Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Coronado High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a student
The staff is condescending to the students, treating them like lesser humans. Not all the staff, just most of the administration,

Coronado High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 23, 2016
- a student
Good teachers, terrible staff. Teachers want you to excel, the staff in the office seem like they only want failure and with the schools rating, it seems like they are succeeding.


Coronado High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a student
I tried to explain to Halefine that i was working very hard in my classes and I would hate to be taken off track for something so minute. But he insisted that I be kicked out of school for spending my free time lifting weights.

Coronado High School 4

Posted January 06, 2016
- a community member
A 3?? Helps me put things in perspective as my husband and I search for homes in Westchester NY, lol. We have been agonizing over 8 vs 9 vs 10. I went to Coronado High school and loved it, after high school I got a scholarship to a private university in California. Those test scores reflect an enormous and heterogeneous student body, not all of whom are college-bound. So proud to be a Don, I am class of 93.

Coronado High School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a student
I went to this school for four years and graduated with honors. This school was amazing, as were the teachers that taught me. I didn't see what the other reviewers were referring to, because when I went there, the teachers motivated me, especially when I did poorly on a test. Before this school, I had never thought about doing any honors classes or getting involved in my community by joining the Key Club, and NHS. This school showed me that sports can be fun, and a great motivator to stay on top of your grades. By joining a sport, I was able to make a family within school where I felt safe and welcome. Coronado High School was, and is, a great school, and I'm glad it's the high school I got to attend.


Coronado High School 5

Posted November 29, 2013
- a community member
This school is terrific I've been going here for 4years and graduating This year. The teachers are wonderful and help when needed. There are many Clubs and after school activities for everyone. Go Dons

Coronado High School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a student
Great school! Teachers are great and help when is needed. Teachers treat you with respect and also care if something is going on outside of school. I graduated 2011 and I can say I have had the best memories at this school. Go Dons!!

Coronado High School 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
This school exceeded my expectations, the teachers were caring and compassionate and genuinely wanted my child to succeed. My daughter attended this high school and recieved a full ride scholarship to university and is now a medical doctor. Go dons!


Coronado High School 1

Posted September 17, 2012
- a parent
Attending parent night should have been an indicator of why this school is doing so poorly considering it's extensive makeover and proclamation that this is a school in "Scottsdale". There were more staff than parents there so no wonder the staff aren't as invested as they should be. The sense I received from being on campus is that the staff are collecting a paycheck. The front office frowns and grumbles and my assessment is they avoid eye contact, for fear they might engage someone that wants them to work. I have given all of my child's teachers my e-mail address, practically begged them to call me if they see any troubling signs. So how can my child sit in a class everyday and do nothing and not a single e-mail. Skilled professionals. A great environment for success. I don't think so. I know test results aren't everything, but take a look folks. There are many schools with far tougher socioeconomic challenges that have excelled in spite of those challenges. It's a C rated school for a reason.

Coronado High School 1

Posted December 08, 2011
- a parent
Arizona doesn't have much to offer in its secondary educational facilities & Coronado takes 1st prize on being the most atrocious High Schools in the Scottsdale Unified School district. The teachers don't care much about the students education which in turn doesn't motivate the students in their academics. The cirriculum obviously needs to be revised when a teacher has over half of the class fail the subject. This is just one example of many complaints, but I don't just blame these neglegence on this educational facility, I also blame it on the community for not putting more emphasis on bettering their children's education!

Nearby schools

Coronado High School
7501 East Virginia Ave, Scottsdale, AZ  85257
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (480) 484-6800
Last modified Coronado High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top