Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 64 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


84 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school with professional and deficated staff. Teachers are commited, creative, communicative. Pricipal is a excellent leader who empowers and leads. He works cohesively with the PTA, is highly involved and visible - leading this school to excellence. Core Curriculum is fully integrated. New students are brought up to speed with care, kidness and understanding. No fear or irrational resistance to the new standards! Inclusive environment where differences are celebrated. Gifted and structured programs are fully part of this school community! No Gimmicks - excellent education and performance My only negative comment would be that i would like Spanish to be a Special

Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
We love this school! After realizing our assigned school was below par, I went on a search for the "best school" in our area. I looked at many charter schools, and also took a tour at Desert Springs. I was so impressed with how DSPES incorporated structure and freedom, as well as old-fashioned methods and modern technology. Most schools I went to seemed to have one or the other extreme. They have struck an incredible balance, all while involving parents/families into every aspect of school life. It is a small school so you don't feel lost in the crowd, and the community is so friendly. It is exactly what I was hoping for in a school and I am so happy we found it!!


Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
Pulled my child out of a nearby PV school and moved to Desert Springs. It's a breath of fresh air!!!! The reviews below mine are right on!!

Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
Desert Springs Preparatory is an outstanding school. We transferred in and are very pleased. The Core Knowledge curriculum is wonderful. The teachers and staff are very caring. We are very pleased with the gifted teacher. Our daughter loves going to honors! Everyday our daughter comes home excited about learning. This is the best school in the area!

Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a parent
Desert Springs Prep is a welcoming and wonderful community of bright students, involved parents, excellent teachers, a new highly qualified principal, a supportive district, and a challenging curriculum. This year is especially exciting with the extended academic day and lots of new/state-of-the-art technology! Desert Springs has always been and will continue to be an academically competitive elementary school with lots of PTA funded programs/events/activities that supplement and support an environment of learning, community, and fun!


Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
We open-enrolled our first child at Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School in 2005 after a very thoughtful and deliberate process of evaluating many local schools. We continue to be impressed by the entire Desert Springs community administration, staff, students, and families. The school has become like a family to us. The teachers have taken a very personal interest in each of our children, providing extra attention when they have struggled in certain subjects and providing more challenging assignments when teachers felt the kids could handle it. The gifted program is second to none. Over the past few years, the school has implemented a Core Knowledge curriculum, made significant investments in technology for the classrooms, and implemented a more structured dress code that all serve to increase the academic performance. If you are considering this school, I encourage you to sign-up for a school tour or come by for the annual spring carnival so you can experience first-hand the many aspects of what this school has to offer. It is truly a gem in our community.

Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
Truely a Great School, DSPES is the place for your student if you are seeking a school with a strong sense of school community, professional and friendly administration, knowledgeable teachers, strong principal leadership, and cutting edge technology. Core Knowledge Curriculum has been adopted on campus and has had a tremendouse positive impact on the students. A new "structured" dress code has allowed students to focus on their academics and makes students look neat and well-kept. The special areas of Music, Computers, Literacy, P.E., Art, Band, Strings & Choir give students a well-rounded education and a good balance to Core Knowledge. This school also has wonderful PTA that provides several free family events during the school year. Each month there is a community building PTA event. Three of my children currently attend DSPES and my oldest, who is now a freshman within the PV District, attended DSPES K-6th Grade. DSPES is worth a closer look!

Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School 3

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school! Great teachers, involved principal, wonderful family community, strong PTA and nice students. The new curriculum is very engaging and special area's are an added benefit to the school day. I love the new structured dress code. It is not as extreme as a full-uniform school, but provides students with several choices of appropriate daily dress attire. My children enjoy the free dress day on Fridays! The new upgrades to their technology department is a strong academic enhancement that all students benefit from. Teacher's care about their students and want all students to succeed and are willing to work with parents to ensure the sucess of every student. Check out DSPES if you are looking for the perfect elementary school.


Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School 3

Posted October 10, 2012
- a parent
There's still areas for improvement. The new core curriculum has promise, but the material is new to the teachers and lesson plans are poorly developed. Tests are given without objectives to learn. Sometimes answers on tests are graded wrong (presumably by teacher aides). The AR computer system needs tweaking as students take tests on a similarly titled book and are unable to stop the test or have the teachers throw out the results - this has been the case for several years.

Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2012
- a parent
The improvements to Desert Springs in the last two years have been amazing. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, yet the academics are still challenging. The students are happy and proud of their school. The principal, teachers, and parents work collaboratively to do what is best for the students. The Core Knowledge curriculum, is enhanced by technology, and other tools including Accelerated Reader and Study Island. The gifted program/teacher is outstanding. The PTA supplements the school with wonderful events and programs like the Family Picnic, Carnival, Bingo Night, Artists in Residence, and even the new APEX Fun Run. What a "Great School"!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School
6010 East Acoma Road, Scottsdale, AZ  85254
(602) 449-7000
Last modified Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Desert Springs Preparatory Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 84 reviews. Top