Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Canyon Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 6, 2013

My child has special education needs and Scottsdale school district made him worse. They put him in a program with emotionally disturbed boys, all in grades above him. The class was always chaotic and the teaches were always stressed. My son received little academics but learned bad behaviors. If your kid has an IEP. Move. I am!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

I have two children in Desert Canyon and they've been in the school for 4 years. For the most part, I think the teachers are fantastic. The environment is warm and nurturing but the kids aren't coddled. I would like to see greater consequences for children who are disruptive in class or are poorly behaved. I am disappointed with the turnover in administration and a change in the assistant principal again this year but for the most part, I think the administration runs a great school. The parents are very involved and the PTO has been fantastic in raising money to supplement curriculum with great programs like Accelerated Reader, Art Masterpiece, etc. In general, the kids and families in this school are wonderful and my children have really enjoyed their experience in the school. Is the school perfect? No, but what school is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2012

We have one child attending Desert Canyon. He was in Kindergarten last year and will return as a 1st grader. Overall, we were satisfied with the school and the curriculum, activities, etc. However, his K-garten teacher had very poor communications skills, seemed disorganized (almost dazed and confused at times) and completely ignored emails and other messages even though she initiated the email and solicited communication - she rarely responded to our inquiries. In speaking with other parents, this particular teacher is notorious for this strange behavior and is not reflective of the overall school performance or focus. This year, there is an uproar over the creation of a split Kindergarten / 1st grade class due to a staff shortage and so far no teacher has been assigned only two days before school starts. To make matters worse, none of the parents were notified prior to learning about this new structure. Rather, parents learned about it when the class lists were posted on the cafeteria windows. This school continues to have terrible communication with the parents in spite of their claims to the contrary. In short, not a bad school, but not one of best by any means.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

I'm a grandparent of two newly enrolled students in your school. Of course I have an interest in my grandchildren's success but as well as a former elementary school principal I'm interested in the academic opportunities offered ie. curriculum enrichment, club programs, athletic skill development, practical out of school field trips, invited guests etc. Certainly, my motivation in this day and age would be to emphasis/foster a keen interest and understanding re: the value of math and science. Take care.


Posted February 13, 2012

I have 4 kids attending this school and have been very pleased. Except for 2 teachers in our 6 years there, all the teachers have been outstanding. The 2 bad teachers were fine academically but were mean to the students. They have both been teaching too long and should be retired, but I think you will find a few teachers like that anywhere. The parents are really involved and the administration is good. The vice principal is on top of bullying issues and other problems but is fair and friendly. I highly recommend Desert Canyon Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

My son started Kindergarten at DCES this fall. He absolutely loves his teacher and enjoys going to school. As a parent, I am unsatisfied with the class size this year. Right now DCES Kindergarten has 25 in each class and could go to 27. In addition, they have eliminated instructional assistants from the classrooms. If my child will be in a class of up to 30 kids in coming grades, I will be looking into charter or private school options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

I am surprised with a few posts here. To each his own... but I find my children's school and staff excellent. The principal has tough rules, but to me that is great! The teachers thus far have been terrific. I am very pleased and my children are happy, and thriving! Thank you DCES staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Excellent, caring teachers!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Desert Canyon Elementary has a very diverse teaching program, including special needs classes for kids with learning disabilities and kids with ADD/ADHD that require more 1:1 attention. All this in addition to providing extracurricular activities/afterschool activities that help to broaden and enhance the children's self-esteem/knowledge (band, Spanish, Chess, monthly ball sports, tennis, science, etc.).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

I have not been pleased with this school. The principal and assist. principal are terrible. They do not care about the parents, teachers or students. They really don't relate well. While I have had some great teachers in the past, this year my 2nd grade daughter was bored every day and wanted to know why she kept learning the same things over and over and my older son had a terrible teacher who was just not nice at all (and this is not a trouble maker). Watch the 10 rating, they should be an 8. Parent involvement is super though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

good educators not so good loving and caring for children.


Posted February 29, 2008

Very pleased with the teachers, and staff, my only complaint at this time, is the sand. My child comes home with half the playground in her shoes, as I'm sure your kids do too. Are there any plans on removing the sand, and replacing it with rubberized material? Also, the sand hides things, such as the 3 inch nail I found poking up by the swings on the first day of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

Awesome school, dedicated teachers and a principal who really cares. I couldn't ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

Excellent parental involvement, nice community surrounding the school. Teachers were good overall and concerned about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

My son has attended DCES since Kindergarten and is approaching the third grade. His sister will be attending Kindergarten next year and we can only hope that her path, and experience with teachers is similar pleasing.We have thoroughly enjoyed the enhanced programs the school has begun to develop (math club, science lab, cultural music and art) along with the teachers he we have interfaced with. The school seems committed to parent involvement, education, safety and a well rounded experience for their classrooms. AIMS scoring is high, but not at the top, however very well balanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

Excellent school, teacher's principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

A fabulous school. My son will be going into 2nd grade this year and he absolutely loves it!! I am very happy with the parental involvement and the caring supportive staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

Overall, a quality school; excellent facilities, wholesome, uppper middle-class neghborhood. My daughter has attended Kindergarten thru third grade and has scored well on AMES and grown as a student and person. Formed a particularly strong bond with her 2nd Grade teacher. Lone downside of Desert Canyon is the prinicipal, Darlene Johnson, who is not readily accessible and not parent-friendly. Makes decisions in a silo and is not particularly interested in parent feedback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2005

My child has been at Desert Canyon for four years and my youngest will be entering in the Fall. Overall, impressions of the school have been extremely positive. Teachers have ranged from very good to outstanding (2nd grade). Mailing hand written school sponsored postcards from teacher to student congratulating excellent performance is very impressive/motivating. Homework beginning in 3rd grade is heavy and requires alot of parental involvement for all but perhaps the most motivated students. Principal/Vice Principal leadership is very good-strict, but caring and interested. Experience with extra curricular activities has been positive. Parental involvement is definitely encouraged - class moms even send emails to inform/remind about class/school events. I feel lucky that we have such a great school in our neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

We have had great success at Desert Canyon with two kids enrolled this year in 1st and 5th grades. The 5th grader has been at DCES for 4 years...and has had the best teachers there. The 1st grader has a super teacher. Parent involvement is high and welcome. I wish that the strings program would have more consistency for the 4th and 5th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 6% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10203 E McDowell Mountain Ranch
Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 484-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



On-Track Academy
Scottsdale, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT