Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

All Saints Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 117 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sierra Vista

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $195,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $704.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

60 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2013

No matter how much some of the others that have given this place 5 stars, avoid it, save your money, and your child, they will be far behind a public school when they are done at this school. I learned the hard way, please don't be fooled like I was, they are only interested in money, the student is irrelevant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

Since the moderator felt it necessary to remove my previous comment, I will try again, but this one will probably be removed also. The person that rated this school a five must be joking, now that school is over, I am going to say what I feel is right. I wasted thousands of dollars in tuition for my child to go to this school, only to discover to late, that I could have gotten a better education free, at a public school. My child is behind, based on the placement test that was given a few days ago. Avoid this school, that's all I dare say, for fear of having this post removed also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

Save yourself much time and heartache, take your child to a public school rather than go to this school. Things are not what they seem, in spite of what the previous comment said, which I believe is from someone that works at the school. My kids spent months n(at a public school!) catching up after they were taken out of this school, and I had to also send them to summer school. The previous principal was 1000% better than the current one, this school has done nothing but go down hill, and if they had 75 students, I would be shocked. Why pay tuition to not even get what is available at no cost at a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

I must say I am surprised by the negative comments in the past year, they do not seem to reflect the reality that I am seeing with my own eyes. I must assume some of them are motivated by personal grudges against the new leadership of the school or by a professional desire to tar a private school with poor comments. This has been the first year the students have been administered the Iowa Basics tests and from what I can tell in conversations with other parents they reading and performing tasks at least a grade level higher than their contemporaries in Arizona public schools. In my conversations with relatives who have their children in Sierra Vista Public schools I can usually count on my child being at least a year ahead of their contemporaries. More importantly the students are well behaved, well mannered, courteous, well groomed, and respect authority which CANNOT be said of the SVPSD students. In my opinion Sierra Vista has many schools that are under performing, but All Saints is not one of them. One complaint is that ASCS is out of the way and not the easiest place to travel to, but it is well worth the extra drive in the morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2012

I agree with the previous post, teacher turnover is very bad at this school, and it has caused grades to plummet, frustration, anxiety, and fear. I had enough, and removed my child before she was so far behind, she would never catch up. This school has lost many students over the last few years, and they are still leaving. If this school even has 80 students, I would be very, very surprised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2012

Avoid this school, teacher turnover is horrible, and has affected the morale of the few remaining students. I could go on about many other things that have happened, but why bother, the bottom line is, in my opinion, there are much better schools in this city that are no cost to the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

The previous poster must work at the school, as this is no way reality. If you want to save your child a lot of grief, heartache, etc., try another school. The principal of this school, has gotten rid of every single teacher that was at the school when she came, and some of these teachers were excellent. When the current principal came to the school, two of the teachers were male, and had been at the school for many years, now they are both gone, and there are no male teachers at this school. Another bad sign is the constant teacher turnover, for instance, the 7th and 8th grade class, is on it's third teacher in less than a year and a half, what is going on here? Enrollment is declining, and more will probably leave after Christmas, something is not quite right at this school. The previous principal was a much better principal, extremely fair and compassionate, and talked to you, instead of down to you, and if you happened to disagree with him, he would still look at your point of view, instead of acting like a petulant child, taking their marbles and going home. I have lived here for 40 years, this is the worst school I have ever encountered, to bad one person did all this damage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2012

We have been at this school for three years now after transferring from a SV public school. What I can tell you is we have awesome teachers, staff and Sr. Carol rocks. We came in a grade level behind after public school and made up two grade levels with the caring and devotions of the teachers at ASCS. Sr. Carol hugs my daughter every day and cares personally for her happiness as for every students there. The parents are involved and the kids are well behaved. If your child does not succeed with the small class size and one on one interactions then you as a parent must not be involved at all at home. I work full time as does my husband and I know my money spent is worth every dollar guaranteeing my daughter can qualify for college in a state that puts education last!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2012

I wonder if they still have one teacher for every two grades (i.e. single teacher for 1st and 2nd, etc...). This situation saved $, but made for a miserable school year!! My suggestion .... If you can get a better public education for free - Why would you pay tuition for less?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 21, 2012

The new principal is excellent and is moving the school in the right direction. Atmosphere is positive, organized, and directed. The parish and pastor are now fully supportive. Most teachers are very good, but they need to fill a couple of key positions with stable higher performing teachers. My daughter is happy, appropropriately challenged by the work, and is thriving. It is wonderful to have a solid catholic school in our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

I don't know if the previous review wasfrom an actual parent. The reason why the school attendance dropped was because of the old principal. Sister Carol treats everyone equally and this is by far the best school I have seen in Sierra Vista. All schools have fund raisers. The children in the school are very well mannered and the parent involvement is amazing. If you want the best education in a nurturing environment that helps children to grow and develop to the best of their potential, this is the school to be at.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

All Saints Catholic School has grades Preschool-8th grade. It is a great, family atmosphere school. The teachers are very enthusiastic and interact well with the students and with the parents. The school is Catholic and one knows it upon entering the school grounds. There is tuition assistance available so all students of any economic background are able to attend.


Posted August 18, 2011

With the exodus of the principal,secretary and several outstanding teachers, the quality and the family-like feeling of the school is gone. The enrollment of children is way down, I don't know how the school will be able to afford the staff. Hopefully, the school can rebound,because it is the only Catholic school in town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

ALthough there have been many changes at ASCS, they are all for the better. My son has attended since Kindergarden and was doing 4th grade work for most of 3rd grade. There are some fantastic teachers there now and a new principal who is a nun. If a Christian environment, family atmosphere and better-than-public academics is for you, check it out. There is tuition assistance for nearly everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2011

I know this school is great. The old principal left near the end of the school year in 2011. The Tucson Diosese hired a Nun as the new principal, Sister Carol. She has been a principal at Catholic Schools in the past and has been teaching for many years, most recently in Hawaii. Even before the change in administration our daughter improved in her grades compared to being in public school. The classes are small and she gets individual attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2011

All Saints Catholic School is wonderful. The tuition assistance is great. More than 75% of the student body receives tuition assistance. Parents are encouraged to participate in the fund raising events and to provide suggestions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

All Saints Catholic School has suffered quite a bit throughout the past three years. With the departure of the principal and the administrative assistant brighter days are here. The mood of the school has already improved and the new principal, a Catholic sister from Hawaii with tons of experience, will soon be in place. Now is the time for new students to come in and for students who left during the past three years to return.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

Unfortunately, with the new principal came a lack of good leadership and unfair treatment of some very good teachers. It's a shame! My kids went there for years. It was a strong, positive environment until a couple years ago. Many lovely children and families have chose to leave due to the new principal. Very unprofessional administration. For those who believe everything is ok, look very carefully please!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

Great school in the past. Declining enroll and increased mid-year tuition not a good sign.


Posted October 5, 2010

This is a very unsatisfactory school. The lack of enthusiasm to assist parents and children is very disappointing considering the tuition amount. They seem to allow personal business (or drama) and have it interfere with their professional performance. They do have a lot of involvement of other parents, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 42%
Hispanic 27% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Painting
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Henry Bos
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Tucson
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Computer animation
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1425 East Yaqui Street
Sierra Vista, AZ 85650
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 378-7012

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT