Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

80 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

Excellent school with professional and deficated staff. Teachers are commited, creative, communicative. Pricipal is a excellent leader who empowers and leads. He works cohesively with the PTA, is highly involved and visible - leading this school to excellence. Core Curriculum is fully integrated. New students are brought up to speed with care, kidness and understanding. No fear or irrational resistance to the new standards! Inclusive environment where differences are celebrated. Gifted and structured programs are fully part of this school community! No Gimmicks - excellent education and performance My only negative comment would be that i would like Spanish to be a Special
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

We love this school! After realizing our assigned school was below par, I went on a search for the "best school" in our area. I looked at many charter schools, and also took a tour at Desert Springs. I was so impressed with how DSPES incorporated structure and freedom, as well as old-fashioned methods and modern technology. Most schools I went to seemed to have one or the other extreme. They have struck an incredible balance, all while involving parents/families into every aspect of school life. It is a small school so you don't feel lost in the crowd, and the community is so friendly. It is exactly what I was hoping for in a school and I am so happy we found it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Pulled my child out of a nearby PV school and moved to Desert Springs. It's a breath of fresh air!!!! The reviews below mine are right on!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

Desert Springs Preparatory is an outstanding school. We transferred in and are very pleased. The Core Knowledge curriculum is wonderful. The teachers and staff are very caring. We are very pleased with the gifted teacher. Our daughter loves going to honors! Everyday our daughter comes home excited about learning. This is the best school in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

Desert Springs Prep is a welcoming and wonderful community of bright students, involved parents, excellent teachers, a new highly qualified principal, a supportive district, and a challenging curriculum. This year is especially exciting with the extended academic day and lots of new/state-of-the-art technology! Desert Springs has always been and will continue to be an academically competitive elementary school with lots of PTA funded programs/events/activities that supplement and support an environment of learning, community, and fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

We open-enrolled our first child at Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School in 2005 after a very thoughtful and deliberate process of evaluating many local schools. We continue to be impressed by the entire Desert Springs community administration, staff, students, and families. The school has become like a family to us. The teachers have taken a very personal interest in each of our children, providing extra attention when they have struggled in certain subjects and providing more challenging assignments when teachers felt the kids could handle it. The gifted program is second to none. Over the past few years, the school has implemented a Core Knowledge curriculum, made significant investments in technology for the classrooms, and implemented a more structured dress code that all serve to increase the academic performance. If you are considering this school, I encourage you to sign-up for a school tour or come by for the annual spring carnival so you can experience first-hand the many aspects of what this school has to offer. It is truly a gem in our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

Truely a Great School, DSPES is the place for your student if you are seeking a school with a strong sense of school community, professional and friendly administration, knowledgeable teachers, strong principal leadership, and cutting edge technology. Core Knowledge Curriculum has been adopted on campus and has had a tremendouse positive impact on the students. A new "structured" dress code has allowed students to focus on their academics and makes students look neat and well-kept. The special areas of Music, Computers, Literacy, P.E., Art, Band, Strings & Choir give students a well-rounded education and a good balance to Core Knowledge. This school also has wonderful PTA that provides several free family events during the school year. Each month there is a community building PTA event. Three of my children currently attend DSPES and my oldest, who is now a freshman within the PV District, attended DSPES K-6th Grade. DSPES is worth a closer look!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

This is a great school! Great teachers, involved principal, wonderful family community, strong PTA and nice students. The new curriculum is very engaging and special area's are an added benefit to the school day. I love the new structured dress code. It is not as extreme as a full-uniform school, but provides students with several choices of appropriate daily dress attire. My children enjoy the free dress day on Fridays! The new upgrades to their technology department is a strong academic enhancement that all students benefit from. Teacher's care about their students and want all students to succeed and are willing to work with parents to ensure the sucess of every student. Check out DSPES if you are looking for the perfect elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

There's still areas for improvement. The new core curriculum has promise, but the material is new to the teachers and lesson plans are poorly developed. Tests are given without objectives to learn. Sometimes answers on tests are graded wrong (presumably by teacher aides). The AR computer system needs tweaking as students take tests on a similarly titled book and are unable to stop the test or have the teachers throw out the results - this has been the case for several years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

The improvements to Desert Springs in the last two years have been amazing. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, yet the academics are still challenging. The students are happy and proud of their school. The principal, teachers, and parents work collaboratively to do what is best for the students. The Core Knowledge curriculum, is enhanced by technology, and other tools including Accelerated Reader and Study Island. The gifted program/teacher is outstanding. The PTA supplements the school with wonderful events and programs like the Family Picnic, Carnival, Bingo Night, Artists in Residence, and even the new APEX Fun Run. What a "Great School"!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

We moved from another public school in the area and are so glad that we did! We have never seen such a dedicated faculty and staff. There is a sense of community the moment you walk through the door and are greeted by the front office smiles. The new Principal is very involved and having such involved families has made for the best PTA we have seen. Of course we were a bit nervous moving our child when he had spent more than half of his elementary years at the same school, with the same children & teachers. It was a big change for him and he just wanted to know that he could go back if it was really bad. Well, he had a huge smile when we picked him up after the first day and has never looked back. He is happy to be accepted as the "new kid" and we are so happy with the education he is getting through the Core Knowledge program, full-time gifted, special area classes, & all of the bonus activities he is involved in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

With the principal change, the next year will be a good one at Desert Springs- look for families who left the school to return and an new environment of openness and acceptance to fill the atmosphere. The viel of secrecy and ruling by fear has been lifted!


Posted May 20, 2010

Desert Springs Elementary acts as an extension of the family. The atmosphere is friendly and the environment instills behavior, attitudes and educational curiosity. Desert Springs gives a foundation that will help my children prepare for future academics and more importantly guides them with values and morals that will make them an upstanding contributor to society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

I think it is a great school. I switch my daughter from another school and since she has been at Desert Springs Elementary School she has been learning a lot and has made some really good friends. The staff is very helpful and everything they have to offer for the kids is great. The principal is really doing a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

The staff and teachers truly care about every child! No problem, no matter how small, is left unattended! Academic work is very good and the parent community is incredibly involved in the everday school life! We are a happy to have been lucky enough to ' find' Desert Springs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Desert Springs is a very warm and welcoming school. The teachers and principal are outstanding. They also have a great PTO. My family has 7 kids that have gone to or still attending Desert Springs, out of the 7, 6 are open enrolled! We moved back home when my daughter was almost done with 1st grade, it was such a positive experience that we have never left the school. She is now in 8th grade and still visits teachers and faculty, both her siblings are at Desert Springs. All four of us have made great friends and even better memories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Amazing Smaller, High Quality, A+ Rated, Master's Level Teachers Elementary School. Strong Community and Neighborhood, best school in 85254!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Great environment, with a collection of tenured teachers, & a fabulous PTA parental support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

It has some of the best Teachers. The computer program is one of the best and it is sad that it is being reduced. Also has a great PE program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Great Staff!! Great Families!! Great Programs!! Great School!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 8% 43%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6010 East Acoma Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Freedom Academy
Scottsdale, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT