Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Sedona Elementary School

Public | K-8 | 454 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2013

Although opinions seem to vary about WSS, I have always been pleased with the outcome of each school year. WSS is located in a small community, where everyone knows everyone's business, but not all parents choose to get involved with their child's education. However, education is not only the responsibility of the teachers, but also the parents. I have heard many parents make complaints about teachers, that did not choose to do their part at home. I believe Dr. Hirsch feels passionately about her students and the school, and the teachers (at least those who have been there many years) are all devoted and well-qualified. Everyone works very hard to give my child a good education. I have been grateful to have my daughter educated at this school for the last 5 years (K-4th grade; currently enrolled). Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

This school is alright. The staff is focused more on behavior than the academics. The school takes little situations and makes them a really big deal. This schools education is really low even one of the teachers said that to the children. Most of the staff picks out kids with minor behavior problems and watches them closely not focusing on the other children's behavior. I don't want to be mean but this school has more Mexicans that were raised up with lower education so this school has to slow down there learning because of that. I could go on about how bad the sports, phys ed, computer and lunch is horrible but I will let you research that for yourself. If you're looking for better academics, sports, special programs, and after school programs I would advise you to look towards other schools such as C.M.S. C.E.S. Big Park or even Clarkdale/Jerome elementary just not west sedona school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

I currently have 2 children at WSS and one at SRRHS - this is a great school with wonderful parent involvement and terrific teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

Great teachers, great parents, and students that want to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

As a former WSS parent I have to say how blessed I was to have my first school experience be there. My daughter's teachers were committed to the students on an academic as well as a personal level. Officer Pott who is on campus brings a whole new world into education providing a safe and friendly environment for the school. Across the board the teachers, administrators and staff are helpful. My daughter enjoyed well planned field trips, was provided with vertical alignment that allowed a first grader to read at a second grade level instead of keeping her at a status quo, she felt safe and happy. There is not too much more one could ask for in a school. But the best part is no one at the school will ever decide we have done enough, because everyone strives to do better all the time. It's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

Quality seems largely dependent on the teacher assigned. My son's teacher last year was strong and experienced, our impression was good. I was disappointed that the school does not have more policies and procedures to have teachers adhere to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

Decent enough school with some truly great teachers. However, the junior high classes tend to be very overcrowded with poor teacher:student ratio. Lots of focus is placed on sports, and they do have great teams. Unfortunately, little importance is placed on the arts. There also seems to be very little parent involvement encouraged by the school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 2, 2005

This is an excellent school! There are programs for advanced students and special need students. I have had 2 children attend this school plus I'm a substitute teacher and have worked there for 4 years. I hate taking my daughter out of this school, but, I must move. We will miss the great staff and personal attention of the caring teachers. One couldn't wish for a better K-8 school for their child. There is absolutely no teasing, bullying or fighting. I am amazed at how well the students get along. There are many volunteers and your child's needs will be met, whatever they are. We will miss Sedona.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

My kids are up and dressed before I roll out of bed. They are so excited to go to school. Both my kids love their teachers and are having great experiences in class. I especially am looking forward to the new reading program and the third grade night out.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 43%
White 39% 42%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 282-1012

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

570 Posse Ground Rd
Sedona, AZ 86336
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 204-6800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Oak Creek School
Cornville, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT