Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sedona Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 160 students

Our alumni are strong leaders and motivated students.
 
 

 

Living in Sedona

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $286,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $845.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

Inspiration embedded in the gain for true knowledge, wisdom and activism! Sedona Charter is a gem within the sea of school choices. It is a safe haven from our children becoming too "awakened" before they are ready in this fast paced world. Let children be children for as long as possible while giving them respect and honor for what they bring to this world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

Sedona Charter School offers excellent Montessori education in a safe joyful, environment with a beautiful campus. The teacher's really care about each and every student, and they all go above and beyond the call of duty. I highly recommend Sedona Charter School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

Sedona Charter School has made learning fun again for our granddaughter and has improved her understanding of hard work and mental discipline


Posted April 30, 2014

Sedona Charter School compares very favorably to the Sedona public schools. Not only is my granddaughter getting a better education at SCS but she is learning how to be a responsible citizen. Keep up the good work!


Posted April 30, 2014

SCS offers challenging academics and culture. All while supporting each student's personal growth in accountability, responsibility and independence. We are very proud to have our child at SCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

Sedona Charter School has higher standards & expectations of their students. The students respond to this positively by learning more than just their academic lessons. The students learn real life lessons like responsibility and accountability. SCS is truly the gem of Sedona.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Sedona Charter School not only ensures children strive for and reach a high level of academic knowledge, they provide children (through hands on, self-directed activities) the experience and tools needed to be self-motivated, critical thinkers ready to transition to adulthood and change their world for the better. SCS graduates are above and beyond their peers and excel in high school and college becoming exceptional members of society in jobs that make a difference.


Posted April 28, 2014

Hello there, I'm writing to let you know that my son had an exceptional, life transformative experience this year in the 8th grade of Sedona Charter School. My son flourished in this environment which is so different from your typical public school system. They see who he is, nurture his unique talents, and have lots of fun all while doing academics par excellence. He also had the opportunity to attend the Montessori United Nations in New York City, which he loved, and a number of very cool field trips. The grounds of the school are also very welcoming, comforting and spacious with a central courtyard where all the ages can see each other and interact at appropriate times. I also have had the opportunity to offer an elective so have been able to share some of my gifts with some students as well. I can't say enough good about this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Sedona Charter School is amazing! The staff and students are great at keeping a positive, collaborative environment and everyone seems to have a great time while learning. My older son attended the whole program and I currently have my older son ready to graduate and move onto high school. I know that he will thrive as a high school student because he loves to learn and engage in activities. I feel this is because he has been in a positive learning environment during his education at SCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

The SCS has been an amazing choice for our family. The teachers and staff are dedicated to teach the children all the things you want your kids to learn- academics, life skills, and respect for the world we live in! Love what they do for our future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

My daughter has attended Sedona Charter School from first through eighth grades. The entire school experience has been amazing. She has learned so much not only academically, but also in social skills and self motivation. She is totally prepared to meet her first year coming up in high school. I highly recommend this school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

There is a strong sense of community built to support our wonderfully creative students. The teachers' dedication to offering an education beyond "book learning" will help these children grow into well rounded adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

Love this school and staff they are very dedicated to student academics. My granddaughter attends the school and will be in 2nd grade this fall my only regret is we did not enroll her for kindergarten.she has learned soooo much and am sure she will continue the grow leaps and bounds again this nexy school year. Bob and Terri are sooo dedicated to ALL students I applaud them for a job WELL done...


Posted May 24, 2013

This school has been amazing for our daughter. She just finished the school year and completed 2nd grade. We moved here last summer from the north suburbs of Chicago and an excellent school district. Being a little worried about transferring to a new school in Arizona, we were more than surprised at the amazing education, organization in the classroom, and ability to also provide art, music, violin lessons and outdoor education and activities on a daily basis. This school encourages parent involvement. I often volunteered in the classroom and was able to see how organized the teachers and students were and not only how hard they worked, but how much fun they had as well. Next year the school is going to offer an after school sports program. I look forward to the future years with amazing field trips and further exceptional learning opportunities for my daughter. I would highly recommend this school to other people for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

This has been a great school for our son. The students are always supervised, and the staff does a lot of work on developing their problem-solving skills. There is a strong emphasis on teaching the kids to work together and to support each other--bullying is nipped in the bud. Academically, the education is broad. Core subjects are covered in-depth, but there are also lots of arts and music and outdoor activity. We liked the individualized learning and the variety of approaches to addressing each subject. There are many opportunities for parent involvement, and parents are welcome in the classroom. When our son and his friends got to high school, they were well-prepared and well-adjusted, thanks to the deep foundation they got at Sedona Charter School. I cannot imagine a better environment for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

Our child complained that he wasn't allowed to learn. The "teachers" do not have proper and appropriate social skills to be teaching young children. Deplorable execution of a wonderful idea. Not at all real Montessori.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

I had children in both the lower and upper elementary classrooms for two years. While the head of the lower program is very strict, we were quite pleased with the level of education and expectations of self-control. That said, the academics in the upper classroom left much to be desired. Specifically, the grammar and math components were poorly taught, and there was no spelling curriculum. Far too much emphasis was placed on the % of work completed, rather than on whether the work was completed correctly. To their credit, the art program and social responsibility aspects were excellent. However, these disciplines are not enough to prepare students for life beyond their campus. My child went from being an excelling student before Sedona Charter to needing remedial instruction in math, spelling and writing after the two years there. I also want to mention the campus itself is beautiful and students generally feel welcome and safe. Lots of organized field trips in upper elementary, however, very little instruction was provided regarding the trips to be of much educational use. In hindsight, I should have enrolled my kids at Big Park in a more traditional and rigorous program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2012

There are 3 different classrooms/buildings at this school: Lower Elementary (K-3), Upper Elementary (4-6), and Middle School (7-8). Both of my children, a girl and a boy, were in the Lower Elementary classroom. So that is the only area that I know the inter-workings of. My children made great strides academically, developed good quality social acquaintances, and were also well connected to the community at large. This is a great school for those parents who want to be involved in your child's education. It is strongly suggested that each household adds 40 hours of volunteer hours to the school community. There are plenty of diverse opportunities to volunteer. Packets of work/info are sent home each Thursday. The classroom had 2-3 work sessions daily. Times were set aside for "explore" when each child completed their work. I also thought it was pretty neat that the child is given the task of "Fast Math" which is a computer program and it is up to the child when they complete it every day. There is an option for school lunch, although we prepared our lunches at home. Really and truly it was a fantastic year here in beautiful Sedona and Sedona Charter School. Enjoy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2012

My second child is entering his final year at Sedona Charter School and I am really going to miss it! I speak often with parents whose kids are attending other schools in the Sedona/Village of Oak Creek area and I seldom hear raves - but Sedona Charter School earns many. My older son is now a high-performing, well-adjusted junior at Red Rock High School and I credit Sedona Charter School with much of his success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

I'm a past student of Sedona Charter School, and all I can say is that it was average. The history and art departments at the school are excellent, but the honors math, english, and science were well below average. On entering a private high school I found myself lost in the academics. Its quite difficult to keep up an english grade when you haven't learned any english before. I felt so unprepared, even a little embarrassed about the small amount if information I had received. I hope the school can grow academically as much as it has grown creatively. Until then, this school was a waste of two very valuable years.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A47%
Female 55%N/A49%
Male 45%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Alice Madar
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (928) 204-6486

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
  • Global
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Social justice
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girl scouts
  • Model UN
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
58
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
58

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Sedona Red Rock High School
Verde Valley School
Flagstaff Arts and Leadership Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

165 Kachina Drive
Sedona, AZ 86336
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 204-6464

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Oak Creek School
Cornville, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT