Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marley Park Elementary School

Public | K-8 & ungraded | 910 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2014

This school and the administration is a BIG JOKE! WHO CARES your an A+ school, when a majority of the teachers there HATE THEIR JOBS, which is so obvious- and the poor kids get the brunt of it all! Teachers walk out in the middle of class because they are so fed up. My daughter had 4 (seriously 4 different teachers) in second grade because they all KEPT QUITTING!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2014

We had the best teachers this last year! Sad to see the school year end. Good teachers and curriculum are so important to great learning, but parental involvement is also crucial. When parents and teachers work together , great things happen. I feel like that was our experience at Marley Park this last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2014

My son attended Marley Park his Kindergarten year. His teacher was not the best. She is the reason why I removed my child from that school. Poor kids. The teacher was not patient, yelled at the kids, and often complained my son had to "slow" down because he was always finished first... (He is very smart) My son attended the year his teacher started teaching... I wonder if she had any OJT because she was a HORRIBLE teacher. His teacher helped me on my decision to pull my son out of the Dysart district and on to a charter school. I am not impressed with this school at ALL. It looks pretty on the outside, but if they hire teachers like her- I am not interested. Now all my kids attend Calibre Traditional school and is challenged daily- unlike Marley Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2014

I have a child in the Cambridge program which everyone seems to believe is 'elite' and treated better than everyone else. The kids who are not in the Cambridge program treat the Cambridge students as if they're the odd ones out. It makes them feel like they aren't normal and that they're weird. My kid doesn't feel like they need their approval because they've been in Cambridge long enough to stop caring what the other kids think of them but what about the younger kids just going into 6th grade Cambridge? They're being separated from they're friends just like when Cambridge was first introduced. Plus, the teachers are not interactive at all. They want kids to ask questions but if they ask the wrong one, the teachers make them feel dumb for not already knowing. Especially some teachers that talk to the students with attitude and unnecessary sass
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

Can't wait to get our daughter out of here. Teachers are completely unconnected, leadership as presented to the parents is nonexistant. Child complains about teachers inability to teach. Teachers don't respond to emails/phone calls. Had to go into the office to demand our report card which was never delivered. We live in Marley Park and have since been scouting out local charter schools. We inquired about the Cambridge program here and were brushed off. Our daughters class room is completely overran by the disruptive students. Chalk another one up to the Dysart school district I guess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

My son is in K and just started going here. He loves it, his teacher is awesome!! I am very happy with the school so far. Only thing that is a little hectic is the pick up and drop off, but what school isn't for kids that don't take the bus? Staff is nice and professional, test scores are high, rated A, what's not to like?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2013

I just found this site to search for a 'great' school for my 2 children now attending Marley Park. Wow! I too have become very unsatisfied with Marley Park. It was a so, so school but now my 2 kids are entering 6th grade and were not selected to be a part of their 'elite' Cambridge Academy. Cambridge is suppose to be for the entire school, not to separate, as a previous parent posted, the self proclaimed 'elite' from the other students. My kids make the grades, have the motivation, as much as the students who were selected for the Cambridge Academy hosted at Marley Park. I will probably be enrolling them in a nearby school that uses the Cambridge Curriculum school wide. There definitely seems to be a 'have' and 'have not' separation among the students. I can't afford to move from Marley Park Community, but I'm looking into a different school. Pains my soul for my girls that they feel excluded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2013

Marley Park is a 'community' school within the Dysart Unified School District. Don't let the term 'community' fool you. It is in need of much help in the areas of bullying, curriculum, quality teachers, and fairness. We are moving out of Marley Park community and renting our house out. We will rent a house in an area with better schools and better neighbors. We should have done our homework before purchasing. So, if you are thinking of purchasing or renting a home here thinking 'how nice to have a community school' don't buy into that concept. Do your homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Overcrowded and will become worse with many new homes popping up in the community. Drop off and pick up crazy which will become worse. Small town clickish mentality amongst staff, students, and families...too many teachers have their own kids attend which fuels the small town clickishness of being either "in" or "out." Much recognition of students is based on this, not by merit. Lots of self proclaimed elitism which causes many of the "out" students to experience rejection. Bullying exists amongst students (and staff) but most is covert and goes either unnoticed or ignored. Teachers talk badly and openly about students and their families in the lounge, library, just about anywhere which breaks the law... If you are a staff member's child probably a great experience for you, but I know many students who are or have been miserable here...many students have left the school. They were walkers but now have to be driven by their parents or ride their bikes to another school. If you've ever lived in a small clickish town and dealt with its one and only school...this school is much like that! Room for MUCH improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

