Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paradise Education Center

Charter | K-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

95 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2010

My daughter is excelling. They look at her strong point and weeks points make sure she stays balanced and interested. She loves it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

I LOVE PEC!!!!! It's my first year @ PEC and Im in 6th grade. The learning is great and I cant wait till the Medevil Festival. Each class seems to be like a puzzle and they allfit together. Like last week, we were studying debates and persuasive techniques, every class seemed to have debating incorperated in it! I cant wait until seventh grade! PEC has GREAT school spirit and curriculum!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2010

I am a parent of 3 who all attend at PEC. We moved from out of state 2 years ago were the educational standards were set high. My children came out of private schooling. At first out of no choice of our own placed them in the Dysart district. We quickly found this district to be well below the nation and began looking for the best option. We asked around and PEC kept coming up. So far we are happy with the staff, they seem caring and a willingness to listen and work with parents. The only thing that bothers me is that honor program here. Too me it's not challenging enough and I have found that these so called honors classes aren't really honors. They do exactly the same work as the regular classes. I'm also a little dissapointed with some assignments that seem below level work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2009

This school is clearly the best in the Surprise/El Mirage area (and most of Arizona!) Teachers, staff, curriculum, & even the field trips are awesome!! My guess is the parents that are commenting that the school only cares about test scores is that their child doesn't even go to this school, or has never been drawn to get in! In order to be an excelling school, obviously the kids are learning!!! Look at half of the dysart district...most are underperforming or just meeting the standard. This school is right on track & has been planned carefully. No budget cuts, & no taking specials from our kids. They have a specials class everyday rotating PE, spanish, technology, & music.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

All this school cares about it test scores. They do not care at all about anything else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

We are thrilled with PEC. The teachers and staff are so attentive and caring that it is actually a joy to drop our child off in the morning, knowing he will learn, have fun, and be championed in the process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Im a student at p.e.c. and I absolutely love it. Im entering 8th grade and I think that this school is all about the kids and nothing else!! Teachers are great!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2009

Very large school with caring staff, by my child seems to be getting lost. Too many students per class and not enough adminstrative personnel to properly give each child the attention they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

This school is one of the best schools in AZ. My boys did exceptional well at this school. I highly recommend it. They would still be here if they offered. High School Football.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

This is the best school! The staff is great! The curriculum is perfect! I also love how they get parents involved and incorporate school with home. Because a child's education shouldn't stop when they're not in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

I am a parent of PEC with a 4th and 8th grade students this is our 3th year in here, it was a very good year for both of them. They been in 3 different schools here in Surprise and finally we all were very happy in this school, academically speaking, safety, etc, all teachers were amazing!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

I am a student at PEC and absolutely LOVE my school!! I have attended it since kindergarten and am now attending my 8th year at Paradise! The staff is wonderful and I really learn a lot! The students are amazing and are very friendly! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2009

My daughter is in Mrs. Barajas' 1st grade class and loves it! We both love her teacher...she goes above and beyond and is very attentive and caring towards the children. My daughter loves going to school everyday and is doing very well. The class is very organized and doing something new and exciting everyday. We couldn't be happier with her progress or her wonderful teacher this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

I have nothing but good things to say about this school. I enjoy the fact that they are able to step outside of the box for their teaching. My son is doing fantastic at this school. They do focus alot on test scores in the higher grade levels, which unfortunatley is how they get their government money to keep this wonderful school open. You will find all schools focus on tests when it is time for those. For heavens sake think back to when you were in school, did you not take practice tests before the actual tests were done? They start at young grade levels helping students who are struggling. They ignore this in public schools. I plan on keeping my child in this school, and putting my younger ones in as well. I recommend this school to anyone!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

All they care about are test scores! The children are not learning, but the scores are high. Anyone can pass a test if coached over and over. Ridiculous!


Posted November 24, 2008

I have three kids here and they take a hands on approach with weekly updates, daily if needed. I highly recomment this school over any of the Dysart District schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

I've been at PEC K-9, planning on being one of the first K-12 to come out. I will say this from a student perspective, as I am one. The staff are very nice, and in 9th grade, they have personality that everyone thrives off of. The classroom is a comfortable learning environment. The teachers may not always explain something right the first time, but they usually find someone who can explain the concept to you better. The students are very...'tight' (for lack of a better word) with each other and the classroom is a community. This is one of the better places to be, not like Dysart schools (where I hear that one of my friends got offered weed three time within the first week of her freshman year. Yikes!) I look forward to the opportunities this school will provide me in my near future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2008

After a very traumatic experience at Carden Traditional school due to the poor principal leadership and teacher quality, we are extremely happy at PEC. My son's teacher, Mrs. Hoogervorst, is wonderful and my son is excited to go to school again. Because of her superior teaching ability, she is able to instruct children who are above average like my son as well as children who may need a little more help. No one gets bored and no one is made to feel like a failure, like Carden! That school should be shut down. I am so glad we were able to get into this school. It was the best thing that happened to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2008

We have three kids attending Paradise, and we have found it to be an outstanding school for the average to above average learner. We also had a child attend there who has special needs, but found that she was not given the attention or specifically designed instruction that her IEP mandated for all of her classes. The junior high administration was not as supportive as the elementary administration was. However, I can say, sadly, that is typically the way Arizona schools treat our special education students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

My 3rd grader attends Paradise and absolutely loves it. This is her first year there after trying 2 other area schools since we got to AZ in 06. Her teacher is very thorough and involved with the students, she goes way outside of the box in an effort to make learning interesting and fun. My only gripe is that the school has a 'no sibling' policy. As a military family (that doesn't know/trust many people in the area) and a stay at home mom it's very difficult for me to be involved in any of my daughters activities there at the school. To go into the classroom to watch my daughter deliver a 5-7 min presentation requires a sitter. It's ridiculous. I understand field trips and the fact that siblings can be a distraction but to totally ban siblings from any activities at the school is non-sense.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A47%
Female 55%N/A49%
Male 45%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15533 W. Paradise Ln.
Surprise, AZ 85374
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 975-2646

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT