Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Calibre Academy of Surprise

Charter | K-8 | 650 students

We are best known for emphasis on strong academics.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 16 ratings
2013:
Based on 21 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted May 28, 2013

Calibre has just finished a successful school year. We have seen huge academic growth in all of our students. This year we expanded the campus to double the capacity and added a beautiful gymnasium and cafeteria, as well as grassy fields to support our expanding athletics program. We anticipate an amazing 2013-14 school year!

135 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2012

I have 2 children in Carden. We most likely will NOT be back next year! I am school shopping! My son has been there for 3 years and every year has been a disappointment and I'm finally fed up. Since Kindergarten, my son has had a new teacher that has either been new to teaching (fresh out of school) or new to teaching that grade. A new teacher right out of school for a year here and there is not bad, but a new teacher to teaching every year gets real old real quick @ my son's expense! Trust me it gets old when its every year. So when you have a new teacher, just when the teachers get good they leave because alot of them are not happy there. Even when I told them I want a guarantee of a 'seasoned' teacher for next year, they can't make that promise. The never ending need to hit parents up for money never ceases to amaze me. They don't take field trips hardly at all because no bus driver. The one field trip my daughter has will cost me 17.50. The communication from teacher to student needs to be improved on...they rely too much on 6 and 7yrs old to articulate the details on how to do the homework. We have yet to see this buidling they've been prominsing for years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

My son attended Carden in the 8th grade. The International Baccalaureate (IB) program is amazing. It helped him to think globally. The teachers at Carden truly care about the students. My son loved the interactive hands-on learning. Carden s anti-bullying policy is amazing especially in the upper grades. The administrative staff is extremely welcoming and I love the open door policy the school has. I highly recommend this school and refer many parent to Carden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

As with any situation, a parent must make the decision that is right for them and for their child. For my family, Carden is the right choice. I have two children, both with IEPs, and the care and attention given to them by both the special needs dept and their teachers (including the whole team) is something I can't put a cost to. Leaps and bounds better than any other school in this area that I've tried. Are there issues? Yes - what school *doesn't* have them? But, as an involved parent, I take the time to make phone calls, have meetings, and ask tons of questions. Carden is a special school - the teachers, aids, and admin staff are there to help the students. This is a way of life for them, and they are trying to have an impact on young lives. In my opinion, that's a lot better than being there because it's just a paycheck. I would recommend Carden to anyone. Take a look, and see if it's right for you. It may or may not be - only you can make that choice. But, keep an open mind and remember that a school is only going to be as good as what you emotionally put into it. This is your child's future - you need to work towards it, not sit back and let the teachers do it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

We love Carden! My son has attended since pre-school and is now in second grade. Carden has a gifted program that is wonderful and I do believe he is in this class because of the attention from his previous teachers. They care about the students and keep the parents involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2010

This school is only good if your child is gifted because they only care about there test results. If your child happens to be a little behind or in need of a little extra help this school will shun them. I think it is sad my one gifted son does great at a school like Carden but my other son who learns a little differently is pushed away. What does that say for the charactor of this school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

We love this school!! My daughter started here this fall and I am quite impressed. The principal and staff is awesome. There are so many different programs. As a military family that moves every 2 years, my daughter has already experienced many different public school environments. This is by far the best. Thank you Carden!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2010

Very good school. Helpful Staff, and the fact that they have a uniform policy helps the students focus, no worries about cliques etc. The programs are challenging but the children are walked through them as needed. Great area as well. One little complaint is that they do seem to be focused a little too much on promotions of the school, which in turn makes them seem a bit too concerned about monetary gain from the attendance of extra students. Do they really have to wear a logo on the shirt? why?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2010

I have 3 kids that all attend Carden. They all started in kindergarten, none of them had attended any preschool. They all have done very well, always on honor roll. The teachers are wonderful. Yes, there has been alot of turnover with the teachers but some of them left due to family illnesses, some moved out of state, some had babies they wanted to stay home with. You can't blame the school for any of that. Bottom line is, my kids are getting an excellent education, far better than any public school. We love Carden and our kids will continue to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

We LOVE Carden of Surprise! My daughter excelled in Kindergarten. We will continue to make the drive now that we have moved to ensure she stays in such a good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

Carden School is not the great school that probably used to be. Many changes of principals and teachers, second and third grade. They are more worried of saving money than hiring aid teachers to help kids. My son was in that group and they put him with a woman that is not a teacher and she was yelling to him, when she should be helping him. This is a money making machine and all the time are asking parents for donations in any way. They don't have nurse and aid teachers. By the way, I wrote before my review, but I don't see my notes... Please tell the truth to parents that we are trusting this website for advise about schools in Arizona.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

My son has attended Carden for the last 2 years and we couldn't be more pleased. Due to some special needs, he has required additional help and services and the entire staff has been wonderful to work with. When we go into an IEP meeting, a whole team is there, ready with ideas, willing to participate and prepared to do anything they can to help our son succeed. Thanks Carden!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

The PTO at this school has been the best I have ever seen. The group of women they had the last few years were horrible. They had no idea what they were doing and completely on a power trip. Great improvement. The school need a lot of help and they do a good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

Show me something perfect and I will show you that is not the case.Nothing in life is about perfection and everything about subjective opinions based on individual experiences and specific circumstances.And from that very personal place is that I am voicing my opinion about Carden.This school has quickly become our second home,in other words it has become a place where learning occurs in a caring,safe and commited environment.My son is a happy student and classmate who is learning and having fun at the same time,and as a mother I have found my own place by helping and assisting whenever needed.Everytime I have had the need to share my concerns with school representatives(including the principal) I felt welcome to do so.Everybody is very personable and easy to approach.For as long as my child goes to school with a smile on his face Carden will remain our school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

I was thrilled with this school for the first couple of years my son attended. Unfortunately, I have been disappointed 2 years in a row now! Poor communication and lack of follow up from administration and a terrible choice in teachers by the school. I am sure the really 'gifted kids' are really challenged, I know the average kids are NOT. We will definitely be choosing another school that will give my child the challenge and encouragement he needs and better communication between staff and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

I love to read all the reviews from people that complain....if there were more people that found out the reasons why things happen the way they do....people would understand what makes a school work. I have been at Carden for 5 years now...is it perfect, no....what school is? I find comfort in the fact that my kids learn and are happy. I have a son in the gifted program and a son that is your typical type of student. All aspects of learning are covered at Carden. We have a phenominal Gifted Coordinator that pushes to make everyone around her a better person. Teachers and Administration that do the best with what they have. But when it comes to areas that need work....parents need to be more involved. Its so much easier to criticise others when you dont know what's involved. I am happy to have the choice of Charter
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

This school has major communcation issues between staff and administration and staff and parents. You can never seem to get a straight answer from anyone. Meetings were made weeks in advance between princpal, teacher, parent to have the principal not show.


Posted January 8, 2010

So disappointing to see a school that had so much potential go down the drain in just a few months. My son has attended since preschool and now is in his third yr at Carden, what a difference a year makes. Unfortunately Carden lost a good amount of teachers over the summer and now we are left with new teachers who are receiving no direction. We have no communication from the school on things that are going on unless it s from the PTO asking for money again that most likely will be used to buy that team dinner or coffee. With all the money the school asks for its parents to donate you would think we could at minimum get a nurse to care for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

This school is the best!! The teachers really care about the kids. The kids are challanged and the communication is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2009

Use extreme caution when choosing this school!!! This school is lacking in so many areas including its unmotivated teachers and numerous principals. My children are not being challenged at all, so such for their vigorous curriculum. I am pulling them out after winter break.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

This school as really come a long way. We have a great principle. The teaching staff is the best I have ever seen. The new PTO officers are doing a fabulous job. The kids are happy. The new phase of the building construction is going to begin soon. They are the ONLY IB World learner school in AZ for a middle school. The office staff is top notch. What more could you want?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • First Middle years IB program in Arizona (2009)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Curtis Garnder
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
  • www.calibreacademy.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 556-2806

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
  • Mathematics
  • Service learning
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Model UN
  • Science club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Lower class sizes. Art, Music, P.E., Technology and Spansih Academic field trips and activitites. Hot lunch program Academic Intervention programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
650
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
650
Students typically come from these schools
Most schools in the Dysart School District

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Willow Canyon
Valley Vista
Shadow Ridge
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15688 West Acoma Lane
Surprise, AZ 85379
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 556-2179

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT