Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Calibre Academy of Surprise

Charter | K-8 | 650 students

We are best known for emphasis on strong academics.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 16 ratings
2013:
Based on 21 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted May 28, 2013

Calibre has just finished a successful school year. We have seen huge academic growth in all of our students. This year we expanded the campus to double the capacity and added a beautiful gymnasium and cafeteria, as well as grassy fields to support our expanding athletics program. We anticipate an amazing 2013-14 school year!

135 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2009

Amazing!! This school is a close knit group of teachers, parents & students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

I would use extreme caution when choosing this school. There is a lack of consistancy when it comes to discipiline, grading and structure. My child came home every day feeling defeated even though my child is an A student. We will not be sending our child back to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

Looking forward to a new school year. My kids are doing great. Fabulous teachers. Really looking forward to the new Booster officers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

Though, there may be issues with administration and the owners, the teachers are what makes the school awesome. They work hard to provide the best education for those kids, regardless of resources available to them. Your child is much better off here then any ditrict school.


Posted June 29, 2009

The middle school years program is fantastic. The teachers work very well together to provide the highest in skill and character. You would not be making a poor choice to let your child attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

I would use extreme caution when choosing this school. The administration is horrible, the owners seem to only care about the bottom line, and the do not appreciate or support their staff in any way.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 15, 2009

Carden is a wonderful learning community. All the teachers are great. The front office is amazing. The principal and assitant prinicpal take the time to know the students and are visible all of the time. Keep up the amazing job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

We have been a Carden family for seven years. My two oldest children were very prepared for high school. In fact they have taken honors and AP classes. My youngest child is doing well. Carden has proved year after year that they care about the students and they push the students to their full capability. Any family looking for a wonderful school, Carden is your choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

My daughter just finished 5th grade & we were happy with most everything this year. It seemed to be a difficult year for her, but she had a wonderful teacher that helped her out a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

my son hoes here and he loves it the what manners they teach my son and the other kids are great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

My son has just finished kidergarten at Carden. He started when he was 4 years old, when he was unable to go to public school. His teacher was outstanding and gave him an excellent start to his acedmic future. He was taught and exceed the states expectations, along with develping great social skills We look forward to returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

I also agree, my son is in 2nd grade and his teacher has made this year at Carden a wonderful year. He is now reading at grade level and now we see he has had a break through with his writing. If it was not for this school and Mrs. Vance his teacher we do not know what we would have done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

My son started kindergarden here at Carden he is now in 2nd grade and has improved so much this school year. The parents here are very involved which makes it easier for the teachers. I have talked to other parents from other schools and found that Carden is way more advanced. I strongly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

I have been a teacher for twenty-three years. I was an educator in Peoria and Pendergast school districts prior to coming to Carden. In all those years I have never worked with a more qualified, dedicated group of educators then here at Carden! I am priviledged to call them my colleagues and friends. Leah S. Bowers IBMYP/Gifted Coordinator here at Carden.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 24, 2009

I strongly believe if you do not have a good teacher it will make or break your childs education. I had good teachers for the first 2 yrs. now i have consent problems with this teacher. My child has always gotten A-B's but now lacking in reading. I have to corner the teacher for her to even talk to me. I just want the best education for my child. Now 2 months before school is out i was told that they just figured out my child is not at grade level for reading. My child is behind 1 year! All this time i have been very active with my childs education. My child can read but since i have not been trained in know what level she is actually at. Now i have to pay for a tutor this summer. Little late to be telling me now!!! unhappy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

My daughter attended for nearly two years in pre-school and it was awesome. She will be attending Kindergarten this year. She has learned and known so much since the age of 2 1/2 years. Her Teacher and assistant are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

This school is great for all students. I have a student that is so far outside of the box and the teachers and administrators work really well with him. I have been very grateful for the guidance that he has received. The academics are remarkable. He is so much farther ahead then his friends that are in the public schools. The teachers are amazing. They work so well with all of the students. They teach to very high standards. Carden is a highly performing school and I can see this first hand. The front office, teachers, administrators and everyone else on the Carden campus is awesome! Keep up the amazing work for our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

I think this school is great if you have a child that fits in the 'box' of a child that is just going to sit in their seats and do as they are told. If you have a child that thinks outside of the box forget it. Thier zero tollerance policy is teaching kids to be sissies and not deal with life issues. I agree completely with the other postings, you are not heard as a parent, its what they think happened in certain situations. My son got suspended for a week for throwing a football at a boy who didnt catch it. During that suspension he missed finals. A bit harsh I think and they are only setting him up for failure. I think the downfall is that the actual principal for some reason is never involved anymore. I am trying to find him somewhere else to go now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

My child has been attending for the past few years. Our daughter had special needs that were addressed from the very start by the entire staff. They seem genuinely invested in her education and progress. No school is perfect. If you were to ask parents of other local schools, the turnover rate is high there, as well. Carden does a great job of trying to meet the needs of everyone, and that is hard to do. I have very high expectations for the school we choose to send our child to. Quality of education comes first, and Carden more than measures up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

Sadly, after several years I removed my children from this school this year. They have lost many great teachers and do little to retain them. Late contracts compared to the other schools leave some teachers no choice. They don't want to work with any child that might be difficult or going through trying times. I had tried going to the principal with poor results as teachers are always right. Some of the longer tenured teachers were previously allowed to 'pick' their students so new teachers got to work with the students that were handfuls leading the students and new teachers to failure. I do understand this year that has changed but at the cost to my kids education. They are flourishing at another school now.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • First Middle years IB program in Arizona (2009)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Curtis Garnder
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
  • www.calibreacademy.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 556-2806

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
  • Mathematics
  • Service learning
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Model UN
  • Science club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Lower class sizes. Art, Music, P.E., Technology and Spansih Academic field trips and activitites. Hot lunch program Academic Intervention programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
650
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
650
Students typically come from these schools
Most schools in the Dysart School District

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Willow Canyon
Valley Vista
Shadow Ridge
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15688 West Acoma Lane
Surprise, AZ 85379
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 556-2179

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT