Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Huachuca Mountain Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 569 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2013

I can't say enough great things about this school and the teachers. My son has done amazing in this school. For not being a title 1 schoo,l they raise their own money and do very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

Being an Army family and moving around quite often, we have experienced great schools. Unfortunately, this was not one of them. We had a horrible experience. My son cried and did not want to go to school even for Halloween. This is the first bad experience he has ever encountered in a school. He is in the fifth grade and did not like his teacher. While meeting with the assistant (interim) principal I was told that this meeting would be confidential until I met with the principal. The teacher confronted him in the classroom within a couple of hours after the meeting. I did not want to send him back into the classroom that he felt so uncomfortable attending. When I requested another teacher, I was told that I could not switch until the principal approved the transfer. Because the principal was in a training, I asked her to call me so that I could figure out what to do with my child being out of school. The principal did not return my phone call until Monday morning, four days later. By that time, we had figured out that my son's education was not the principal's priority. We switched schools the next day and the kids are now very happy at the other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

My daughter attended HM for kindergarten during our short stay in Sierra Vista. The staff was very welcoming and made my daughter feel part of the class. I was surprised at how rigorous the academic workload was, even for kindergarten, with weekly homework assignments that required substantial time and effort. The schedule the students follow in class is also very full. They definitely take learning very seriously at Huachuca Mountain. I highly recommend this school over any other in Sierra Vista.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

It participates (with mychurch) in an after-school tutoring program.


Posted December 22, 2008

The staff and administration at Huachuca Mountain are great. My son, has loved every one of his teachers. He enjoys learning, is challenged and feels safe and cared for at his school - right down to the lunch ladies and custodians! Definitely a smart school choice for those who are looking...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

This is the best school in the S.V district! Very active PTO, which brings a lot of great funding to the school. Teachers are uplifting for the most part, but some are not as active with participation as I am used to seeing. Very friendly office staff. Academics are okay, but then again...it is Arizona.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

Dissapointed that my request for the teacher I wanted for my daughter wasn't granted. Although my sons 4th grade teacher last year was awsome. Thank you Mrs. Meeker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

Enthusiastic teachers and staff and involved parents create a wonderful school in Sierra Vista. After relocating from the east coast where education standards are slightly higher, my son adapted well and has been performing well in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

Most are seasoned teachers, who still have enthusiasm and will challenge kids. Main problem we've had is that there are many 'lower' level students, whose needs must be attended to before the higher achievers. This frustrates teachers and the high achievers. Gifted program leaves much to be desired, as does the assessment test for entrance to the program. Relatively high parent involvement, open door policy on teacher and administrative ends. P.E. is the weakest program, music, art, fifth grade band are very good programs. Overall, very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

My son attended this school for 3 years. He had a wonderful,cheerful teacher his first year and did quite well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

We recently moved to Arizona and found that the staff at Huachuca Mountain Elementary were very welcoming to our son. Thanks for being such a great staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2004

Having only dealt w/Huachuca Elem. for the past 4 months. I find the staff to be one of the best. You are greeted with a friendly staff and the teacher Mrs. Miller, has been there for the kids and is willing to go the extra mile. She is an asset to the community as well as the school. I have been quite happy that my child has been able to attend this school. I would like to see the community come together and work P.E., Music, and Art back into the curriculum. Artistic expression is something every child needs. We need to offer them another avenue of learning along with the basics. To open a childs mind. We need to remember there is more than one way to teach. Learning thru play, learning thru expression.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 27% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3228 Saint Andrews
Sierra Vista, AZ 85650
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 515-2714

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Imagine Sierra Vista
Sierra Vista, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT