pope John XXIII Catholic School

Private | K-8 | 591 students

Our school educates the whole child and helps them to excel in all areas.

 
 

Living in Scottsdale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $245,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted February 14, 2013

Welcome to Blessed Pope John XXIII Catholic School in North Scottsdale. We are a welcoming community who work tirelessly to provide an exceptional academic, spiritual and social experience for our students. Parents are an integral part of the success of our school. We invite you to learn more about our state of the art facility, rigorous academic programs and incredibly qualified faculty and staff who make this school such a success.

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

Pope John really represents a strong community enviroment. With excellent academics and deep in the faith this may be one of the best catholic schools out there.


Posted August 24, 2013

I like the IPad program and NDP Math program.If you want a fun and bully free school the is the school for you.Also we have Masses every Wednesdays which is cool.


Posted August 16, 2013

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this school. After several children and almost a decade here I think the school is absolutely working at its best. The administration is a good balance of tough yet fun, the teachers passionate about what they are doing and the community the most engaged I have ever seen them. We are happy and blessed and want to thank those that have worked so hard to make it a Christ filled fun place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

My family has been attending Pope John for 8 years and it is a great school they have a great campus vary clean and welly looked after. The school has some great teachers, but they have one big problem the school physiologist has came to the point where she only wants her own son to succeed so she dose not assist other students, also the school admin staff do not respond to the parents quickly or take contemplates about teachers series, they also seem reluctant to educate special ed students. The principal will not fire teachers who have worked at the school longer then him even after getting a hundreds of contemplates from parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

Pope John XXIII is a wonderful place to send children for not only an education, but Christian values. The community and staff are true leaders and examples of how to live your faith. The Ipad program is outstanding. We are so blessed to have our children attend one of the many amazing Catholic schools in the valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2013

Wonderful teachers and overall great school. The iPad program has moved the school in a progressive direction. I also like all the updates to the school (the new gym, the new field, etc)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2013

We were very dissapointed with how we were treated by the admissions staff. No return phone calls, no status updates, and an overall feeling that the admissions director was passive-agressive. We opted for another catholic school in the area instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

This school keeps getting better. The kids are happy, engaged, challenged, well-behaved, and kind. The teachers are phenomenal. I highly recommend signing up for kindergarten boot camp if you have a child entering K next year. Our whole family loves being a part of Pope John XXIII!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

Mrs. Buckley is one of the finest educators I have ever met. She commands 100% student engagement every moment of each day. The learning is constant and connections are made by every student in the room. She couples outstanding academics with substantial Catholic teachings for a home run. She is an amazing kinder teacher, we are very blessed. The office staff is kind and the principal & assistant greet you at the gate every day without fail. This school is going places!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

My daughter is a kindergarten student and can't wait to get to school each day. The school is an awesome academic community that allows each student to thrive, while teaching core Catholic values and faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

Our son loves Blessed Pope John XXIII. The Catholic values,excellent faculty,staff and administration and curriculum are so worth it.Our famiy is so blessed to be a part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

Great school! Absolutely thank God we have the chance to be a part of this school. Teachers are awesome, admin strong and caring. Highly recommend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

I have two children at Pope John xxiii and could not be happier! The kids have a great love of learning, wonderful friends, and great encouragement of faith. They can't wait to go to school each morning! The administration is wonderful (I can't say enough about the new principal and vice-principal). The parents are great, the teachers are fabulous. I couldn't imagine sending my children anywhere else. The tuition is a bargain!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

I feel so fortunate to have my children at this school. They are receiving an incredible academic experience surrounded by a wonderful community of parents, teachers and staff. I would highly recomend this school. Our children are so happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2012

We moved to Scottsdale from out of state during the summer. Earlier in the year we had our child registered with a different private Christian academy in town for the 2012/2013 school year. We made inquiries with the top rated high schools in the area and spoke with registrars regarding the best feeder school that produced the top students. Pope John was highly recommended for providing students who are not only high achievers academically, but well rounded with a strong background in Christian service to the community and overall participation in school activities. The recommendation was spot on. Our child is extremely happy in this school. The teachers are very committed and caring. The staff is committed to providing a safe, Christian, academically-challenging foundation in preparation for high school, college and life. In addition, families are very visible and active in all aspects of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

My son has been attending Blessed Pope John XXIII for 4 years and we couldn't be happier. The staff is kind, qualified, and genuinely care about every student. The new administration has been a very positive force that has moved the school in a great new direction. They are also starting a new iPad program to improve student engagement, differentiate learning for all kids, and promote student creativity. My family and I couldn't me more thrilled with the evolution of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

My son absolutely loves this school! He truly enjoys learing now, and has been challenged academically. I highly recommend this school to anyone considering sending their child to a private school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

We are a new family to Pope John XXIII and are so pleased with the education our son is receiving. We love that Pope John engages the students, academically, socially, physically and spiritually. The parent organization is fabulous. The parents involved do a top-notch job of organizing school activities from box tops to a school wide Harvest Fest. If you are looking for a school where teachers, students and parents work together to develop respectful, intelligent, faithfilled children then your search is over. Come be part of Pope John XXIII.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

My son has attended Pope John XXIII for over six years now. The teachers are great in that they are experienced and help us keep him on track for success. The school uses web based access so my wife and I can follow his weekly progress. Email communication is used and has been a great tool. The administration sets a wonderful example of Christian leadership: they are strong in their faith, attend Mass with the students, and promote a spirit of service to the community. The teachers are successfully helping our son to become a responsible Christian citizen and steward. He is confident and outgoing as a result of the encouraging environment. Parents are actively involved and participate in his learning process. Unlike other schools, Pope John XXIII continues to offer art, music, physical education, Spanish as a foreign language, computers, and has a great library. Extended care is also available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

We have two children at Pope John XXIII. The students learn how important it is to be a leader in their community with service projects and Christian role models. All the teachers have been enthusiastic about their role in a child's life. They are committed to guidance and academic excellence. Our seventh grade student will be well prepared for a private or public High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 5%
Hispanic 5% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:20 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Preston Colao
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (480) 905-0955

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Xavier College Preparatory
Brophy College Preparatory
Notre Dame Preparatory
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16235 N 60th St
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 905-0939

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Freedom Academy
Scottsdale, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT