Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Calibre Academy of Surprise

Charter | K-8 | 650 students

We are best known for emphasis on strong academics.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 19 ratings
2013:
Based on 20 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted May 28, 2013

Calibre has just finished a successful school year. We have seen huge academic growth in all of our students. This year we expanded the campus to double the capacity and added a beautiful gymnasium and cafeteria, as well as grassy fields to support our expanding athletics program. We anticipate an amazing 2013-14 school year!

137 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2008

My child has been attending for the past few years. Our daughter had special needs that were addressed from the very start by the entire staff. They seem genuinely invested in her education and progress. No school is perfect. If you were to ask parents of other local schools, the turnover rate is high there, as well. Carden does a great job of trying to meet the needs of everyone, and that is hard to do. I have very high expectations for the school we choose to send our child to. Quality of education comes first, and Carden more than measures up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

Sadly, after several years I removed my children from this school this year. They have lost many great teachers and do little to retain them. Late contracts compared to the other schools leave some teachers no choice. They don't want to work with any child that might be difficult or going through trying times. I had tried going to the principal with poor results as teachers are always right. Some of the longer tenured teachers were previously allowed to 'pick' their students so new teachers got to work with the students that were handfuls leading the students and new teachers to failure. I do understand this year that has changed but at the cost to my kids education. They are flourishing at another school now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

My kids have been going to Carden for 4 years nw. They did teach french untill last year. Many parents, me included thought that this was a waste of the kids school time, and that spanish would be a better choice, given that spanish helps when getting future jobs and french does not. The teach spanish to the middle school kids now, but not to the younger kids. I think the change is great but that they should also include the elementary ages as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

Carden is a great school to go to except 3rd,4th,6th,7th,8th have moblie homes and 5th grade have rooms indoors which Carden has to deal with.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2008

Interesting, Carden advertised offering French, including in their student orientations...only to find out, there is no foreign language offered at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

I have one child that has graduated and another who will this year. Combined they have attended Carden since 6th grade. While there are a few things the school is lacking such as a cafeteria, I think that out weighs the fact that the classrooms are small enough that children are offered the opportunity to actually learn something and be challenged. My kids have been in charter school their whole education minus one year in a dysart district school that had 47 kids to one teacher. The middle school core teachers communicate well with one another and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My kids went to this school for 4 years. The school gradually got worse. When an issue with a teacher would come up it would be blamed on the child. I pulled my kids out. I had teachers from Carden telling me about the 'inside scoop'. I did not want to be a part of that school any longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

I like this school. My child has been attending since kindergarten. The class sizes are smaller than traditional school and the curriculum is challenging for him. We love the arts emphasis and french class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

I recently removed my child from this school as the communication between teachers and parents was lacking. I was surprises by this as his previous two years at this school was great. I really believe that it depends on the teachers. Unfortunately we met up with the lacking teachers this year. In addition, the principle did not even question why we were leaving. This leads me to believe there are others who have left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

I am a little shocked to read some of these reviews! I was a teacher at Carden for four years and in response to the comments for those years, I am a bit taken aback. Each teacher runs his/her classroom differently. Parents must understand this. Ability grouping is the best way to go, otherwise your child will not be receiving the differentiated instruction that is part of the charter! All schools go through rough patches, and I can tell you that it was just as hard for the teachers starting in modulars in Glendale as it was for the parents/students. Starting a new school is not easy, and I am disappointed that so many parents (and teachers, I was one of the naive ones) are/were negative about this school. True, everyone has a different experience, but give them some credit! Great school, I loved it there and miss it!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 30, 2007

Who cares if they have classrooms in portables! The question is, are they learning? The answer to that is yes. And each year the scores seem to improve. So as a parent, I would like a building for all the students, but my main concern is education! I feel that Carden does provided the best education possible for my child. I love it here and my children will continue to go here for as long as they can. The teachers are awesome and the parent support is amazing! I could not ask for a better school for my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

I am not happy with Carden because the first thing that was offered was French and it has been cancelled. There is also much disorgaization from the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

Love the school and everything that it has to offer to students! The only issue I have is that when my child was checked out by her grandparents, the front office did not ask for identification. Not only did that bother me, it concerned her grandparents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

My children have been going to Carden-Surprise for a few years now. I have one in Third and one in First. I love the staff they are always professional and the teachers are wonderful. By children have accomplished so much at Carden, I wouldn't think of putting them anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

My kids are going to a different school this year and I cannot believe the difference. They are actually in a class room,not a portable. The school they are at now is run very professionally unlike Carden. 3rd grade was great there, but anything after that was terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

Carden has been a great school. My children have attended the school for two years. Carden has always been very helpful when it came to questions or concerns that I have regarding my child's education. The teachers work hard at making sure that I always know what is going on in the classroom. I had a concern with another child at one time because they were harassing my student. The principal was extremely helpful in resolving the issue and we have had no further problems. The teachers and staff work together to make this school a very welcoming place for myself and children. I have referred many of my neighbors to this school and would highly recommend it to other families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

After a lot of research within the Dysart school district, Carden was the best in many categories. Higher test scores then p.E.C. They have just the right amount of homework and wonderful teachers. The ladies in the front office are wonderful. After only a month i have already noticed a big change in what my child has learned. Just look at all the results.I would highly recommend to any parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

The teachers and academics are great, but the principal is not willing to work with parents at all. I'm very disappointed in her leadership. I think there needs to be a change if they want to keep students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I hate the fact that the kid have to learn in the trailors. They also don't have room for a nurses office. So where do these kid rest when they are sick and waiting for a parent to pick them up? I am very upset at the way this school runs things. No room for extended care, they don't attend to children that have reading, writing, math etc. disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

Most of the teachers were great. We hated the trailers in the back. There is no cafeteria. The principals have been terrible. There is no parent participation. We did not stay there for long.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • First Middle years IB program in Arizona (2009)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Curtis Garnder
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
  • www.calibreacademy.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 556-2806

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
  • Mathematics
  • Service learning
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Model UN
  • Science club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Lower class sizes. Art, Music, P.E., Technology and Spansih Academic field trips and activitites. Hot lunch program Academic Intervention programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
650
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
650
Students typically come from these schools
Most schools in the Dysart School District

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Willow Canyon
Valley Vista
Shadow Ridge
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15688 West Acoma Lane
Surprise, AZ 85379
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 556-2179

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT