Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Creek Ranch School

Private | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2013

My daughter switched to OCRS during the school year and did very well. She is a very direct and frank kid and was very open about the goings on at her new school. Her observations: They tried very hard to give the kids a good learning experience. The staff is very supportive and those kids who are willing to do even a modest amt of work will succeed. Some kids were VERY troubled and probably should not have been there in the 1st place. They were a little too supportive of kids who went way out of bounds, like stealing and drugs oe sex issues. Overall it was a very good experience and she stated emphatically that management is very dedicated to doing right by the students. Worst thing about the school? Numerous kids with seriously bad attitudes and no intention of moving ahead. We intend to leave our child in the school through 12th grade. As a parent the only area we would like to see improved is individual detailed reports from teachers and the principal. Knowledge is power.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

I am really at a loss to get help for our child. He is a tough cookie yet a good kid. It is hard to find a school where substance abuse is not the main issue. Oak Creek Ranch told us that they do not tolerate drugs on campus. I can say that they did stand behind their word on that. These kids are not easy. Give this school the credit it deserves. Our child finished 10th grade with a B average. So, that made him happy. He had to do the work. He complained like many other children because he had restrictions and rules he had to abide by and he got bored on weekends. So, is the school perfect - NO! Is the school doing what it said it would do? Yes - It is doing better than we were doing. It had what our child needed - structure, rules, restrictions, no drugs, education, hands on management of his emotional outburst. A great therapist that will work with your child for an extra fee. All in All. It is a good school. These kids are not easy. Keep those drug kids in other places. Let our ADHD kids who do not have drug issues be safe. They do try to keep them as safe as possible. Good luck. A parent of a very very difficult Child. May 2013
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

Our daughter (seventh grader) has been attend OCRS for only a few months but when we speak to her on the phone she sounds the happiest she has been since fourth grade. She loves it there. We barely hear from her which we consider a good sign that she is safe and happy. She has friends and is doing very well academically. Both of which she didn't have when she attend school in the South Bay of California. We couldn't be happier
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2012

Our daughter spent her freshman year at OCRS and is going next year. We are so happy we found the school, as we could see the "writing on the wall." Self esteem was disintegrating, anxiety, overwhelm, and stress were always hovering around her and while her grades were ok, in the homeschool environment we had provided, she was not learning to learn, and several times had refused to go to school. Homework was more than a chore and fight with us. At OCRS, she learned to learned and is turned on to learning. Earth Science captivated her and shifted her relationship with education. Her extraordinary creative writing, with Mr Hansen, has taken off and been unleashed. She is ever more mature, verbal and participative in her classes. Math, which has always been her greatest learning challenge, (many private tutors) has, finally, clicked in, thanks to the brilliance of Mr. Hernandez. She even made the Principal's Honor Role this first year. The residential staff teach respect through responsibility and follow through, and make a difference in their maturity and blossoming. As our daughter said when we picked her up from school last May, "Thank you for sending me to O.C.R.S."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

I am currently a student at OCRS, and the academics are good, I do better here than I did at public school, but there are very limited after-school activities. If you don't have dorm privlidges, an iPod, or a Video Game System, there's nothing to do! I constantly sit around doing nothing after school and on weekends! Plus if 1 kid gets sick, then at least 10 more will get sick.


Posted October 30, 2009

My son spent one summer (8 weeks ) at Oak Creek Ranch. It was a big disappointment. Firt, he was enrolled in the wrong class, and the principal didn't notice util the summer was over :( He did not participate in many school activities because the students had to sign up first, and the driver just took few students. My son, who is slow, always signed last. So he never went to all the wonderful places the school promised. Summer school at Oak Creek Ranch? Better look into other places.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I am a parent of a student who has just blossomed at the Oak Creek Ranch School. I am a former special education teacher and I have never been so impressed with a school in my entire life! We looked for a while and we are from the other side of the country. I feel so blessed that we were able to send my daughter to this school. I highly recommend it! If there are any parents who have questions about this amazing school I would be very happy to answer them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

My daughter reached a brick wall in the public school system and was unable to get passing grades. Her ADHD simply wouldn't allow her to do her homework. The regimentation and alternative approach used at Oak Creek are allowing her to get good grades. She is feeling better about herself and expects to graduate on time. That's quite an accomplishment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

upon approaching the boarding school, i felt a little apprehensive. within a week of the beginning of the school year, i didn't even think about missing home. the dorm accommodations were very roomy. the academic standards were nearly impeccable and the teachers were great too. out of all my piers, i never at any point overheard a complaint about 'being left behind'. the student life was great. on top of all the scheduled events (my favorite was the Saturday paintball trip), unlike the typical public high school, to my surprise, there were no clicks. everyone knew everyone else, and better yet, everyone seemed to get along pretty well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2009

My daughter completed a post-graduate year at OCRS. We knew she wasn't ready for college -- she needed more time to mature emotionally as well as strengthen her academic skills. She has ADD and had academic poor performance during her junior and senior years at a public high school. At OCRS she was involved heavily in sports, something she had not done previously despite having talent. She was very engaged academically and was the recipient of numerous awards at graduation. The staff was supportive and nurturing, helping her through bumps along the way but always making take responsibility. There are strict rules and priviledges are gained when the student adhere to them. The school is very clear about what is not acceptable and will take swift and appropriate action if a student breaks those rules. I am very pleased with the year my daughter spent at OCRS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

It was 6 weeks into my daughter's sophomore year and she was failing all of her classes again. We had a tough decision to make when we found OCRS in Sedona, Arizona. The following week she started school at OCRS. Jessica has ADHD (non-specific) and the smaller class sizes and personal attention was just what she needed. She is now planning on graduating early in January of 2010 and already applied to our local junoir college for the Spring of 2010 semester. The Equestrian Program at OCRS has been very beneficial for Jessica and is for all children with ADD or ADHD. The teachers and counselors are very helpful and positive. The grounds are beautiful! The sports and activities keep the kids busy and helps them form a more positive self-esteem. Oak Creek Ranch School was our saving grace when we had no hope at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

I have recently graduated from OCRS, and will be attending Northern Arizona University this fall. I'm very excited about this because with out OCRS, I don't know if i would have gotten into college. At first I was skeptical when my parents suggested going to school there, but I went in with an open mind, because I knew it was best for me to get away from the bad influences in my town. Being in a large public high school was not for me, as all I wanted to do was hang out with my friends and party. At OCRS I was not able to get away with any of this, and I didn't want to. The teachers and small class sizes were a tremendous impact on my success. I would not be the person I am today without the help of Mr. Wick, the teachers, & excellent staff working there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2009

I attended OCRS for a year and two summers. my time being there has really pushed me to grow up and become an adult. I will admit that there were some mediocre times but that was all nesassary to make me who i am today. I enjoyed having a very structured enviroment. The school does a good job about making sure the kids have enough actvities to keep them occupied, including movie,bowling, horseback riding, waterpark trips and many more. I believe that if your child is wiling to give this school a try, it might turn out in the long run to be one of the most benificial choices that they will ever make. I hope to visit the school again to say hi and see how everyone is doing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2009

I graduated from OCRS last year after attending for 3 years and was very happy with my results. In public school I failed out but once I began the ocrs program I got almost straight A's. I became president of student counsel, captian of the volleyball and softball team. I also became very active in helping educate prospective students about the school over all OCRS saved my life. I would not be a high school graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2009

Sophomore year, my son was on that downward spiral falling behind in classes and feeling even if he did try, he couldn't pass. He has ADD / auditory processing type learning issue - he really needs to concentrate to learn. When you struggle academically, you are often put in the lower academic classes where there are kids that just don't want to learn and are disruptive. OCRS provided a learning environment in which he could thrive. Strict rules and small class sizes with individual attention - long days in the classroom, but homework is completed in class. With the help of the staff, he has taken ownership of his education and has a whole new attitude. He now has a 3.88 GPA and will graduate early. We are so proud of his efforts more importantly he is now proud of himself. College is now an option! Thank you OCRS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

I attended OCRS for 3 years. This school was a blessing in my life. It came at a time when I did not believe in myself or the need to finish high school. The staff was well equipped to deal with trouble teenage issues. This school offers a different approach to structured education which was successful as I was struggling in public school. I made life long friends and will never forget the years I spent at OCRS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2009

I am currently attending OCRS as a student. This school helped me out alot with my education. The teachers are well trained and are more helpful than anyone else there. Now for the living part i find that the councliers are not happy, very stressed, and they tend to take that out on the students regularly. Even so there are some councliers that do make the effort to make a bond with the students even though they are not 'allowed to'. The majority of the students at OCRS can all agree that they dont feel any support in the councliers when they are trying to seek attention when they have a personal situation. The only thing that has helped me at this school is the easy education and the small friendships that i have made.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2009

The following reflects my opinion based on firsthand experience as a student at OCRS. The quality of instruction at OCRS is shockingly bad. Worse still, students receive very little supervision. Consequently, your child may very well end up engaging in many of the same inappropriate and/or self-destructive behaviors that made you decide to send him or her to a residential school in the first place. The only difference is that you won't be in a position to know what's going on. Quite frankly, OCRS does not take its 'in loco parentis' responsibilities seriously at all. Of course, things may have changed since I was a student. About that, I can offer no opinion. Nevertheless, I would advise parents of prospective students to investigate OCRS and its history very carefully before entrusting them with your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2008

So i have been attending this school for only 9 months. I am currently sitting in the computer lab during my microsoft office class in october of my senior year. The teachers are for the most part very capable and efficient. Ofcoursee as in any school you will find some less than par teachers and faculty but nothing worth to much worry. I found that the biggest problem here is the organizationa nd lack of help in the college admissions proccess. This place is excelent for students with motivational issues and can do great things. If a student is willing to come with an open mind the doors begin to open. I assure you... No gang activity that parent is crazy and apparently very un- informed. A good place for un motivated students!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2008

I've been going to OCRS for three years now and they have honestly been some of the greatest and more productive years of my life. When I came to OCRS I was going down the wrong path turning to drugs, and extremly bad behavior. My parents felt that OCRS was going to be a lifesaver, literally. And it has. I am not so sure who wrote that letter before me but I assure you that there is no real gang activity.... These kids are brought up well, some snobby and brilliant at the same time...but no gangs. This is not a prision school, nor a day camp. It is for the under acheivers to achieve. I've excelled here, and I can bluntly tell you that Mr. Wick, Larry, and all the awesome and fun counslors there do their jobs right, and I've witnessed it. So call up OCRS...and talk!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 42%
Black 7% 6%
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 3% 39%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • TABS
Fax number
  • (928) 634-4915

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P.O. Box 4329
Sedona, AZ 86340
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 634-5571

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Oak Creek School
Cornville, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT