Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paradise Education Center

Charter | K-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

95 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2004

I agree that performance at the school seems to have gone down. The school is growing way too fast and the small teacher/student ratio that was so attractive, is now too high. Stll, I feel better sending my children here rather than the Dysart schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

I've had my kids in this school for 3 years now and I have watched it go down hill from something exciting to something frustraiting. They are growing way too fast and the administration seems more pre-occupied by changes, growth and the future than the education of the students currently attending. It's very sad, it was an excellent school - hopefully they won't continue the downward trend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2004

This school does not provide quality education. Their discipline methods are questionable. Teachers are not motivated to teach students at their level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2004

Best school in the district, hands down. I would like to see a closer teacher / parent relationship though. I'd like to know what my 7th and 6th grader are working. They also need more extracurricular activities like a sports program. Right now, they aren't able to play other schools in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

I feel my children are getting an excellent education at PEC. I only wish it had a bus/transportation system and more sports/extracurricular activities for the children to do after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

We have heard nothing but great comments about Paradise Education Center. We are in the process of searching for a school for our child and hope she will be able to go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2004

I feel that Paradise Education Center has the best learning enviorment for students in the Surprise area. The teachers seem to have a good relationship with the administration which helps them perform to the best of their ability. The music program is improving but could use another teacher to handle the class load. The school is building a new cafeteria. This is a great addition as the PE teachers will now have a gym to teach in instead of constantly teaching outside! I don't have anything to say about the 7th and 8th grades as I have no students in those grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2004

My daughter has only been at PEC for two years, but I have been impressed with the quality of her teachers and the school programs. The students and their progress come first. I would highly recommend this school to any parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2003

I go to this school. Its awesome. The teachers are wonderful. I am in 7th grade. They have great curriculum. The teachers make learning fun and easy. They have a great sports, choir, and band systems. I love this school. It the best one I have ever been too.


Posted April 19, 2003

The school has an outstanding very capable principal, that really cares about each child and parent.


Posted April 6, 2003

This school has a great principal that has been increasing the role that parents play in the education of their children. She provides excellent leadership for an excellent school.


Posted March 29, 2003

I'd like to yell at the top of my lungs to all the parents out there to 'Stop looking' this school has it all, excellent teachers, who care for the children they teach, safety like no other school, discipline ! thats right, no talking back here! Children are taught to accept responsibility for their actions,and not blame others. As to the leadership, they are the example by which the rest follows..Treat others as you wish to be treated- With respect !


Posted March 28, 2003

Paradise is a wonderful school and I am thankful everyday that I dont have to send my kids to school in the Dysart system.


Posted February 28, 2003

I think Paradise Education Center excels at trying to meet all the individual needs of the students. They continue to grow each year, which increases the family environment they have established on campus.


Posted October 15, 2002

This is a great school with small class sizes.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A47%
Female 55%N/A49%
Male 45%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15533 W. Paradise Ln.
Surprise, AZ 85374
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 975-2646

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT