Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Zuni Hills Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2008

I have 2 children at Zuni Hills. My oldest child has been there for 7 years. We have had our ups and downs, but for the most part it has been satisfactory. I do wish that when a child struggled there would be better communication and more tutoring or after school programs. I do understand resources are limited for the teachers. We will just keep up the work and support and wish Zuni the best in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

My daughter has attended Zuni Hills for the past 5 years. We have been very happy with most of the teachers. I cannot say enough positive things about Mrs. Fry, the P.I. teacher. When the new principal came in, things changed tremendously -- for the better! Ms. Storms has gone out of her way to keep the parents informed (love the phone reminders about early release days). Now the administration and staff seem organized and cohesive. A welcome change. Zuni has been a great asset to my daughter's eductation. I do think that education is a partnership, and that parents are vital in the overall education of a child. It is up to us to make sure that our children get what they need. Zuni has been a great partner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

We have had 2 children at Zuni for 3 years. The Peoria school district K-8 structure is very hard on 6-8 graders. Adminstration and teachers cannot meet the needs of all the age groups represented in this format. Middle Schools are needed to specifically meet the needs of children in this transformational age group - Hormone enraged ealry teens should not be subjected to the sames rules, adminstration, facilities, and structure. Nor is it fair for 1st graders to see/hear the everyday behavior of these shouldbe middle schoolers. Zuni Hills does not prepare their students in this age group (6th-8th grade) for the next step of life - High School. The current administration only attempts to patch holes in the failing dam - Than address the problems and issues at hand. We struggle on a daily basis to fill in the educational and social gaps left unaddressed by Zuni Hills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

We have been in the PUSD for many years and have been very happy with Zuni Hills. The teachers, staff and administration all work for the betterment of their students. I hope that the new principal will be as strong and honest as Mr. B was and as the school sign shows, Good Luck Mr. B, we are going to miss you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

We have sent our children to ZH since the first day in 2001. We have had wonderful teachers every year except the first year. Unfortunately it seems that the quality of leadership has deteriorated in the past two years, and several teachers have left or transferred to other schools. Public education is supposed to focus on educating the children, but it has become a political battlefield since the No Child Left Behind Act was implemented. Now, all that seems important are the test scores. I have 3 different types of learners for my children, and they are either bored or over-challenged. I am not sure if I want to continue our support at ZH. I wish it could be better, but it seems like the zeal for excellence and concern for the children has depleted. I hope this current situation doesn't forecast a bleak future; a miracle is needed in education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2007

My children have been attending Zuni Hills since 2006. We have been very happy with Zuni Hills. It's disappointing to hear other parents speak so poorly about the school, it takes more than the school to educate children, parents must be involved as well. We have been happy with the curriculum and the discipline is a no tollerance policy. I heard since the new Principal is here, the school has improved very much. The only downfall is the lack of parents that attend the PTSO meetings, parents usually complain, but never attend meetings to make improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2005

I have been let down by PUSD and especially Zuni Hills. The school, its administration, and the majority of its teachers stink. The classrooms are overcrowded, teachers are overloaded, and most of the teachers are unwilling or unable to provide the communication and support that children need. My children have attended Zuni since it opened, and despite neighbors who have pulled their children out, I held hope that it would improve. Not only has it not improved, it has gotten worse. I am now at a point that I cannot stand this school, its obnoxious principal(obviously an opinion, but it belongs to many others as well), and the teachers that my children have. I am looking for another school to take my children to because I have no confidence in their ability to lead and teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

My children have been at this school since it opened, I am quite happy. Reading some of these reviews are a little disheartening. My motto is 'you get what you are willing to give.' I feel that many parents are to blame for their students lack of achievement. We have become a society of dumping our responsibilities on others (ie government, schools, churches, etc.) Schools, churchs and the government are simply supplements to what the parent should be doing. Sure a lot of the teachers are young and inexperienced but are eager to learn. Parents need to take a hand in helping these teachers and the school as a whole. Parental involvement is what is lacking in this school. Work or not every parent has a responsiblity to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2005

I am disappointed in Zuni Hills Elementary School. When the bells rings the teacher are out in the halls rushing the children like cattle. Waiting for the bus must be a nightmare for the kids because they must line up in crowds (again like cattle)in the way of kids trying to exit. Kids love having subs because there is no lost love for the teachers here. Just ask the kids. Doing away with student of the month presentation..What a dumb idea. Whats next?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

I have had 4 children attend Zuni Hills Elementary in the last 5 years. With the exception of one teacher that 2 of the children had difficulty learning from we have been very fortunate at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I have two children that attend Zuni Hills, and I have been very happy with the school. Their academics are great, and the P.I. teacher is terrific. My kids are challenged, and the teachers have been great. We feel the school is doing a wonderful job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2005

Zuni Hills Elementary is one of the finest academic environments in the Phoenix area. The philosophy of the school centers on the child. The climate is safe, the teachers of experience and caring. New educational philosophies are utilized. The principal makes his presents know and is available to all student, teachers, parents and supportative staff. It is an honor to have a child experience such an academic superior school in a caring, safe evniroment.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted July 29, 2005

They mix elementary and middle school, not the best idea but overall good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

This is a well run school with innovative teachers and a great administrative staff. They strive to challenge the children academically and teach them to be good citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

My daughter attends kindergarten at zuni. I feel that the school does what it has to, to get by. Maybe that's the way all elementary schoools are now days? So we are looking for other options for 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

I have nothing to say but good things about Zuni Hills. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2004

I have 2 children that attend Zuni Hills. My son has needed extra help through some emotional issues and the staff at Zuni Hills was incredibly helpful! My daughter has AD/HD and the staff at Zuni did not hesitate to step up and assist me in the understanding and use of programs that can and were implemented to help her. The teachers work well with eachother and other staff members to adapt to student's personalities and needs. The principal is very supportive and makes an effort to know the students! I feel the whole school staff strives to make Zuni a wonderful part of our community and an A+ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2004

I have been unimpressed at best by Zuni Hills. I have found the teachers to be below average. My children have been injured on the playground and were refused access to the school nurse. The bus system is ineffecient and ill-equipped to handle new riders. Not once, not twice, but three times my daughter was lost...though we did find her in a matter of 30 minutes, I find this unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

I think Zuni Hills leaves a lot to be desired. When they opened thier doors, they opened late, and they did not seem ready. Most teachers were new, and some ready for retirment. Zuni Hills also is not well set up for the Arizona weather, there is no shaded area on the playground, and PE has to be outside no matter how hot. They have a multipourpose room only, used for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2004

Our son's first year at Zuni Hills was a bit rough due to the fact that he was unchallenged in the lessons, but the past two years have been much better! We have felt that we are welcome in the school anytime, and we have seen a big improvement in communication with the staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 42%
Hispanic 11% 43%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 412-5282

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10851 W. Williams Road
Sun City, AZ 85373
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 486-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Basis Peoria
Peoria, AZ




Candeo Schools
Peoria, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT