Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 57 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


59 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Zuni Hills Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
We returned to Zuni this year because of the new zoning for the school. What a difference!! The atmosphere is very positive and you can feel the energy. Our student is loving 8th grade and enjoys all four teachers. The 8th grade staff is awesome, glad we returned.

Zuni Hills Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
We are really glad we were rezoned to Zuni Hills. The atmosphere with new students is wonderful and the staff has been more than welcoming. Teacher quality if excellent, our kids are being challenged.


Zuni Hills Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2014
- a parent
I am also a mother of two boys with special health care needs. One child having ADHD. I have found the staff to be more than accommodating. They were committed to help him have a love of school and learning above all else. Now given I walked in the door with an outside evaluation from a Psychologist office. But once that was in hand, the IEP process went very quickly. And the teachers did everything they could to make the classroom a positive place and a wonderful learning environment. We came from another Peoria school, which is not so willing to support our special needs kids when they needed it the most. We think Zuni Hills is one of the best in Peoria. Keep up the good work!

Zuni Hills Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a teacher
Zuni Hills is an academically excelling school! The Zuni Hills Grizzlies are number one, our commitment and achievements can't be undone! The Zuni Hills Grizzlies are number one! You can try to beat us, but it can't be done! Go Grizzlies!

Zuni Hills Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
Zuni Hills is excellent! Our 13-year-old daughter [8th grader] transferred in from the Scottsdale School District and we find Zuni and the Peoria School District equally excelling and put forth matching effort in regards to their teaching staff, administration & students. We're very pleased to have transitioned from Hopi [K-5] and Ingleside [6-8] to Zuni [K-8] for 2013-14. The front office staff is always very accommodating, super knowledgeable and awesome at multi-tasking by efficiently juggling caring for/watching the kids, assisting parents with their questions/concerns, all while completing their daily tasks and treating everyone with respect. The teachers are also great by consistently teaching students grade appropriate subject matter in innovative ways and providing the quality care & attention our kids deserve! I highly recommend Zuni and give an overall A+ for the reasons aforementioned. *I wonder why ~100% of the poor reviews are riddled with typographical errors, grammar & punctuation misuse and an overall lack of concern for accurately conveying clear points to other parents & administration. It may be a good time to reflect on one's own actions vs. pointing the finger!


Zuni Hills Elementary School 3

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Obvious administrators don't follow district dress code but was up at school and see older student walking around with shirt that showed a large majority of her stomach. Why is nothing done by office, teachers, leadership to have her put something else on or be sent home. Leadership can't even follow district guidelines on the dress code. Really nice for the younger students to see girl walking around like that. If leadership reads these comments, try and get your standards a bit higher on appropriate dress. Also, parent being appalled on choir teacher - she made announcement last week to her students that she was quitting/not coming back next year because she can't take them talking. Really not professional for teacher to be telling students she blames them. Her comments to students makes sense why they act the way they do in class.

Zuni Hills Elementary School 3

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
Appalled at the comments about the Winter concert as we thought it was wonderful. Although there have been discipline issues, our daughter has enjoyed the music and the class over all. There appears to be a lack of administrative follow-through where discipline is concerned.

Zuni Hills Elementary School 2

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
Fairly new to Zuni Hills - The clothes some of the girls wear are so inappropriate how they are not sent home is a shock. Lack of respect from students to other students and staff. The Winter Concert was just horrible. Choir teacher was unorganized, this may have been her first concert. Our child told us it is at class chaos, now we see exactly what is happening. Two parents almost got into a fist fight over saving seats and then some students took the microphone at end of concert and starting screaming into them. The bad reputation the school has is fitting. Thrilled we are being rezone next year. Hopefully the good teachers will transfer over. Shape up Zuni and district you need to step in, clean out house and start over with administration that follows district guidelines.


Zuni Hills Elementary School 2

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
Just saw post on choir concert and teacher. Glad another parent has their kid telling them class is crazy. Teacher has no control and says not nice things either. Office know but nothing is ever done to the teacher to act like a teacher. Moved here years ago for school district but we are stuck with worst one in westvalley area.

Zuni Hills Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
We have been extremely pleased with Zuni Hills. We transfered from another Peoria district school last year, and have found very positive and supportive staff. The kids love their teachers and classmates. We have not needed to contact the principal, but other parents have reassured us that there is strong student discipline & high expectations, and are very happy with the new principal and vice principal. We have not encountered any 'bad attitude. Our kids are happy, learning what they need to learn. The only concern is the lack of parent participation we see at fundraisers and school events, which was a problem at our previous school, as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Zuni Hills Elementary School
10851 W. Williams Road, Sun City, AZ  85373
(623) 486-6000
Last modified Zuni Hills Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Zuni Hills Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 59 reviews.