Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public district
Scottsdale, AZ
Students enrolled: 701
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Desert Shadows Middle School 2

Posted June 13, 2015
- a student
Administrators truly care about the student base, but the teachers are average or lackluster. This school is your typical public school experience, catered to the average to below average IQ's. If you have a child who is gifted, choose another school. The students here are snotty, mean, and cocky. As mentioned in the other reviews, the 'extra' effort put across by some teachers help make this school bearable. DSMS can prepare you for life a little, help you grow up a little, but little will be learned. Student 2011-2012

Desert Shadows Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 21, 2015
- a community member
I would not recommend the female 7th grade Honors teacher. Day in and day out she makes condescending, snide comments to all of the students and is very smug about it. It's a miserable class to be in. If you have a choice take regular English and do Honors in High School, you won't regret it!


Desert Shadows Middle School 4

Posted May 21, 2015
- a community member
Very good school. If there is a problem it's taken care of. Like the teachers

Desert Shadows Middle School 5

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
I have a seventh grader in honors classes and she is doing great. The staff answers me back promptly and administration has never let me down yet in 2.1 qtrs. There are lots of sports and clubs; and field trips are wonderful. Very professional so far. Some kids seem a bit mouthy, but that is also the parents fault. Middle school is tough on most kids, mine is shy and conservative and just keeps a low profile and does A work.

Desert Shadows Middle School 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a community member
I go to this school and it is truly an amazing experience to be at Desert Shadows


Desert Shadows Middle School 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
Amazing leadership which trickles down to super teacher morale! The principal is no nonsense, is very open with the parents and truly, genuinely cares for his students!

Desert Shadows Middle School 5

Posted October 04, 2014
- a community member
I am a student at Desert Shadows Middle. It is one of the best schools I've ever been to! All the staff is AMAZING and really nice. they all try hard to do their best and help the students succeed. The administrative staff is the best there is. they do their job, they're involved, they know whats going on, and they are fun and active with the students, unlike anyone at Sunrise Middle school. The reenactment of the Battle of Gettysburg is just one out of the many things this school does extra. I am over all EXTREMELY happy with this school. I came from Liberty Elementary, the main feeder school of sunrise (But a LOT better), and am SO happy I didn't go to that dump. Long live DSMS! Long Live The GWIGEON

Desert Shadows Middle School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
My kids and I have been extremely happy with DSMS! Most teachers are wonderful, caring and dedicated. The principal and vice principal are amazing! They set a tone of professionalism, leadership and acceptance. They set high standards for the teachers, staff and students. I feel my kids have been challenged academically and are prepared for high school. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.


Desert Shadows Middle School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
Desert Shadows Middle school is a rock solid community with great leadership. Our open enrolled 7th grader is very happy and challenged here. Principal Clancy's inclusive model sets the tone for kindness and acceptance. All are actively encouraged to get involved in the community and most students, teachers and parents do! Children are happy to attend school because they know that the administration and staff care. It is not surprising that kids excel in this type of positive environment. Desert Shadows offers many unique programs and opportunities that aren't available in most middle schools. These programs are fun, educational and foster community. Go on a tour, you won't be disappointed with it's high academic standards and inclusive environment.

Desert Shadows Middle School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Great school with a staff that really cares. Very happy. Moving from a small charter school we are very happy with this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Shadows Middle School
5858 E Sweetwater, Scottsdale, AZ  85254
(602) 449-6800
Last modified Desert Shadows Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Desert Shadows Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top