Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

750 students|Success School
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
82 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 101 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arizona Charter Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Lee!! She is amazing!!! Mrs. Lee TRULY cares about her students education and that each student thrives and is prepared for the next level. I can't thank her enough for all of her help and time.

Arizona Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
Some of the teachers are extremely helpful with my special needs child, but some tend to just throw work at the students while the teacher sits at his computer for an hour.


Arizona Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
Last year it would take 3 to 4 hours for my kids to get their homework done. This year they have a class that they can finish homework in so they can actually have a life outside of school.

Arizona Charter Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
The staff does not focus on students having determination, grit, and persistence. Confidence has been lacking in my children thanks to this.

Arizona Charter Academy
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
Schools minority sets the pace. Respect from some of the teachers, but 90% of the students do not know the meaning of respect and should be taught not only by the staff, but their parents!!!


Arizona Charter Academy
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
Some teachers express compassion and some teachers yell at the students. Other teachers punish the entire class when one student screws up. Not fare since the one student continues to screw up.

Arizona Charter Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
The bullying is not controlled. Staff and principal just brushes the issues under the table.

Arizona Charter Academy 3

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
As a parent of two children in this school and one with special needs and in the IEP program I am calling this school AVERAGE. Many of the teachers are great but the principal needs to get off her soap box and stop yelling at the kids AND the parents. My daughter is afraid to go to the front office because the staff is so mean and rude to her. Every time I have been there they have been disrespectful to me (a parent) as well. Apparently bossing around children makes them feel empowered. Bullying is not handled well and my kids have to just deal with is and avoid the bullies as much as possible because the staff just ignores it. On the flip side, there are some great teachers and staff there that have paid special attention to helping my daughter and her grades have improved. Some of the teachers are very friendly and actually care, but there are a a small few that just don't have their heart in it. This school also likes to take A LOT of extra days off for teacher prep days which is extremely difficult for parents to work around (No bus system since it is a charter school). The teachers also do not utilize the on-line system that was supposed to help the parents see what homework was due and what they were learning in class. Aside from the Principal and front office staff, I am pleased to know my kids have great teachers; I just wish it wasn't so difficult to find out how well my kids were doing BEFORE parent teacher conferences and that the front office staff would be considerate and respectful of the students and parents. Note: Beware....People were told to give 5 star reviews from the administration of this school so their rating would look better.


Arizona Charter Academy 5

Posted March 25, 2015
- a teacher
I feel honored to work for a school like ACA! The individualized attention given by the teachers is exceptional. The administration team is hands on and couldn't be more passionate about each and every single students success. It's like a family here. A family that does everything it can to help each other succeed. I recommend this school to everyone!

Arizona Charter Academy 1

Posted February 08, 2015
- a parent
My children have attended ACA during elementary and now high school. When my children transitioned into the high school I was greatly disappointed and still am. All of the high school teachers actually care about the students. The problem I have seen is with the administration staff. The high school is ran like a business instead of a school, students are bullied and nothing is done, the sports program is a joke (sports is a large part of a 'real' A rated high school), and the principal refuses to take parent calls or return her emails regarding serious issues. The sad thing is that now the students are all being told the football program is being cancelled, and possibly the baseball program. The high school students and incoming freshmen students are devastated that they cannot play high school football. In our opinion, if you really care about the students in the high school and you really are a so called "A" rated school, then act like it! Give these students the total high school experience, with academics, sports, clubs, and a nurturing environment! Answer your emails, phone calls, and listen to the voices of your students, they are our future leaders!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arizona Charter Academy
16011 N. Dysart Rd., Surprise, AZ  85374
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 101 reviews. (623) 974-4959
Last modified Arizona Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top