Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Canyon Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 635 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2005

Clustered desks for 'mentoring'. Slower kids copy off smarter kids. Parents discouraged to participate except give money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

Wholesome, safe environment. Focuses on skills, with a strong reading and writing program. Like most public schools, the curriculum seems to lack solid content, but my 4th grader is very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2004

My 2 boys have had an excellent experience at Desert Canyon Elementary. The teachers are very committed and take an interest in the education process. The only thing I have found is that the classes can be too large with not enough help for the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

Our oldest daughter attended DCES since its first year 6 years ago, and our youngest since 1st grade. We have been very pleased with the teachers we have had; all have gone above and beyond to ensure personal attention and support. Our biggest disappointment has been with the Scottsdale school district and their boundry changes. We sold our home and left the district so that we would not have to put our children on busses to middle and high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

Wonderful principal and staff, happy kids, great curriculum and educational opportunities for kids.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 17, 2004

There are some great teachers in the lower grades that we have experienced. The sense of community is strong in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

I think Desert Canyon is a great school. The administration and staff are always available and willing to work with you to make your child successful. I do not however care for the Everyday Math program which they began in 2003. I do not believe it allows the children to master the concepts and the material is I think not presented in a sequential manner to build on what has been previously learned. Some grade level teacher groups seem to be more organized than others. Also the level of communication via monthly newsletters is not as detailed as in the past.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

All 3 of my little ones attended this school-fabulous!coming from n.Y., It took a bit of time initially to become accusomed to the very strict routine-trust me,it pays off!young, enthusiastic, bright, encouraging, engaging teachers! we need this discipline/accountability in our school systems nowdays-wonderful experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2002

This is our child's first year at Desert Canyon. We just moved from New York and we always sent our children to private schools. Naturally, we were very apprehensive about sending our child to a public school. To date we are very pleased with the school and its staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 42%
Asian 5% 3%
Hispanic 5% 42%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10203 E McDowell Mountain Ranch
Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 484-1700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



On-Track Academy
Scottsdale, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT