Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paradise Education Center

Charter | K-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

95 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2008

My kids are in 5th and 7th grade and love this school. They have made Honor roll and Principal's list throughout the year. The teachers are outstanding and the school is well organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

My son is in kindergarten and loves this school. He has an excellent teacher, Mrs.Nowell, and has learned a great deal. It is nice to see that there is still a school that has structure and teaches the importance of self discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

My daughter has attended PEC for the last two years. Her first year was in fourth grade. Previously she was enrolled at one of the Dysart Elem schools. She was struggling. We asked for help at the public school and received none. Our first month at PEC my daughter started to recieve the help she needs. This year (5th grade) has been a little more struggle. The teacher does not comunicate well. with the parents. But My daughter still loves the school. I will be keeping my daughter at PEC and looking forward to 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

This Is one of the BEST schools in the West Valley! We have 4 attending, & we could not be more pleased! All are on Principals Honor Roll,& in advanced classes & are all achieving well beyond their grade levels. I can not even begin to say enough of the staff---ALL are well educated,very caring & nice & always,always on top of things! Can't get any better! This school Is most comparable to that of private schools--- Thank-You to Dr. Schrader, Ms. Butler,Mr. Gonzales & Staff! Now--All just anxiously awaiting a High school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

The school itself is great, but we have had very bad luck with the past 2 teachers we have had. The office staff and aides are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

Regarding comments 1) School not having special needs programs My oldest child started kindergarten fours years above grade level. There is a gifted program, first few years the school focuses on the child being able to function well in a school setting. There are plenty of opportunities for your gifted child and are expanding. There are resources for those who are behind like my youngest child who is now working at grade level 2) Limiting your ability to volunteer to your ability to pay. The school has sent at least 2 notices this year any parent help. Only thing the school requires is if you will be working in the classroom you need to be fingerprinted. That makes sense to me. I love PEC they are a good solid academic school and have a heart for the children otherwise we would be sending our children to private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

We love PEC! I have a 1st grader and 6th grader in the school. My 6th grader did not attend PEC previously and came from a top school in Arizona and we have found that the curriculum is very equal. There is alot of homework that needs to be done every night.(6th grade) I think that the agenda the students were told to purchase needs to be used. It should be encouraged that the students use them every day. Only 1 teacher requests they use it. I know there is the web pages, but I don't think that the students should have to use them, it should be for the parents to verfiy what the students are doing. Overall I am very happy with the school and think it is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

The specials are actually relevant and exceptionally taught. The teachers are strict and the students know it and act accordingly. We're at PEC to stay!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2007

I would not recommend this school for a child with special needs. They do not have the programs or resources to help exceptional students(special needs children)succeed. You will receive a better education and experience for your exceptional student in the Dysart District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

My child has only been at Paradise for a couple of months now. I think Paradise may be a shining star when compared to Dysart schools, but is still far behind, academically speaking, when compared to schools in other areas. Even many half-day programs have children learning more. If your child is reading before kindergarten, expect to be disappointed as your child will continue slowly while the others play catch-up. Also, most schools are hurting for volunteers, and children benefit from having parents who are actively involved at their schools, but at Paradise your ability to volunteer is based upon your ability to pay. Also, requesting gifted testing for a child is like pulling teeth, and teachers aren't made aware of the program's availability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

I am extremely impressed with this school. Two of my kids have been there for 4 years, and a third will start next year. We are definately and Eagles family. Great Staff and administration. I highly reccomend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

This is an awesome school. You get extra help in what's needed and has awesome teachers. Highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

My son has been going to Paradise for two years this will be his 3rd year. His very happy. The teachers are great. I have seen my son progress every year. I really recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

I love this school! The teachers seem to be great and happy to be there! My son loves it as well. There is a great community atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2007

My kids have been at Paradise for five years. In that time, I've seen their class sizes increase by one or two students, hardly a comparison to the unmanageable behemoth of district school classes. True, they haven't had an art program in the past couple of years, but the students have regular PE, music, and technology classes. The teachers work together, especially at the 7th/8th grade level. If a parent doesn't know what's going on with a child at this school, then it's because the parent isn't paying attention. Regular progress reports, weekly paper communication, and updated teacher websites are the norm here. Academic achievements and test scores are up, and more extracurricular activities are added every year. PEC's biggest problem is having to turn away kids because of lack of space. Sorry, can't have my kids' spaces; there's no way mine are going back to district schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

I was upset (and so was my daughter) to leave this school when we moved out of state. The teachers and staff at PEC were excellent. She had the best experience while she attended this school for a little over 6 months. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

I love this school . My daughter has been going to PEC for two in half years she went from Peoria Elementary and was getting F & D . She is now making A & B. She loves school now . Now my son is now going to PEC He is so happy to go here at Peoria school he was at the point of being scared to ask to go to the rest room . I think my children will excel with this school. PEC works with the students I don't give this school a ten I give it a twelve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2006

I absolutely love this school. The public schools in our area are horrid, so I was thrilled to get my daughter into this school. Teachers are great, staff is great, completely happy with this school and the quality education my daughter is getting. I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

I have three students who go to this school. I have a second, seventh and eighth grade. They have been attending for three years. My oldest was failing at another local public school but finished on the honor roll at this school. The teacher's are concerned about the academics being taught and work in teams to teach the students. I think this teamwork among teachers help give my children the best curriculum to learn and grow. My children seem happy at this school, get good grades and have many friends. The staff and parents are involved and friendly. I feel that my opinion is valued and my children's education is a top priority. The only minus is that there isn't enough specials to choose for the 7th and 8th graders. Overall it's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

PEC staff are always willing to listen and they make a genuine effort to listen and try to help. They strive to improve the learning environment. Sure they have had some teachers I have had problems but nothing major and they work very hard at trying to resolve your concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A47%
Female 55%N/A49%
Male 45%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15533 W. Paradise Ln.
Surprise, AZ 85374
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 975-2646

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT