Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Rosefield

Charter | K-6 | 840 students

We are best known for Accelerated&Character Programs.

 
 

Living in Surprise

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 28 ratings
2013:
Based on 81 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

169 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

This is our third year at Rosefield and we love it! We started our daughter a year early and she is excelling academically. The teachers are great and Mr. Mecca is very supportive. We are very happy here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted yesterday

I think imagine rosefield is a wonderful school with amazing teachers and staff. My daughter loves this school and has shown growth in her academics since switched to imagine rosefield.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted yesterday

I have a 2nd grader and a Kindergartner and we couldn't be happier. This is our third year at this school and we have no complaints. I love that the school administration communicates with us often (sometimes twice a week) through email. The teachers we've had are exceptional. My kids are receiving an outstanding education. We love Imagine Rosefield!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted yesterday

Imagine Rosefield is a school that teaches character. something that is no longer taught in many homes accross the United States today. Character and education go hand in hand to prepare students for how to act in the real world. Employers are looking for students that have strong moral fiber, and I believe that Imagine Rosefield lays the groundwork for this growth. I am proud to be a Rosefield parent, to know that what I teach my son at home is reinforced by all the teachers at his school. This is a parent choice school and i stand by my choice to send my son here, to a place that he is held accountable at school as he is at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

I have 5 kids and we have been going to Rosefield since 2007. We absolutely love it. The teachers are amazing. They are talented educators but they also go above and beyond to take care of my kids, to love them and to make sure they are always challenged. The school provides art, PE, music and computer instruction as well as the core standards. Each grade level does a community service project every year which I think is an essential part to a good education. My kids are progressing in all areas of their lives and I love that. I also appreciate how family friendly the school is. The district schools in the area do not allow younger children to accompany parents for any reason including class presentations, celebrations and assemblies. I can bring my younger children with me when I visit the school. They are also very accepting of volunteers so I can be involved that way as well. The principles are visible and accessible. We could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

Our family loves imagine rosefield!!! We love the teachers!! They really care about their students. The parent-teacher communication is excellent! The minute you walk into the building the front office greets you with a smile. The field trips and extra curricular activities are fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

I was so excited when my kinder got into Rosefield! What a difference compared to Dysart! She adores her teachers, the uniforms are a great relief from having to figure out what to wear, principal is very involved, and it has the feel of a private school. So looking forward to the years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

We are in our fifth year at Imagine Rosefield. We thoroughly enjoy the school. The faculty shows genuine interest and enthusiasm for their students. It is a fun, nurturing environment for children to learn and grow in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

We have been at Rosefiled since December of last year. I was most impressed with the schools ability to recognize where my son was struggling and establish intervention within days of being at the school. My son went from a Kindergarten reading level to a 2nd grade reading level within 3 months (as a first grader) Our previous school had constantly told us (as parents) that clearly we were not reading with him at home. With intervention and continued reading at home our son has excelled. While I believe any school you look at will have strengths and challenges, Rosefield as a whole is a great fit for our children. They have several after school programs and do a great job getting kids involved in celebrating education and promoting school spirit. Fifth Grade began using Cornell note taking this year. I was excited about this since our children had used this previously. Front office staff is amazing. They greet you warmly are extremely helpful. The administration (Principal and Dean of Academics) have a strong presence on campus. There is daily interaction with them and I appreciate their accessibility. I would strongly recommend giving Rosefield a look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

This is a great school. My kids are happy and teachers work very hard to make sure the students succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

I was not happy with the public school my daughter was attending and I had my daughter start 3rd grade last year at Imagine Rosefield and I'm glad I did. The teachers truly care for the students and my daughter has shown improvement in her reading, writing, and match schools. My daughter and I love Imagine Rosefield and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

I love this school. My daughter is going there this year and she has a great teacher who is excellent at communicating with me, weekly updates from the principal, and overall much better organization than the public school she came from. I would recommend this school toaanyone with elementary school age children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

We are new to Imagine Rosefield this year and have been made to feel very welcomed. Before school even started I had went into the office to get some information and the front office staff already knew my sons name and wanted to learn to pronounce his last name. I enjoy the small family feeling and atmosphere, the principal is constantly seen with drop offs and pick ups helping the teachers and students. The PTO is responsive and helpful whenever I have contacted them. I love how attentive the teachers are to both parents and students. Its a completely different, warm feeling than the larger public schools! I cannot wait to enjoy the rest of the year... thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

love the school, great teachers!!! this is my daughters 2nd year here an she likes it alot
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Sunday, August 24, 2014

My daughter has been at Rosefield since Kindergarten and is now a 4th grader. I am very happy with the education she has been receiving and know she is safe and loved while at school. I highly recommend Rosefield to every family looking for a quality education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Sunday, August 24, 2014

Imagine Rosefield is my child's home a away from home. This is her third year and she continues to excel all while loving school. There's nothing more a parent could ask for. Staff is friendly and efficient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Sunday, August 24, 2014

My daughter started kindergarten this year and absolutely loves it. The teachers are very organized and have jumped right into the curriculum. So far we are happy with our decision to have our daughter attend here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Sunday, August 24, 2014

My previously homeschooled kids are attending school for the first time at Imagine Rosefield. My kids love it. Their teachers are sweet and extremely hard working. At drop off in the morning they are greeted with smiles and friendly faces. The teachers do a really good job at keeping parents in the loop and the curriculum is keeping my kids challenged. The staff is kind and I don't have the room to type all of my praises of the amazing school nurse who treats my children like they were her own. I am beyond happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Sunday, August 24, 2014

My son has attended Imagine for 3 years now and it has truly helped him with his learning progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Sunday, August 24, 2014

My daughter is in her 2nd year here and I absolutely love this school. There is no better place I would put her. I highly recommend this school for anyone, It's a great positive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Imagine School of the Year for Parent Choice and Character Development. Highly Performing School Designation from AZ L (2011)
  • National Imagine School of the Year for Character Development and Parent Choice. Highly Performing School Designation from AZ L (2011)
  • Performing Plus School Designation from AZ LEARNS. (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • James Mecca & Michael Brotherton
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 344-4310

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Kickball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Kickball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Imagine Middle School at Surprise
Imagine Prep at Surprise
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12050 N. Bullard Avenue
Surprise, AZ 85379
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 344-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rancho Gabriela
Surprise, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT