Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coronado Elementary School

Public | K-8 | 446 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2013

This school has been a positive experience for my daughter who is now an 8th grader. Not only is it one of the better schools in our area it has giver her a sense of belonging which is an important factor to consider when choosing a school. As far as education goes my daugter who Iis an A student now did not have an easy start learing to read. I five Coronado staff credit for taking my daughter amd not pnly helping her do well but giving her the oppertunity to excel. I now look forward to the possability for my kindergarten age son to excel and grow as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

When I am glad that I went to Coronado through 1st-8th grade. In first grade we had lived in town but since this was the best school for me and my sisters she took us there everyday just so we could have a better education. The people that are there are nice to everyone and we all look out for each other, whether you are younger or older. Coronado I an outstanding school and have made many great memories with my friends and teachers. Though sometime the teachers may be strict with you they are just trying to get you to be the best you can be and they try to make every year you spend at Coronado fun, exciting, and amazing. I give this amazing school a 5 star and hope you go and attend or have your child attend this wonderful school and have them experience the great times I have had at Coronado.


Posted April 29, 2010

i love Coronda Elementary School :because they help each child,they also are always willing to fined any and all programs to help all the kids.they should win this is for all they do for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

I really enjoyed going to this school. Some of the reviewes on this page said that the classes were over crowded. I beg to differ. I have gone to six schools in my seven year school career, and this school had the least crowded classes of all! The teachers were very bound on teaching the entire curriculem and I am very proud to say that I went there. They recognized my math skills and boosted me into a higher math class. Any parent would be foolish if they didn't enroll their child into this school!


Posted December 1, 2008

My son attends Coronado and is in the 1st grade. This school IS one of the best in the area. However the educational standard is very much lacking! The state that we last came from was very midgrade and only ranked about half way through out all 50 states. Still, Coronado is a good year behind that school. I am going to try and make the best of it and hopefully pull him out soon. The staff is okay. OH and in AZ kids only get 15 minutes to eat their lunch. Just so you know. No one at the school has done anything wrong, its just how AZ schools work. Very poor education system and school districts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Most of the teachers at Coronado give a lot of their own time to help the students to be successful. Most of us are their early in the morning and late at night. We have good parents that are willing to help in any way possible.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 22, 2007

If you want an overcrowded school with 30 plus kids in each class and hardly any parent involvement this school is for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Coronado has an excellent curriculum with one exception. My daughter loves to sing and her last school had choir. Coronado does not have a choir program. The staff is very nice and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2002

I have had my children enrolled in three other area schools. Coronado school seems to be the most interested in helping children learn, and not feeling resentment towards the challenge. I see a major difference in my oldest daughter after having transferred her from another school, where she was bored and unchallenged academically. She was ""doing ok"" there, so the teacher's concentration was placed more on the less educated children.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 42%
Hispanic 24% 43%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 378-4195

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5148 Coronado School Drive
Sierra Vista, AZ 85650
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 366-6204

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Presidio De Las Sierras
Sierra Vista, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT