Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Sedona, AZ
Students enrolled: 507

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sedona Red Rock High School 2

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
We moved from LA to get into what we thought was a great school. But we found it great only if you re a highly motivated & self-assured student or athlete. Our son is ADHD, shy and insecure but he started optimistic. But he found a drug culture among most of the students. In addition he was bullied by peers verbally, & at times physically. Sadly he found one of his teachers enabling this in class because she wasn't fond of him either (though she assured us throughout the year he was doing great). Her class was self-monitored, and this didn't work for him. In another class, he was bullied by the kid that sat next to him for most of the semester - but it wasn't until I saw the bruising on his legs from being jabbed with a pen that I had him move his seat. The teacher said he thought he was goofing off, but never mentioned this to us. It turns out our son didn't want to move chairs as it would have put him into another group of rowdy kids. On a positive note, his math teacher, was very helpful and encouraging, although son says his classroom was a bit too chaotic for him to focus in. Anyway, he came away from his 10th grade year depressed with no friends - we will now homeschool.

Sedona Red Rock High School 2

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
Having had 3 children in this school beginning in the late 90's until the present (our son is a Junior) I'm here to tell you how much it has deteriorated in so many ways. The administration has turned over a lot during this time and it has gotten progressively worse. They give a lot of lip service to tolerance and diversity but only if it follows their liberal and ungodly direction. The physical plant (buildings, locker rooms, baseball /softball fields, and open spaces) are an embarrassment for a school located in what is supposedly an affluent town. The so-called discipline grid is hypocritical and selective. The academics (if you can call them that) are absurd. There is no focus on basics like spelling or grammar. The teaching methods are simplistic and not at all rigorous. If you are considering moving to this area and this is a school you are interested in, turn and run toward Cottonwood or Flagstaff or better yet the Valley of the Sun.


Sedona Red Rock High School 3

Posted February 03, 2014
- a student
I went to this school as a junior last year but moved back to California in November due to family troubles. This school is quite small (about 500 students on average) with a beautiful campus and wonderful artwork painted in every hall. I was a new student here, and though I loved the campus, I did not necessarily love the students. A lot of the students grew up together since Sedona is a tiny town so they were not very open to making new friends. However, about a hundred students leave each year and a hundred new students arrive each year to the campus so you're bound to meet someone knew (even I did and I'm quite shy). Photography class was my favorite the teacher was a pro and she taught us how to develop film in dark rooms. Art class was also amazing the teacher leaves his door open so you can eat lunch in there too. However, I did not like how basic their language classes were. I was looking forward to taking French 4 but they did not offer that so I had to take Spanish 1 instead. Some of the teachers did tended to baby the students a bit too much too in my opinion, but maybe that's just me.

Sedona Red Rock High School 5

Posted January 11, 2014
- a student
I attend SRRHS currently. I like my teachers, fellow students. The school is small. The halls are clean the classrooms kept mostly clean- although I think the teachers do a lot of that themselfs. Academically, you can take the harder path by enrolling in AP courses. Or you can show up. There are no less than seven sports available for participation, in addition to after school clubs. Many have been significantly reduced due to budget problems and lack of money. But the foundation of the school is very good.

Sedona Red Rock High School 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
My son is having a good year. Plays football. Enjoys history, and science.Looking forward to trying clubs and other activities. Not the best school in the state but certainly not the worst. Teachers work very hard and motivated and concerned. Hoping the budget overhaul passes. We need the money very much at the school.


Sedona Red Rock High School 5

Posted July 30, 2013
- a student
A good school, with some nice perks. Can't wait for school to start! I'm getting involved this year. The younger teachers really make an effort to engage their students and while teaching - have some fun.

Sedona Red Rock High School 5

Posted July 05, 2013
- a student
I am 10th grader and looking forward to fall. Is this school the best in the country? NO.The person who commented about the curriculum being boring- my teachers tried to make the subjects fun- with projects and stuff---but the guidelines are set by the state, and lets not forget that they are mostly teaching for us to pass a standardized test - so not much leeway. The group of dedicated teachers takes extra time anyway to teach well beyond. They are trying to do more than just follow the testing guidelines because they want us to truly learn things. Ya, one or two t are still working after many years that aren't exactly the sweetest people, but my mother puts it best when she says- in the real world, people aren't always going to coddle me. I'm at school to learn, to grow and to have a little bit of fun. SRH gives me the opportunity for those things. There are strong academics, an assortment of clubs and sports and a strong student body free of cliques or violence. You can walk in the door most everyone from the janitor, secretary to the Principal will say hi, and smile. The halls are clean, and no one is smoking. That says something.

Sedona Red Rock High School 2

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
I have been very disappointed with this school as a parent of a child who attended for the 2012-13 school year. The curriculum is the usual public school fare and the approach to working with teens is unenlightened and unimaginative. I found one faculty member to be disgruntled with his job and downright rude. There is a lack of focus and respect for the individual child and a lack of followthrough on the counseling staff. The approach to discipline is punitive and alienating. There is no support for teens as far as socialization, communication, or sex education. A public high school in Sedona should be able to offer their teen population something better.


Sedona Red Rock High School 5

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
My son graduated this afternoon. Although he had a few misteps early on, he found his way, and ended up on a firm path. He did very well, and my wife and I are very proud of him. Overall, while the school may have it's short sheets, it is a good place for a small town kid to "grow up". Academically, the foundation is there, the sports are good, the school itself is clean and safe, and the educators - are impressive.I was at parent night, the last three years, and each teacher was prepared and presented me with and over view of my students progress in class. The lack community support for the students/school/teachers is really a darn shame. Even the parents, grandparents? Where are they? All in all I'd rate the school a four 1/2 , most of the teachers a five and the facilities a three and a half (such as library and media outlets).

Sedona Red Rock High School 4

Posted May 18, 2013
- a student
I am about to graduate SRRHS. I have had a great experience here. Some of the teachers are really cool, and have gone beyond what you might expect to help students succeed in the classroom, and in other areas like sports. A few of the younger guy teachers are really involved with the school activities, clubs and show up to our sporting events . A couple of them coach- they do a great job, and most of us appreciate the time they spend. The main thing the school lacks in cool stuff like ipads and lap tops, and digital media arts stuff/interactive. Our computer lab is a little out dated and some of our equipment is shot. Some of our classrooms could be made more high tech. My friend in New Mexico's high school is totally high tech. Overall I have had a good experience. Zero bullying/Zero gangs/very little drug use around me- and positive input. The school could also use more support form the community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sedona Red Rock High School
995 Upper Red Rock Loop Rd, Sedona, AZ  86336
(928) 204-6800
Last modified Sedona Red Rock High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sedona Red Rock High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top