Student to teacher ratio is too high which is resulting in the motivated children being "dumbed down". Pick up and drop off times are a catastrophe - not enough reasonable parking, rude crossing gaurds, ignorant teachers acting as traffic controllers - completely unorganized. Student sign out is un-secure. This school is a mess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2012

My daughter has attended this school since 2nd grade currently heading to 6th grade, and I love it! The teachers and staff are great! My son is about to start his first year as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

This is our first year here but we are very happy so far. My daughter is in the Cambridge Academy program and it is wonderful! The teachers are awesome and very engaging. In addition, I don't see tons of useless homework coming home which is sometimes piled on "advanced" kids. The front office staff is really friendly too. Don't know much about the principal though...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

My husband and I are pleased with marley park. This is my son's 2nd year there. He had an awesome 3rd grade teacher (Mrs. Tarelton) and now has another awesome teacher in 4th grade (Mrs. Sinex) My son has had excelent instruction from his teachers and he is very happy there. Mr. Nevers has been quick to handle any problems that arise and the staff in the front office is friendly. My child has made many friends ay Marley Park and still checks in with his 3rd grade teacher to say hi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

Marley Park is a great school. We are from the Dupage County area of Chicago and would put this school on par with any school there. Our 2nd and 4th grade kids have been challenged and the teachers push each kid at the appropriate level. This is the place to be and the surrounding neighborhood and homes are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Coming from CA and thinking our schools were suffering,I have to say I was shocked to find Marley Park to be a great disappointment. Parents of younger children k-5, seem to be satisfied with the teachers, however the middle school grades 6-8, especially 6th are less than desirable. The teachers are overwhelmed, thus putting less time & energy into our kids. Where is the love for teaching? Furthermore, the lack of support from the principal & vice-principal has been apparent from the beginning of the school year. They are missing the big picture. In order to groom our children, they need to create a good, positive environment . The kids aren't allowed to be and act like the 6th,7th, and 8th graders they are. This is a shame. This school used to be excelling, but now performing plus. Wonder why?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

The best school my kids have attended,by far. I have 5 students from K-8th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2007

Very high student to teacher ratio. I did not like it being K-8. All kids go in the same entrance at the same time. Little kids are scared walking in the middle of all the older students. We pulled our son out to homeschool, although we would prefer for him to be in school. I am a teacher and have always supported public schools, but moving from the midwest, I was shocked with the number of students in the class, the lack of developmental activities, and the burden upon the school to deal with the growth while trying to cooperate with the district. It seems to me that the principals should have more independence in making decisions for schools, but the district keeps a tight reign. This is not good. This is one of the best schools here, but we were very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

marley park is a great school. the teachers and staff are very dedicated to the students. the one thing that marley park lacks as many other schools in az do is special classes for the student who just needs alittle extra help. there have been teachers who sacrafice their time here and there to help out but there is not a program that is consistant to tutor kids who need help outside the classroom. having this at marley park would be so wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Marley Park is the best Elementary school in the Surprise area. This area is just developing and teachers want to teach at Marley. The female principal keeps good tight discipline and better than average learning quotas for AZ standards. Parent involvement is high at this Elementary in the area only from what I have seen and heard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

Great School! They always keep parents informed. The academics are fantastic. The staff is friendly and pleasant.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 42%
Hispanic 23% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 5% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15042 West Sweetwater Road
Surprise, AZ 85379
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 876-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Imagine Rosefield
Surprise, AZ




Rancho Gabriela
Surprise, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT