Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Scottsdale, AZ
Students enrolled: 784

4 stars
Based on 84 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


88 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grayhawk Elementary School 2

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
There is a reason the enrollment numbers are down...besides the total lack of leadership, where the leadership will listen to parent concerns but do nothing about them, the reason enrollment is down is because the two ladies at the front desk are cold and unfriendly, unprofessional and have been give way too much power by the leadership. It's hard to believe that one in particular is the "greeter" for the school with her bitter and unhappy personality.

Grayhawk Elementary School 3

Posted October 03, 2014
- a parent
This school has gone down hill since the old principal left. There are still some amazing teachers but they are few and far between. Ever since the new leadership, or should I say lack of leadership, amazing teachers have left the school. There used to be strong cores of amazing teachers within a grade level - that is no more. The current leadership will listen to your concerns but do nothing about them. If your kid is considered "gifted" take them elsewhere. There's been a change in Honors and it's not for the better. It's so sad to see a school deteriorate.


Grayhawk Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
If you are looking for a public school that provides your child with a solid education Grayhawk is it! We have had four children at Grayhawk and they have all been successful despite varying needs and abilities. The teachers are caring and willing to reach out extra to meet a child's needs. In addition there is a fantastic strings, band and choir program. The leadership is responsive and appropriate when problems have arisen. No school is perfect but Grayhawk is a very solid choice!

Grayhawk Elementary School 1

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
I agree with comments other parents made...this school is in a downhill spiral since the long term principal left. This is my second child in the fourth grade and our teacher does not communicate with parents. Grayhawk is touting they are a technology school and this grade does not use there websites, they do not communicate homework clearly, they do not send newsletters to parents. At any given time I know more about what is going on in the PTO than in my child's own classroom. There are no parent volunteers in this grade and the parents are kept out of the classroom. I know people chose this school because it rates highly on rankings but there is nothing special about this school. I am not impressed.

Grayhawk Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a community member
a lot better than pinnacle peak, which is one of the worst schools ever, this is an extremely good school expect for Assistant Principle Miss Sherwood, who is WAY over protective


Grayhawk Elementary School 4

Posted November 28, 2013
- a parent
Grayhawk continues to be a great school!! This is our 7th year there.We have 2 children there currently. All of our teachers have always sent out weekly updates on what the children are learning, we also receive info. throughout the week via email. I have 1 child in the gifted honors program, as well as one child with a learning disability. Both my children receive a lot of attention for their very different needs. Whenever I have asked to meet with any of the educators they have always made time to meet with me. Sure Mr. Heimstra was great, but Mr. Pratt is as well. He is very involved and cares very much about the school, the kids, and the families' concerns. Unfortunately it only takes a couple of people to cast a very long shadow on a good light.(BTW-I see many reviews with a lot of typo's-LOL). We really like the families and kids at Grayhawk. We moved to Scottsdale from a very progressive east coast city and have been happy with the "down to earth" families we have met here, many who are new to the state as well.

Grayhawk Elementary School 1

Posted November 01, 2013
- a parent
I agree with the last post completely! This school was once amazing, until Mr. Hiemstra left a couple of years ago. It is so sad that a school of such high calibre was left in the hands of really poor leadership. The school has gone so downhill, the proof is in the the low enrollment numbers. The only good thing left at that school is the PTO!

Grayhawk Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a parent
I disagree with the previous posts. We moved from another school this year and so far we can tell our son has improved a lot. In the first quarter we have seen good changes on our child. There will always be things that parents don't approve about school. Nothing is perfect but we are more than happy with the school. Especially after moving from an expensive private school where we didn't achieve as much as we have here so far.


Grayhawk Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
The teachers are very caring and my son enjoys going to school every day. I can see how much my first grader has learn is great!

Grayhawk Elementary School 2

Posted July 30, 2013
- a parent
This school has good academics, very poor communication on the teacher's part, the principal is useless, he'll make promises but not follow through! The duty aids treat the kids like inmates to where my kid is scared of them, and it's a good kid! There is no communication as to what they are learning in class... so if you want to help your kid you'll just have to guess! Positives: PTO does bring money to facilitate more programs, field trips, books, etc.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grayhawk Elementary School
7525 E. Grayhawk Dr., Scottsdale, AZ  85255
(602) 449-6600
Last modified Grayhawk Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grayhawk Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 88 reviews. Top