Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pardes Jewish Day School

Private | K-8 | 292 students

strong secular academic program with a strong Judaic studies program
 
 

 

Living in Scottsdale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $245,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 15 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2014

Pardes has proven itself to be everything we were looking for in an educational experience for our 2 boys. For perspective, my wife and I are both professionals who have attended a significant amount of school. I also have a Masters Degree in Education. I don't qualify myself as an expert but I have experience. Here are a few main points.1) Our children love learning! In an age of increased testing and focus on meeting standards many children's innate curiosities and untapped interests are left on the side of the road. This school's methods are well known to promote love of learning. 2)Confidence - I work with many other highly pedigreed professionals and I can tell you with certainty that honest confidence (not fabricated braggadocio) is one of the highest sought after attributes in the workplace. Pardes students can speak, they can articulate, and they can advocate with confidence. 3)Well rounded. The education at Pardes offers many different learning opportunities. The teachers do an excellent job at combining these into useful learning experiences. We are extremely happy with our choice and confident that we have chosen an excellent educational path for our boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2014

My children thrive in the smaller class setting. They are truly able to get individualized attention from their teachers. You feel as if each child is getting a customized educational experience tailored to the child's needs. The well rounded curriculum is excellent in each grade and it continues to incorporate the latest and greatest of both secular and religious teaching methods. The teachers are some of the most passionate educators I have come in contact with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2014

We have an entering 3rd and 1st grader. Our 3rd grader has received a very individualized academic experience which I had always assumed was due to him having an illness and missing a lot of school. The entire administrative team has always been well aware of his condition and the importance of keeping him safe (in regard to safe food for him) and keeping him included. All of his teachers have gone above and beyond our expectations keeping him up academically. It is has been to our delight that our other child (totally healthy) has experienced the same warmth, caring and individualized education. Every child is special at Pardes. Our experience is that each our our children have been pushed academically but always still love their social environment and really enjoy going to school. Each teacher we've had (we've had 4) has been as warm, loving and the right amount of challenging as the next. We've made the most wonderful family friends which are now our closest friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2014

My child is entering 1st grade at PJDS and loves it! He was excited to go to kindergarten every morning, and didn't want to leave at the end of the day. Due to the small class size and her incredible patience and love, his K teacher gave my son individualized attention and care. I feel like she really knew him as a learner, and as a person. He is passionate about school, learning, reading, math, science, Hebrew, music, sports and Judaism. Although these seeds were planted at home and Jewish preschool, his interests are blossoming and growing at PJDS. As a parent, I love the Jewish values and how they are incorporating into learning each day. This means that in addition to learning the topics that are covered at a secular school, my son is learning to be a mensch (a good person). What more could a parent want?? I highly recommend PJDS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2014

My children have blossomed at Pardes Jewish Day School. They are receiving a top notch secular and Jewish education as well as all the other benefits of being at a Jewish Day School. I love the fact that Jewish values are incorporated into every aspect of their education. The teachers are experienced and truly passionate about what they do. Plus, the small class sizes enable the teachers to truly get to know each of their students. My children love going to to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2014

DO NOT BELIEVE THE HYPE! Despite the upcoming move to the former King David/Jess Shwartz campus next the JCC, do not fall into the Pardes trap. They are still the same old unprofessional and incompetent excuse for a "school" that they have always been. Even if your "close friend" tells you how much they love Pardes, try to ask them deep level questions about the content, strategy and curriculum that Pardes uses to "educate" the children and you will get lots of double-speak. The fact is that Pardes has perfected lip-service and has no substance for the fundamentals of learning. Your children will run free with no supervision and you will be told this is "healthy". However, you will not feel that way when your child is perpetually bullied and the administration blames your child and then tells you they have emotional problems and should be medicated. If you want your child to have a proper education in Arizona, look into the new charter schools and send your children to Hebrew school. Pardes is a disaster in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

My child is in 3rd grade and her use of Hebrew Is really coming together. It's wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2014

My daughter is in 6th grade, has attended the school since 3rd grade. The school provides a well rounded education, 1:1 support whenever necessary. I receive emails from the teachers at least once a month, with curriculum updates and more frequently if my child is having difficulty. The principle is forthright in changes being made. They have an excellent anti-bullying program, after school sports and other activities. We are very fortunate to be able to attend, and there is a good bit of additional funding for scholarships, so anybody who wants a dual Judaic/secular education can afford it. Highly recommend!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

We love everything about Pardes! Our son has thrived since being at the school and we can't wait for our younger son to go to attend Pardes as well. The academic curriculum is top-notch and the individual attention the students get from teachers is unparalleled. No class is more than 15 kids! Pardes integrates Jewish studies and values into everything they do. It is an environment that fosters a passion for learning, self-confidence, creativity, compassion and growth. We can't say enough good things about Pardes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

As a parent of a child who attended public school and transferred to PJDS, we truly appreciate and value the PJDS staff. While in public school, a hand full of children were not fortunate enough to participate in an early education program prior to kindergarten; this was not an issue at PJDS. As a result of the extensive public school resources dedicated to those children who lacked basic skills, the majority of children started to slip through the cracks. My son struggled to stay stimulated in a 25+ class size. PJDS on the other hand is blessed with smaller class sizes (i.e. 15 kids in this year s class). The teachers are able to personalize their teaching techniques based on the individual child's needs. Teachers partner with parent(s) to educate the children, focusing on both Jewish and secular learning. Pardes maximizes many of the community's strengths by including Rabbi's, parent professionals and community resources to create a robust-learning rich environment, second to none. We feel blessed to send our child to this wonderful school and look forward to sending our younger child in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

