Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Peoria Traditional School

Public | K-6 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

This will be our third year with Peoria Tradtional and we have been very happy with the level of education and values that are taught. Our child is very happy here and is excelling academically and socially. We are very pleased with our decision to send our children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

This is the best kept secret in Arizona. Don't tell anyone. We want to keep this place nice and small. My daughter loves going to school now. They do not tolerate any bad behavior. There is no drama allowed. The communication we get from the teacher and the school is outstanding. We love the core values that are taught. The principal even knows my daughter's name. We love this place. It is like a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2014

We are new to PTS this year and been happy. PTS is a GOOD SOLID SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

My husband and I have been very happy with this school. Our daughter transfused from Frontier this year and we have seen a world of difference. Mr.Gross is a patient, kind teacher who we have seen genuinely cares about our child's education well been. We have open communication which allows us to work together and we never feel kept out of the loop. Something we never experience at Frontier. After all, are not our children's teachers also raising them, being that they are with them half of their waking hours?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

PTS achieves "A" Rating! As a parent, I could not be happier with the progress and the day to day environment of this school. The quality of the faculty and leadership of the principal are some of the main reasons for the success. Unlike other schools, their is a level of accountability expected not only of staff but parents and students alike. The school like "drama" that is usually present in many public schools is minimized and quickly resolved which allows for a positive learning environment. Very good group of parents who assist and partake in school activities, although there is always room for improvement in this area. Despite its significant growth, the school still maintains its core values. The Peoria Unified School district has a reputation for good schools and why many move to this area, this type of school and atmosphere is a model for others to achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

My son had never been to school before he entered Kindergarten this year. He is now excelling and even teaches his 4 year old sister about Core Values. This a fabulous school and we can't wait for her to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

What makes PTS different? This was our question prior to enrolling this year. The uniforms, Core Values, and parent involvement are all factors but since being at PTS would have to say it is also majority the atmosphere. Kids will be kids and do silly things that kids do, but there is NO bullying, foul language or disrespect in the classrooms. When you walk in the hallways and see the middle school students the girls are not wearing make up, distracting hair colors or inappropriate clothing. You never see boy/girl holding hands or anything of the like. PUSD provides a solid education for all their schools but,by far, PTS is a winner for the district. This should be the model for all schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

Kindergarten Registration for the Peoria Traditional School begins this Monday, February 25th. Applications will be time stamped and processed on a first come, first served basis. Space is very limited. No camping out on the school grounds. We welcome the graduating class of 2025. Experience the Peoria Tradition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

Wonderful school - love that it goes through 8th grade next year and the small school environment. Our children feel very comfortable and safe. Nice to see students not wearing inappropriate clothing like most public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2013

A school of CHOICE. All of the families choose PTS as their childrens school, it is not a zoned school, it is a school of choice. The growth from the first school year starting with 57 students to the second year of over 220 students (K-7th) is exciting. Solid curriculum and Core Values that are lessons to students. PTS is not only educating, but they are teaching students to be compassionate, kind, respectful children. The communication from our teachers, administration and booster club is wonderful. The parent involvement is the highest I have seen at a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2013

When your child comes home from school and says, "I love school", you know you've found a winner! The principal knows and interacts with all the children. The teachers are all united and work to make sure the parents know what's going on. The high involvement from the parents also makes this a great environment. I know of no other school that teaches great values as well as school curriculum. I have students ranging from kindergarten to 7th grade and they all love it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

Our family found the best school in the area. Our children enjoy going to school and love the "school family" environment. We are glad to be part of the school and see why it is growing at such a rapid rate. School actually goes through 7th grade this year and will go through 8th grade next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2012

Thank you PUSD for providing a private/charter type school through the public school district. Principal is very involved with the students, teachers are excellent and heavy parent participation. Love the Core Values that are taught. No need to look for charter/private school where you will have book fees, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

The Arizona Department of Education did not report AZ LEARNS results for this school.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 42%
Hispanic 5% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!


Sun City, AZ 85373
Phone: (623) 412-5350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Basis Peoria
Peoria, AZ




Candeo Schools
Peoria, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT