Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Scottsdale, AZ
Students enrolled: 628
 

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cochise Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a parent
Love Cochise school. Great teachers and staff. Wonderful neighborhood school. My kids have learned so much and love going to school. Happy Parent :)

Cochise Elementary School 4

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
I have had my up's and down's with the school but the administration has always been very helpful with it all. I feel with every school the parent needs to be proactive for their child's sake and not leave it up to the school. It is all about the right fit. Wherever you go there are good teachers and bad teachers. There are good students and bad students. What makes it a great school is one that can keep the good students good and turn the bad students good. Kudos to all the good teachers.


Cochise Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Great school, great community and awesome teachers. It's a very happy environment and my kids love it. School is suppose to be fun as well as educational and I feel they are getting that balance. Feel so blessed to have such great parents who help support school.

Cochise Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a parent
This is truly a great school. I love it. My only little concern is the reserved parking spaces for the APT. If your a kindergarten parent and you're running late to pick your child up and the parking is full you have to park there. Soon the people who reserved the spaces come along and scream at you for parking in their spot even if you say,"My child was crying where is mommy??"Just because I was running late. Otherwise a great school fantastic teachers and staff. There is a band class, a P.E class, and a gifted class.

Cochise Elementary School 2

Posted January 14, 2013
- a parent
VERY disappointing and disorganized gifted "program." We enrolled after hearing what a great school Cochise was. I agree the parents were nice, and there is a strong community. Our son's teacher doesn't allow parents in the classroom and the principal stands by that. (improperly cited privacy "laws" that I've never seen any other teacher/admin invoke) When we went to our first gifted parents' meeting, many parents were very vocal and irate at the minimal gifted support. We thought they were over-the-top until we were told our child would have to repeat curriculum he had completed two years earlier at another school, even though his Cochise test results were 92%+ in all areas. We went all the way to the district level to have a better fit / get him more challenging materlal, and they essentially said there would be almost nothing done, so we moved to Sonoran Sky and have had an AMAZING experience with their gifted programs (both cluster-with-mainstream as well as self-contained.)


Cochise Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2012
- a community member
Good Day: I am a McCormick Ranch Grandparent. My grandson will be attending 1st grade next year, as his parents, will be relocating to the area. I would like to stay in communications, regarding this schoo. Respectfully, Mrs. H.

Cochise Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2011
- a parent
Excellent teachers, wonderful community, active parents, and horrible principal. Our teachers go out of their way for our kids. Our principal does not tell the truth, does not know kids' names, is a bully, and has very little experience before being hired at Cochise. Come on Scottsdale...our school needs a leader!

Cochise Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school with the best teachers anywhere. Bright and engaging children coupled with active and supportive parents make for a wonderful learning environment. The poor decisions, or lack thereof, of the administration is the only drawback to this very fine school.


Cochise Elementary School 5

Posted March 15, 2010
- a parent
phenomenal teachers. deep parental involvement and improving administration. most importantly, phenomenal, nurturing teachers. second only to cheyenne in sdsu test scores yet the teachers don't gear learning toward test taking. not perfect, but pretty close.

Cochise Elementary School 2

Posted November 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cochise Elementary School
9451 North 84th Street, Scottsdale, AZ  85258
(480) 484-6100
Last modified Cochise Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cochise Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top