We moved to Phoenix three years ago and were interested in a school that provided a well rounded education that emphasized both academics and value based learning. Pardes provides both a Jewish and secular education that is challenging yet allows our kids to be kids- not robots or mini- adults. Our kids love going to school and feel as though they are part of a community. There may be a lot of 'competition' out there but I haven't found a school that does it better. My husband and I are both professionals and value strong academics. If standarized test scores are a measure of academic success (as some might think) we know first hand that Pardes excels. However, we know that the real value in our school is the confidence it instills even in our youngest kids and the love of learning that hopefully will continue grow with them As for the teachers and administration- I can't imagine a more responsive, caring, creative group of educators. We feel very fortunate to be part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

I really can not believe this school is still open! Why have you smart, educated, caring Jewish parents not realized yet that you are selling your children incredibly short. There are so many other excellent options now that really do deliver on the promises they make as opposed to the false lipservice you get at Pardes. The curriculum barely exists and the Teachers are not even held accountable for following what little direction they have. The leadership is way out of touch with the current education climate (which is HIGHLY competitive) and the gossip still runs rampant! Gossip guides all decision-making at Pardes which makes them erratic and subscribe to a CYA / blame the child (and parents) mentality. DO NOT WASTE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY ON PARDES. Your child will not be able to survive in the public or charter schools if you keep your child at Pardes past kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Yesterday morning, I found my children (4th and 2nd grades) reciting passages from a Midsummer Night's Dream to each other. Seriously, Shakespeare. This is one of the many, many things my husband and I love about Pardes. We wanted a nurturing environment, while still providing a rigorous secular education. Pardes does both beautifully. The administration and staff are warm and welcoming. Our once shy daughter has blossomed into a confident, thoughtful little girl. Our son, who came to Pardes with social challenges, has thrived at Pardes (both academically and socially). We are absolutely thrilled with our experience at Pardes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Our children have been at Pardes for 4+ years now, and we couldn't be happier with their experience there. All of their teachers have been deeply dedicated, caring, and kind. Several teachers have been truly *outstanding* educators - the kind who develop a lifelong love of learning, and who have an amazing positive impact on your child's self-esteem. The entire staff is equally dedicated. There isn't a staff member there who doesn't greet my children, by name, with a smile every day. The class sizes are small (15 and 16 students this year for us), which is incredible and allows for so much individualized attention to your child. The environment is warm, all are made to feel welcome, and the children learn to support and encourage each other. All in all, Pardes is a happy place. My children love school and look forward to going every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

We have been at Pardes for 3 years and have 2 children enrolled in the school. Our children are excited to go to school everyday! They are receiving a wonderful secular and religious education. The teachers are kind, knowledgeable, and make learning fun. Class sizes are small, so teachers are able to differentiate instruction to meet each students's individual needs. Pardes also works hard on teaching children values and how to be a good person. There is a wonderful community feel for the children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

My family moved to the Phoenix area in August and decided to enroll our 9 year old daughter at Pardes. It was a wonderful decision for us. It was a nurturing environment, wonderful curriculum. We were crazy impressed with the teachers. We really liked the reading program. The creativity with everyday learning was amazing! Super happy with our decision. Our daughter is thriving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

Pardes Jewish Day School is an amazing school. We recently moved to town and enrolled our two children and they thrived academically and socially. The administration and teachers went above and beyond to nurture our children. The academics were vigorous and changing. The individualize education that our children received was impressive. I would recommend Pardes without hesitation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

We have had children at Pardes for over 6 years now and love the school more each year. We have the financial means to go to any of the private schools in the Scottsdale/Phoenix area, but believe in Pardes and the wonderful secular and religious education our children are receiving. My children are happy to go to school and look forward to seeing their friends and teachers. I have no doubt that we are in the right place and that my children are getting the best education possible and learning how to become responsible young adults!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

Its hard to believe that Pardes is still in existence as it continues to under-perform by promising way more then it can deliver. The administration has its "shpeel" down pat and persists in luring well-meaning Jewish parents into it's doors. However, when the children can't read or understand math, they blame the child and say they have a learning disability and send them off to a very expensive outside tutoring center. Please stop and think - why do so many Pardes students have "learning" problems???? The answer is: their lack of a good education due to Pardes' lack of leadership and poorly trained Teachers who have free reign to teach or not teach whatever they feel like since they do not follow a standard curriculum and have no accountability to any higher governing body. PARENTS BEWARE!!! This is not a normal Jewish Day School that you would find on either coast - it is basically day care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

Since our son began attending just a few months ago, we have not only watched him blossom into a confidant child but also can see a growing sense of self. The whole school is a support system for every family. We are better parents because of the interest Pardes has taken in us and our child. He so happy everyday with the bonds I am sure he will take with him for life. In kindergarten the average reading level is at second grade; but the most important key to success the school instills is that the children feel proud of themselves and their success as well as setting examples for each other. As a Doctorate student myself, I am able to pinpoint these exact skill sets being introduced at this young age which are imperative for life success. Unfortunately, the previous unfavorable comment seems to based from a negative emotional reaction than from rationally related information.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 43%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Hebrew
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jill Kessler
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • AIS
  • Jewish Federation
  • NCA
  • PARDES
  • PEJE
Fax number
  • (480) 991-9405

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
53
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
75
Students typically come from these schools
JCC
Chanen
Solel

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $14000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
PCDS
Brophy
public honors
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12753 North Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 991-9141

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Benchmark School
Phoenix, AZ


Prospect School
Phoenix, AZ


Pvonline
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT