Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Middle at Surprise

Charter | 6-12 | 438 students

 
 

 
 

Living in Surprise

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2014

Love imagine rosefield..my kids have gone there for the past 3 years..great teachers and staff..thank you Rosefield for giving my children a great elementary experience..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2014

I love this school and more each and every day my daughter attends here. This is her first year at Imagine prep and I am soo thankful! Believe me I have done my homework on schools from the state report cards to the great school website and ya know something my kids attended a school that was a 9 of 10 on here and got an A report card from the state and ya know something it was the worst school I have ever had my kids in! This scoop is amazing the teachers are kind and helpful they'll contact you if you have any questions or concerns the office staff is attentive and whenever I have a question they're always ready to help and always speak so kindly of my daughter by name. I love this school and highly recommend it to parents considering it believe me I could've been to other places but I am so thankful God helped me pick this one it is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

So far very pleased with the safety, teachers, activities and challenging curriculum . My son is very happy there. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

Very sorry to see the middle school drop to a C (a whole grade level) with the new implementation of the Cambridge Program. Also very disappointed to see the average teacher has only 1 year experience.


Posted August 1, 2013

We have had a very positive experience with Imagine Prep middle school. They have been very accommodating with my daughters learning experience where the public schools were just going to stick her in with all the other kids her age. She has truly enjoyed the challenge they have presented her with and is ready for more challenges. I love that when we walk in they know who we are not just another number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

I enjoy this school and so do our kids. We plan on them to continue into high school here at Imagine Prep. The teachers care, they work to challenge all the kids according to their individual performance. Not too many schools can do that. The school has about 4-500 kids in all middle and high school combined. Love the small atmosphere. My kids enjoy the teachers and kids. It is great when my kids can actually say they enjoy school and want to achieve success in life because they see how much the teachers care about their academic success in preparing for life. Thanks Imagine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2011

I'm sure that they exist, but I could not "imagine" a worse place for my child to be educated. You and your child will sign a syllabus that outlines all of the academic and conduct expectations that your child should meet and will be strictly enforced by the staff. Yeah right... I fight at least three times a week with my child for violating the dress code because the faculty will not enforce it (makes you the bad guy). Though they tell you the child MUST turn in their work on time or suffer a 25% deduction in the earned grade or nothing for assignments later than 5 days, my kid regularly turns in work 3 weeks late and gets full credit. He's even turned in a a pile of work that was 2 months old. Thats dang near the whole quarter!!! They dont even grade many of the assignments and simply give an A for turning something in. I'm sorry but my 3rd grader could pass 7th grade at this school. They are teaching the children that tardiness, poor work quality, and disrespect of the schools rules is perfectly acceptable. I'm seriously concerned as to whether or not my child will be ready for 8th grade at another school. PLEASE look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2010

Imagine has been a positive experience for my children from the day it opened. They have grown not only academically but also personally. They are given opportunities here that would not have existed in other area schools. The teachers care for them individually and show this in many capacities. I beleive that the Imagine experience has done wonders in preparing them for their future in college and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

This is a fantastic school with small class sizes and a lot of technology to assist the students in their learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 8, 2009

This school could improve where their administration and academics is concerned. Math teachers need support. Students are not encouraged academically, rather they are learning to be more concerned with their attire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

This school has good technology for learning. But the teachers dont do as much because of it. I honostly dont realy like this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2007

The Special Education Department offers a lot of encouragement, motivated teachers and tools for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Imagine Rosefield
Dysart Public Schools
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Desert Sky Region's Character Education School of the Year (2012)
  • Mix It Up Model School (2011)

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 am
School end time
  • 3:45 am
School Leader's name
  • Chris McComb
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 344-4310

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Imagine Rosefield
Dysart Public Schools

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14850 N. 156th Ave.
Surprise, AZ 85379
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 344-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Dysart Ischool
Surprise, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT