Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

120 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Scottsdale Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Experienced team with high expectations for students without sacrificing relationships that are formed between teachers and students.

Scottsdale Country Day School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Great teachers and administration. Challenging curriculum yet well rounded education. I can be involved in activities when I have time and not pressured to do so.


Scottsdale Country Day School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
Teachers work closely with students to challenge them and become successful. Students are encouraged to develop academic skills.

Scottsdale Country Day School 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
I couldn't be happier with the teachers and school. Scottsdale Country Day School does not have bullying issues which my child's previous school had. My child's teacher has been with SCDS for 4 years which really shows in her passion and dedication for the school. The administration are accessible and always willing to go above and beyond to help students and parents. There is a very active PTO which put on great events for the students and families to be a part of. I love that my child gets weekly lessons in music, art, P.E, Spanish. Ipads and Chromebooks are also great technology aspects of the school. I have seen some great strides been made by my child after only 2 months of school. We just wish we had found SCDS sooner than this year. Thank you for all that you do for our family!

Scottsdale Country Day School 1

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Terrible experience at this school. Too much "bulling" with no action by administration. Inexperienced teachers at school. My child learned more about his teacher's live in boyfriend than academics. We were sold on a bill of goods that were not delivered. I would advise to look elsewhere for good education.


Scottsdale Country Day School 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
SCDS is so amazing, school has barely begun and I have seen a huge change in my son. He dreaded going to school! We've had a pretty serious bullying issue that just got worse. I decided to pull him out of the school. It's devastating having to watch your child go thru that. SCDS has a zero tollerence bullying policy. He was so excited to be going to a new school and have a fresh start. His self respect, confidence and self esteem is higher than I have seen in a long time. SCDS is doing wonders for him. I am SO grateful to the staff for taking the matter very seriously and I left confident that my son was in good hands. There were 40 children in my sons class last year and 1 teacher. If you didn't understand there was no individual instruction, they just got lost and fell behind. My son gets all of the one on one time he needs with his teacher. It is very easy to be and stay involved. Everything has structure and is very organized. This school RULES! I would highly recommend this school to anybody that wants their child to thrive in school. My son looks forward to going to school everyday and comes home with a smile on his face :)

Scottsdale Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are very respectful and teach the students how to be great citizens. Students are accountable for completing their work and know the expectations. The teachers and administration work very hard to help each student achieve success. We couldn't be happier with SCDS and appreciate their staff every day. Our children love going to school and we are truly grateful for all the lessons they are taught - academic and social.

Scottsdale Country Day School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
The teachers talk down to the students. They think that they can do and say what they want, and the students can't talk back to them. They are complete and total bullies. The students don't respect them because they are so afraid of them.


Scottsdale Country Day School 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
SCDS is a lovely school whose administration and teaching staff are of the highest quality. They all truly care about each of the students and provide an excellent environment and education. I take great comfort in knowing that my daughter is thriving under their tutelage. If you're looking for a school with a smaller student-to-teacher ratio, an excellent curriculum, highly qualified and loving teachers, and an administration that is visible, communicative, kind, and involved, then this is the school for you.

Scottsdale Country Day School 5

Posted April 02, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter is in first grade at SCDS and we have many wonderful things to say about the school! The administration is well on top of everything that goes on at the school and is always striving for excellence. The headmaster knows each and every student and doesn't hide in his office. He's always around the students staying involved and is very easy to approach. Communication we believe is essential, something our child's last school lacked and SCDS does an excellent job communicating updates with parents and following up on any matter or question. Our daughter's Galileo test scores have gone up considerably each quarter and so we feel that her teacher takes pride in her job and her students and wants to see them succeed-not just 'do' the lesson plan. Our daughter likes to go to school and enjoys the extra specials that SCDS has made available like PE, Art, Music, Spanish, Gardening, field trips etc. Many of these programs have been cut back in the public schools, so we are fortunate that SCDS can offer a well rounded curriculum. Overall, our daughter is confident, happy and thriving and so we would recommend this school to any parent.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Scottsdale Country Day School
10460 N. 56th St., Scottsdale, AZ  85253
(480) 452-5777
Last modified Scottsdale Country Day School is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Scottsdale Country Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. Top