Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Scottsdale Country Day School

Charter | PK-6 | 120 students

SCDS is a charter school with rigorous academics and a class cap of 20 students.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in Scottsdale

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $820,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 15 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 19 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

We are new to SCDS this year - its first year as a charter school. I have a child in 3rd Grade and Miss Miller is outstanding. She is kind and clear with her instruction and my son is very comfortable. The small class size is a tremendous benefit and allows teachers to truly give individualized attention to each child. The school is very much a family centered school. Mr. Steve and Miss Kathy obviously care deeply for the school. It speaks volumes that their own children attend SCDS. My daughter is in the SCDS Pre-K program and loves it! After researching a ton of preschools, I decided on this one because of all the added benefits like Mandarin, Spanish, P.E., and Art. Miss Sudha and Miss Lauren make learning fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

We are going into our 4th year at SCDS and here are some reasons why. Our son floundered academically at his local public school and by 2nd grade we were really worried for him. He was losing confidence in himself and described himself on a homework assignment as being "slow" and "lazy" (not words we used at home ever). So by 3rd grade we changed schools, now SCDS. The class size went from 27 in 2nd grade to 18 in 3rd. While our son struggled with speech issues and with reading and writing, once in a smaller classroom and with so much support and encouragement, he slowly caught up. He smiles now before and after school. He is greeted everyday by the staff in the front office. He knows everyone at school and they know him. He feels he belongs somewhere now and isn't just showing up to watch everyone else...he is the one participating and contributing. He matters at SCDS. Every school isn't for every child nor a perfect fit for every child, but SCDS cares so much and we are so happy they are here for us, and in central Scottsdale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

Scottsdale Country Day School has more than exceeded the standards necessary to prepare my child to attend and be accepted into a college preparatory high school and allow him to grow into a well-rounded child. This is our second year at this wonderful school, and my child has progressed academically and socially. Because of the smaller class size, the teachers willingly differentiate instruction. The language arts curriculum emphasizes grammar and composition and the writing process. Students receive the benefits from the cumulative practice of Saxon Math. In addition, children gain the added benefits of exposure to public speaking, Mandarin, piano, art, chess, and Cricket. The school actively promotes partnerships between teachers and parents and provides a warm and welcoming environment to all students and their families. We love SCDS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

To every parent out there stop searching day and night for a great school and please come and join our school. We have amazing, talented and highly educated teachers and staff here at SCDS. Where other schools are cutting programs daily, we are adding more programs. We currently offer music, art, PE, etiquette, Spanish, Mandarin, dance, and more. Parents and their children matter to us at SCDS. I am thankful and grateful for this school which allows me to do what I do best...TEACH your children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 12, 2012

I like going to SCDS because the teachers are nice. Playing on the I-Pads is cool and the other activities like P.E. are fun too.


Posted December 11, 2012

Scottsdale Country Day has been a blessing for us. Our son is now thriving and enjoying school again. He was lost in the public school system. His classroom had over 30 students and he just wasn't fitting into the public school criteria. He now has 7 students in his class and gets the attention he needs when he has questions. Having a much smaller classroom allows for the students to work together with good supervision so that they all do well. The teachers and the staff really care about my sons education and always offer to help in any way possible. His teacher always offers him the encouragement he needs and makes my son feel like he can do accomplish anything he sets out to do. My sons teacher is always willing to work with him one on one when needed. The schools is well organized and provides a safe environment for learning. They always keep us well informed. This was the best decision we ever made regarding our sons education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

My Son joined SCDS this year for Kindergarten. We chose this school because of all the wonderful opportunities they have from Mandarin and Spanish to Art and Science class, PE and extra-curricular activities. Mrs. Paget is the Kindergarten teacher and is TRULY WONDERFUL. My son adores her as do my husband and I. Our son is thriving in this environment; warm hearts, great kids and small class sizes really encourage him and us to be open and excited about learning and advancing. We Love this School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

It is an absolute pleasure to be a part of the wonderful staff here at SCDS! Class sizes are small and allow for individualized attention, and a warm and nurturing environment encourage students to reach their full potential. It is a joy to see the students grow and learn, and to interact with their wonderful families on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 10, 2012

We have two children that attend SCDS, one in 8th grade and one in the 6th grade. Not only does the school feel like family to me (us), but the school is safe, loving, and compassionate about making each student feel at home while learning as well. SCDS is an amazing quality school to find, and is unique to the area. The tuition is very reasonable, which allows different families be able to attend a private school at a manageable budget. The teachers and office staff are warm and each student is recognized each day. Weekly events are planned for SCDS families to grow together outside of school and make friendships that are quality for children. I am very pleased with SCDS and know in my heart our children are having the best experience academically and socially. Thank you SCDS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2012

Our two sons have been at this school since it began. This year, one is in third grade and the other in eighth grade. What I like about SCDS are the great teachers, high standard of care for the students, small classes, individual attention beyond just classwork, low tuition, and great kids and families to play with outside of school. Other schools have acted like we were lucky to be able to find a spot for our son there. SCDS has a completely different attitude. The office staff, principal, and teachers all tell me and act like they are lucky to have our children at their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2012

We recently transfer from an A rated Excelling public school where our 3rd grader was bored waiting all day for a class of more than 30 to complete lessons as a whole. I must say SCDS has exceeded our expectations. Their small class size and professional staff affords them the ability to customize the curriculum to each child s needs. They have created an atmosphere where each child wants to participate and do their best. Our son loves going to SCDS. He is excited about school and wants to tell us everything he has learned when he gets home. It s amazing that after the 3 R s there s still time for foreign languages, music, etiquette, PE, and I-Pads. With the help of SCDS our son is turning into a confident, happy, healthy, and smart young man. What else could a parent ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2012

SCDS is an amazing school. The small class sizes, fun and caring environment, and common sense approach is something all schools should have. Students are truly taught on an individual level. The specials that are offered are exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

My triplet boys are on their second year at SCDS and they are currently enrolled in first grade. The staff at SCDS is great with children. My children love school and have made tremendous progress. Small class sizes and tutoring is also available if necessary. I also love that fact that I have access to the teacher on a daily basis and it is in person and not by phone or e-mail. Also, etiquette is part of the curriculum and it shows because all of the children are so well behaved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

Our son has been at SCDS for 2 years and we LOVE it! He is academically challenged and the small class size means that he receives individualized instruction and challenges every day. The small environment also requires the students to develop social awarness of the people around them, both students and adults, which is a very mature and healthy trait to nurture in young people. Finally, the Staff and Administration are top notch! We are demanding of the people who spend so much time with our child and we have been nothing but impressed. Well done, SCDS!! We are lucky to have you in our community and in our son's life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2012

Thia ia our 2nd year at SCDS and we love it. The small class size enables the teachers to indiviualize learning for each student. The administration and staff really care about the students and their families. The introduction of IPADs as learning tools really prepares the students for an ever changing tech savvy world. My children really enjoy all the different specialvclasses that are taught. SCDS is a great place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2012

I absolutely love this school and the staff...and most importantly, so does my child! We had tried several other schools, and there was never an appropriate mix of a challenging curriculum along with a nurturing, "won't get lost in the crowd" environment. Until SCDS!! The teachers are compassionate and personal, as well as being outstanding educators. The principal and other staff are just as personable and quite professional. They know each child's family, background, needs, strengths and weaknesses, and they work very hard to provide a well-rounded educational and growth experience. All students - even pre-K - work on Spanish, Mandarin, iPads, etiquette, and all the core classes, too. With such small class sizes and caring staff, you can rest assured that your child will get the individual attention they need and deserve, as well as an outstanding education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

Fantastic school with great education. Awesome kids and wonderful parents. Love working here. Everyone is involved in the process of learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 26, 2012

This is an amazing school! The teachers are friendly and qualified, and the students are happy and excited to learn. Low class sizes allow more time for teachers to give students the individualized attention they need. Everyone on campus is warm and caring and only want to give the best education they can to the students who come here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2012

What a fantastic school! I am happy to know such enthusiastic and intelligent people. Feels like a family... :)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2012

I have to agree with the reviewer of August 9, 2012, unfortunately. There's a big sell with no follow through at this school. I would apply an even stronger word than unprofessional to describe the administration at this school however. Some of the teacher's do not have the credentials they should either. Look before you leap.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 4:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Steve Prahcharov
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Scottsdale Country Day School is a KG-6th grade Charter school. Teachers are AZ certified and highly qualified educators. SCDS provides a broad and balanced curriculum in class sizes that max at 20 students. We are dedicated to educational excellence and provide tailored courses for achievement in the academic, aesthetic, cultural, and sporting spheres.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$0 - $0
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10460 N. 56th St.
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 452-5777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cherokee Elementary School
Paradise Valley, AZ



Tesseract School
Paradise Valley, AZ



Devereux
Scottsdale, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT