Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joyce Clark Middle School (Formerly Sierra Vista M

Public | 7-8 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, August 29, 2014

I put a teacher in her place for being rude now i am being harassed by cps and the school. My son is disabled and he is being picked on by the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

I am impressed how the school has transitioned and focuses on putting kids first. There are many programs in place to allow for students to succeed. The leadership with Mrs. Sadorf is consistent and she is in the classrooms on a daily basis. Impressed at how hard the teachers work and spend time getting to know and care about kids. Since getting a new principal and a new mascot, colors and focus, JCMS is off to a great start
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

I love SVMS. The teachers/principals are great!! I've been homeschooled, and have gone to private (OLM). SVMS is the best!! I've made a lot of friends. Its a pretty cool campus.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2008

My son used to go to this school in his 6th grade year, and I, along with my son, found most thing about this school highly unsatisfactory. Quite honestly, as a parent, I would have to say that Apache Middle school is a much better school than this one. The teachers here at this school aren't as motivated, or dedicated. I advise any parent that is serious about their child's education, send your kids to Apache.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

The school administrators and teachers leave a lot to be desired. Most seem rude and the office administrators do not seem to have control of their school. My son was moved to another group within his current grade, but did not help. The Principal will not make himself available to meet with the parents when an issue needs to be addressed. The Asst. Principal is somewhat condescending when questioned about a subjective decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

Overall, I like the school. However, the office staff leaves something to be desired. The Asst. Principal is very caring, extremely helpful, and likeable. My daughter had issues with a teacher being rude and intimidating, she was not allowed to switch classes. I met with the teacher to judge for myself, and I thought the same. She was rude and wouldn't let me get a word in edgewise. Still, my daughter had to stay in her class. My son now attends here with no apparent issues/problems and enjoys the extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

This school is very laid back on education..to laid back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

As with many middle schools, there is a small sector of 'problem' kids. However, with the parent involvement that is encouraged and keeping track of who the children are with and what they're doing, keeps parents apprised of what's happening. There are a lot of choices for curricular involvement in sports, music, various clubs and other activities.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 15, 2005

I can't say my child had the best educational experience at this school. Middle school is hard to find good teachers for and this school exemplifies that. The band director is greatly loved but other than that my sixth grader was pretty unhappy with his teachers. At lunch the kids are allowed to run all over like crazy while the parents on patrol do an inept job trying to keep them in line. The teachers eat in their rooms apparently. What happened to the days when kids had 20 minutes to eat lunch only and the teachers were at least in the lunchroom although at a different table. There are too many students per teacher also.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

408 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

408 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

401 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 42%
Hispanic 34% 43%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1045 S. Lenzner Ave
Sierra Vista, AZ 85635
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 515-2714

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Imagine Sierra Vista
Sierra Vista, AZ



Presidio De Las Sierras
Sierra Vista, AZ


Berean Academy
Sierra Vista, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT