Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paradise Education Center

Charter | K-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

95 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2006

I love PEC. My oldest has been there for 4 years now and my youngest will going into 3rd grade. I agree that the school is getting bigger but, I don't feel that my sons' education has diminished at all. I look forward to the high school getting established. If those who aren't happy with PEC think that it is better in the Dysart School District be my guest and go. Just remember when you give your place up...there is a good probability that you won't be able to come back. There are hundreds of families who are desperate to get out of the district. When in doubt, compare all the overall testing standards. PEC blows away the public school system. We are a PEC family and proud of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

This is a wonderful school, but becoming very large. One positive about charters is the ability to give students more attention. This is being lost in the numbers.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 1, 2006

This school is very nice. They have a great variety of programs both, academically and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

I feel PEC has excellent parent involvement. My wife assist in the classroom about once a month. My son has ADHD and they have helped him through evaluation and a specific education program. The teachers have been consistent in the discipline program and we have instituted the same program at home. We receive weekly updates via homework and are free to talk to the teacher or administration at any time. When we have talked to them they have treated us with respect and cordially. The principal is very friendly and truly is concerned for the children. The class sizes are smaller than at the public schools. And even with the swift growth, they have added classes and hired qualified teachers. They have even quickly got rid of teachers who were not following the standards. I do not believe my children would receive higher quality at a public school than here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

We love this school...from a 3rd grader in a gifted program to a child receiving special needs help. Spanish, technology, PE 4days a week and music. teachers that are teaching in the area they trained in... teachers happy, kids happy parents happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

My kids have only been there about six weeks. They don't follow the Handbook, they make up the rules as they go along. We came from an excellent school district in Illinois and I'm applaud of what has gone on within the last six weeks. I would not recomment this Charter School at all. Paradise Education Center, Surprise, AZ
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2005

Great leadership! 2 Assistant Principals and 2 curriculum directors really support the teachers ablility to TEACH. Jr high classes available for advanced and honors students. Apex classes for gifted younger students. Overall excellent quality!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

Excellent academic program Music, Sports, Technology, Spanish, and afterschool programs. Good parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

Great School!! Me and my kids are very happy here. The teachers we have had have been unbelievable and they have definitely went out of their way to help my children. I believe it is one of the BEST schools in the area. About the only thing that I would like to see more of is social activities. Hopefully, we will see this as the school grows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

Academic programs have been challenging for my children thus far. I do wish the kids could have art class - they do have art masterpiece once a month or so. Parent invovlement is very prevelant in this campus which helps make the school such a success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

I am very happy with this school. My children are beginning their third year here and the atmosphere and drive toward excellence are always improving. It doesn't feel like they are just 'managing' the children. There are specific goals and from the top down there is a level of respect and expectations for all teachers and students. They have an expanded PE program-4 days a week, but are missing an art program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

My daughter attended kindergarten here in 2004-2005. I was very happy with the program. She learned so much more than the children of my friends who attended other schools. The school welcomes parent volunteers. We are looking forward to next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

My 2 nephews attend this school, and their mother just loves it. She feels it is better than a public one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

This school has been a small disappointment for our two children. They came from a different district ranked higher in testing. I was told that this school was the best in the area above all other charters and public schools within the district. However, I have seen first hand children slipping through the curriculum without completing work for themselves. This concerns me. The school does not have an art program, yet it continues to raise money throughout the year almost monthly fundraisers. Playgrounds are under staffed with aids and this concerns me as far as safety goes. On a positive note, the principal is very nice and the parent involvement is excellent. Some aims and standford 9 are above the average for the district, but the district is below the state average or slightly over in some subjects. Overall, could be better staffed, organized, and much less candy rewards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

My child has attended this school for one year and entered Paradise Education Center as a kindergartner. We chose this school because it has a good reputation in regards to overall performance when compared to our other local public schools. As a family new to this school I am unable to comment on the academic programs, but I am able to comment on the quality of kindergarten teachers and teacher's assistants. They are amazing. They are really patient and caring and are very encouraging when helping the children make the right choices of behavior. My child did have the opportunity to get involved in the schools karate club which she greatly enjoyed and was a great value for the length and quality of the class. We love this school and plan to keep our my child at this school thru 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

The quality of your child's education will exceed the education given at all the public schools in Dysart School District. One major benefit is art, music and physical education which allow the children to have a balance. There are extracurricular activities such as karate and basketball. They have very strict rules; however, as long as the children follow the rules there should not be a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

My son has been going here for over a year and this is a fantastic school! The teachers are well educated and informed. They keep the parents updated on your child's progress and I am very confident in their ability to give my son a great education. He prevoiusly went to a private school, then we moved here and put him in a public school. It was disasterous. The teachers were overburdened having at least 35 kids in each class and not able to control them. At Paradise, it feels just like the private school without the $ 500.00 a month tuition. He feels safe, confident, and is earning all E's for excellent in his 5th grade class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

Going downhill fast. Administration is a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2004

This used to be a good school, but I can no longer with good conscious recommend it. The teachers grade emotionally and judgementally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2004

I'm disappointed in the fact that there were so many positive reviews before this school year. I've been set on having my kids attend this school because of all the great things I've heard in the past! What I can say at the present time is that I am pleased with the education my son has received thus far, but don't have much to compare it with since this is my oldest child, and his first year in school. From my observations, the 'light' system is used in the classroom with consistency, but the written discipline is not always in line with what is outlined. (We were told a yellow light meant lunch detention - but the enforcement is sporadic.) I am pleased overall with the school and hope it is not less now, than it was in the years previous! Would love to see others comments too!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A47%
Female 55%N/A49%
Male 45%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15533 W. Paradise Ln.
Surprise, AZ 85374
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 975-2646

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT