Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Scottsdale, AZ
Students enrolled: 551

4 stars
Based on 38 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Liberty Elementary School 2

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
My 3 kids have attended this school since kindergarten. We never had a problem when Mr. Davis was the principal. My kids absolutely loved the school. Last year they took away all the good teachers and Mr. Davis and brought in a bunch of new teachers and a new principal, Mrs. Roberson. We were not happy at all! The teachers that all 3 of my kids got were not caring towards my kids and when I spoke to them I was treated rudely. One of the teachers told me my child was depressed, had ADD and too fat and needed to be put in special ed classes. This made me furious! My youngest was bringing home referrals weekly for things that were simply unheard of. Like running home from school or dripping his water bottle on the ground as he was walking home, etc. We decided to move districts completely. My kids are happier now then ever before and their grades are wonderful. Also, my child that liberty told me needed special ed classes has gotten an A on every paper and test so far and told me she is a wonderful student. So, good luck to you all.

Liberty Elementary School 4

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
My two children just started this year. My first impression was Meet the Teacher and I liked that Meet the Teacher had access to the classrooms and the ice cream social that was included. Our last PVUSD school had classrooms closed which resulted in jam-packed hallways and overall chaos. On the first day, the specials teachers were assisting with getting the kids where they needed to be and were super helpful. After school, the same teacher saw me wandering aimlessly and even volunteered to go find my kid (she remembered her from the morning) to tell her where to find me. Drop-off is seamless. Pick-up is decent, but could be better if children were more organized on where to stand. I'm not a fan of the 1-3 grade orientations all starting at the same time. I'm having to choose which orientation to go to, because they both start at 6pm on the same night. When I called the office, the admin responded: "I don't know what to tell you, we've split up 1-3 and 4-6 so it was worse last year." Not sure how that helps me. Anyway, overall I like the school and my kids are really enjoying it so I give it four stars.


Liberty Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Liberty is a wonderful school! The staff, teachers, and principal, Mrs. Roberson are incredible. Our child is challenged, engaged, learning so much, amazing us every day with the things he says and does....and also enjoys the experience and looks forward to school every day. We are in our 2nd year there, and very excited for our other child to be part of the Liberty family next year.

Liberty Elementary School 5

Posted December 28, 2012
- a parent
My daughter began attending Liberty after three years at Blessed Pope John XXIII in Scottsdale. I know it is odd going from a private to a public school but she was not receiving the level of support I would have expected based on bullying incidents. Not only did she successfully make the transition, she is thriving. The cirruculum is more difficult than a private school and she is challenged academically every day. She loves her teachers, her new friends and feels safe; everything a parent could ask for in a school. The staff have been incredibly supportive and we have regular communication with them. A great school.

Liberty Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2012
- a parent
My children are currently attending Liberty and they really love it. Their teachers are the best and are very attentive to their educational needs. Dr. Davis, our Principal, is leaving and we are very sadden by this news. However, we know that the parents and the outstanding teachers of this school will overcome this sad news and we know this school will remain at its top notch standing because of the parents and the teachers.


Liberty Elementary School 3

Posted January 10, 2012
- a parent
It was just announced that Dr. Davis is leaving Liberty for a new school near Desert Ridge next school year, which explains a lot. He's obviously been phoning it in all year, and the staff is politicking for the chance to move with him. His lack of dedication to the community he is leaving behind speaks volumes.

Liberty Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2011
- a parent
My children moved to Liberty last year and I could not be any more pleased or impressed with the experience they are having. Liberty brings together visionary leadership, caring teachers who are skilled in differentiating instruction, and a caring staff and community. An amazing school!

Liberty Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2011
- a community member
I attended Liberty from Kindergarten to 6th grade. I am now a Junior in high school and will never forget the memories I made there. Every child should be lucky enough to be a part of a school like Liberty Elementary. The teachers were superb, the field trips were so unique and exhilarating and the school itself was immaculate. I am so grateful to the Dr. C (former principal) and all the teachers for having a part in shaping the person I am today! I'll leave you with the assembly chant i'll never forget........ "We're from Liberty, couldn't be prouder...and if you don't believe us, we'll shout a little louder!"


Liberty Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
My son has had a wonderful experience in Mrs. Wagner's pre-K class. It is an incredible program that has prepared him for Kindergarten in so many ways. I am so glad that we found the program. We like the school so much, we open enrolled him so he can continue there for Kindergarten.

Liberty Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2010
- a parent
I have a child in fifth grade and in Kndergarten and I could not be happier. My children are experiencing a healthy and supportive environment. The teachers are very helpful and honest. They love to share my children's strengths and help develop in weaker areas. I make sure to volunteer and all I ever see is enthusiastic children. Every child is encouraged to share. I also like the foundation of their 3 B's, Be Safe Be Respectful and Be Resposible. The children seem to respond and apply this. We have had some issues with aids on the playground, but I use these experiences to teach my children how to deal with authority. I am also impressed with the Administrative Staff, Lisa and Maryann, they deal with the children well and know EVERY child's name! Mr. Davis is well suited at Liberty, he is WONDERFUL with the children and the parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Liberty Elementary School
5125 E. Marilyn Rd., Scottsdale, AZ  85254
(602) 449-6200
Last modified Liberty Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Liberty Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top