Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ashton Ranch Elementary School

Public | K-8 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

54 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2014

I must say that having attended this school for half a year, I was thoroughly disappointed. I hardly knew the principal and the school work was too easy with lenient grading scales. There was way too much bullying and too many cliques with little school diversity and although there were 'Character Cards' there was never a cap on the bullying or irresponsible behavior. There was too many 'fun days' and 'Character Party' days where little to no work was done. I loved the teachers though.


Posted April 24, 2014

My school is so energetic that helps us as students to care about our future. Ashton Ranch helps us reach our goals everyday.


Posted January 14, 2014

My daughter has attended Ashton Ranch for the past 3 years. I have found that the school has its ups and downs but not any different from other schools in the surrounding areas. There are plenty of extra curricular activities for all ages to participate in. The 7th grade team stays after school to provide extra help to any student that needs it. My duaghter has grown a great deal academically and has made some amazing friends along the way. The majority of the families that attend Ashton Ranch are involved parents in their child life and pay attention to what is going on, making it nice that my daughter was able to meet people with the same parental background. We are unfortunately moving this summer and will greatly miss Ashton Ranch, if you are looking for an involved school, with great academic success, you will be very Happy with Ashton Ranch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

I have been a proud parent since 2009. Dr. Stoeve is a stern but compassionate principal who wants only to improve the academic and social lives of each and every child in the school while striving to move the children in becoming 21 century learners. The teachers are dedicated individuals that seek to empower the children. The office staff, while small for such a high volume school, is extremely courteous, professional and efficient. I came from another school in the district where the PTA was dysfunctional at best. Here, the PTA is strong. These ladies are fantastic. There are so many different fun opportunities for families to come out and spend time together. My husband has taken my daughter to the father and daughter dances for the last 2 years and both my daughter and husband could not believe how beautiful it was. My children love their teachers and the school. There is a Drama and Art afterschool program where the kids can. Everyone in the school works well together. My only concern is that there isn't enough parental participation. My children's teachers tell me often that they have no volunteers to help out. What a shame!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

Ashton Ranch is a great school. The Administrator is a great leader and has done wonders with this school. It's rather unfortunate that some take his concern, structure and attention to detail as a negative aspect; when in fact he's the driving force of moving Ashton Ranch forward to being and "A" school. The front office staff is friendly, efficient and helpful in light of the fact they not only support the almost 80 + faculty and staff, but the parents/guardians of over almost 1,100 students. My hat goes off them and all of the professionals who work tirelessly to motivate our students both now and for the future.


Posted July 24, 2013

I am impressed with the overall learning environment of the school. I am however disappointed with the lack of parent volunteers. No one could ever keep me from volunteering in a school where my very own children attend. That's just ridiculous. Parents sit back and complain an awful lot but I say...be part of the solution and not part of the problem...,VOLUNTEER, attend meetings, become active at the school. These are our kids. Let's how them how to work together for the betterment of the future. Remember they learn by example.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

This school is terrible... Dr. Stove is a jerk and doesn't even care about the students unless they get good AIMS scores. I do not like the office ladies... They have no personality. Signing a child out is horrid. The nurse is mean to my child.... I am very annoyed with this whole school. My little girl just got out of Kindergarten and her teacher was mean and very rude. I am not planning on sending any of my kids here. I am very annoyed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

My children attended for 2 years and I am soooo happy they will be attending a different school in the fall. Dr. Stoeve is a pompous jerk, he doesn't care about the students at all, he only cares about test scores and the money the school receives. The front office ladies are not friendly or welcoming at all, and getting involved with the PTA is nearly impossible. The only good thing about this school is the teachers, they are excellent but so terribly oppressed by Dr. Stoeve and his ridiculous policies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

The majority of kids at this school seem to be extremely disrespectful. Bullying is definately an issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2012

Lacking communication from staff. Have not heard from anyone at the school. Would like more information.


Posted August 10, 2011

Principal is a joke at this school. Extremely rude and arrogant to any parent he encounters. We are new to the district and have been shocked at the disrespectful treatment we have seen towards parents and students by the principal just in the first few days. It is obvious he cares nothing about the education of the children. The teachers seem very nice so far but restricted by his poor leadership. We are quickly looking for Charter or private schools as an alternative. Shame on the district for putting this unprofessional clown in charge this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

My children have attended the school for the past 4 years. I am happy to see how the school has progressed in all areas. The PTA has improved from year to year, focusing on families and having the children get the best experience they can. Under the principals direction and guidance the teachers have stepped up their skills and have shown improvement by their test scores. The office staff is efficient and friendly. The school has gotten better and better each year. Many who have left want and do end up coming back. There's no place like The Ranch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

My child has attended this school for 2 years now. The principal is only concerned with test scores. He moves teachers to different grades every year against their wishes. The staff is very unhappy under his direction. I work in the school every week in all different areas. Parents & staff have told me that they wish the principal would move on to another school. He would make a much better high school principal instead of k-8. I know for a fact this year that there are some really good teachers looking for new positions outside of Ashton Ranch in hopes of getting away from the principal. We are looking to move our child out of the school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

The principal here is excellent. Some of the students are intimidated by him, but they should be. He's nice, but he's not there to be their best friend. The teacher's are excellent too. The librarian is absolutely wonderful; the best in the district. This school offers a variety of after school activities ranging from sports to art to drama club. The school's drama club started up a few years ago, and it has grown tremendously. The club puts on excellent productions every year now. The directors are definitely talented, and the students are amazing. The PTA is quite supportive. I have heard that parents have moved within the schools area because they wanted their children to go to this school!


Posted November 4, 2010

The classes are are over crowded. The office ladies are not welcoming at all. When you walk in no one smiles and Dr. Stoeve hascome out to the front office before and never smiles or says hello. The ladies act like you are interrupting them. And never smile. They need more of a outgoing personality in there and I have said that about 4 years ago. Still they have new people but not nicer ones. One person has always been friendly and outgoing is Mr. Shouse. Walking in the front office does change the mood very much I usually end up in a unhappy and sad person when I leave the office. And now they have. new furniture and that does not change the mood at all. To bad they couldnt buy nicer personalities. [
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2010

My son has attended Ashton Ranch for just over two years. He loves his teachers. The only down fall is the outdoor curriculum. I feelt the children should have more outside time, however that is a dystric thing, not a school problem. Great prinipal, great teachers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

I just want to commend all the staff at Ashton Ranch for a great job they do, especially the office staff they are very accommodating many times they have gone out of their way to help me and my children. I'm looking forward to another wonderful year with the Ashton Ranch team. Way to go Dr Stoeve and Mr Shouse and office staff. Have a great Summer!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

i have been very disappointed in this school. I don't like the front desk they are rude. the teachers are not supportive and the classes are way overstaff. I do not care for their policies and they are not striving for the best education for my children. I will be moving my children out next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

I am very displeased with how are principal handles the school, he was just supposed to be a sub until we got an new principal, but nooo i hope we get a new one!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2008

This school majors in minors but has no plan of action for important issues, like bullying or programs for kids who need extra help. This year was a nightmare. We won't be back next year. :(
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Hispanic 24% 43%
Black 8% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14898 W. Acoma Drive
Surprise, AZ 85379
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 876-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT