Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Valley Vista High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

Really like the way the school has grown in a positive way! Love all the involvement of both staff, students and parents. Great to see the school spirit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

My son Has been going here for about two weeks. Front office staff is awful the women need some training on how to deal with people. Haha and they work at a school. Security staff stands at the front gate every morning yelling at the kids as they enter the school. Who wants to be yelled at 7:00am. Come on guys this is high school not a jail. Students Test scores are really low. Prolly because they spend more time dress coding then they do teaching. Geez... I can't wait to met some of the teachers that work at this school. I am not satisfied with this school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2012

Love this High School! The staff, teachers, principles, programs & involvement with the kids are outstanding! Everyone seeems to love their jobs & care about the kids~ Lots of smiles & happy students :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

I'm a student, and I can say this is one of the best schools I've noticed. The teachers there are great and relate to all the students, plus they easily accept if you have problems with homework and such. They really do deserve more credit and pay to what they do. Some gripes I have is the ridiculous homework and sometimes tests (my math class needs a graphing calculator to just finish one problem that would take nearly 10 minutes without). Some students need more disciplining, and I wish they would allow administration to hand it out. Overall, it's a good school, but just needs a couple of small improvements.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2011

Very disappointing. There are some very good teachers at Valley Vista who truly care and love what they are doing. Unfortunately there are many more who do not. Teachers that are consistently out and being replaced by subs, Teachers that do not grade papers then lose them, and do not enter grades. There are to many who are really overwhelmed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

I believe that this school is overcrowded and the teachers and staff are overwhelmed; most of the energy is spent on disciplining the students rather than educating them ; I believe that most of the teachers are caring and capable ; most of them do respond to my e mails, but some do not . I believe there is too much emphasis on AIMS testing and other reporting features; which score the teachers and not the students; teachers are under a lot of pressure to maintain their jobs and are undpaid at that . it is an average school. they are busy just trying to keep the fires out .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

I recently had my first interaction with the Principal and her staff and am sorry to say it was an incredible disapointment. The staff seemed to be overwhelmed and more interested in quick resolution to keep moving than what is in the best interest of the students. The teachers seem willing to help for the most part but my kids get good grades so my involvement with them has been limited. I will say that when my kids missed some time for a family vacation some of their teachers were less than helpful and almost seemed to get angry when asked for homework for the time they would be missing. As for parent involvement, there are a select few (like most places) but those that take an active role do a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

The principal is inept and has a blase attitude toward education that trickles down to the teaching staff. The school is overcrowed to the point where kids do not get to eat lunch because they spend the whole lunch period waiting in line. There are not enough lunch tables and students have to sit on the ground and eat. The kids do not have lockers and do not have books. There are a limited amount of books available through the bookstore and if you are not fortunate enough to get a book then you are just out of luck. The teachers are not capable of grading papers and entering grades correctly. Often graded assignments and tests are never returned to students. This is a poor excuse for a high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Obviously, this is student and not a parent. Highly educated I think NOT. The term is overall not allover (allover is two seperate words) So, please do give this review any consideration. I have worked in more than one high school across this country. An there is bad in all schools K-12.. Monitor your children, be involved in there lives and pay attention. You and your children will be just fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

you are all wrong. my child goes there and she is an excellent student, she has never once complained to me about the violence! she says there is some but it is only if you involve yourself, it is not the school's fault if your kid starts arguements with other students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

All my dealings with Valley Vista have been troubling. The serious lack of discipline leaves students feeling unsafe. The first year a janitor was beaten with a baseball bat by a student to the point of being hospitalized. The principal waited over a week to inform parents and staff of the incident. I want to know that as a parent! Constant teacher turnover is also a problem. If this was a strong school then teachers would want to stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

I would not recommend this school to anyone who cares about their childs safety. It has gotten so bad we pulled our daughter out and now doing online school. The teachers do seem to care more then the administration of course you always have a few that hate what their doing but need the pay check. Valley is a new school which I do not accept as an excuse and they have a lot of issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

Yes, that is true. Violence has gotten a lil out of hand but it has calmed down a bit. But the new schedule ( which is traditional schedule) has gotten students and teachers dazed. I liked it better last year with block schedule because seven periods a day is a lil too much! but overall the school is excellent and we are a 'Highly Performing' school. Sports are putting us on the map as well as our academics! Keep It Up Valley!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2009

Violence at the school has went up and new schedule system had proven to be too much for students and teachers to handle.Overall, this is an okay school
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2009

valley vista is my school and we learn a lot! i like everything that is going on there and they teach us all well. teachers are really into having everyone understand there work and they understand how hard it is and takes time out of there lives to help us! i<3 VVHS
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2009

i was a former student at valley vista. I started there at my freshmen year and i lef tthe second semester of my junior year and i regret it.Valley vista of what i seen had lots of school pride and im proud to say i was a monsoon
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2009

At any new opening school, there are always challenges to overcome. As a student at Valley Vista High School, the school is overcoming those challenges with such superior results. The extra-curricular activites can suffice for any students need. The sports will continue to improve, and we'll probably see some trophies in the gym soon! Even though the administration can be biased upon the sports, students still continue to show pride, and the pride will soon engulf the whole district as it continues to grow at this fast pace.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2008

I love this school and its athletic programs the coaches are awesome and teach discipline that the athletes will use later when we go into the real world. The education is pretty good the most important part is getting to college and it gives you that opportunity as every high school does if the students want to learn as much as they can they'll try extra hard and soak up what the teachers are saying. This school has many good things and i love it. Most importantly it gets us the students where we need to go if we want to get a real job in this world and thats college!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2008

I am an educator at Valley Vista High School and I feel that the quality of students that attend this school are outstanding. This school is growing in school spirit and will continue to grow. Extra-curricular activities are being added yearly. This year the school is opening a huge 1,200 seat theatre. This theatre will be the largest theatre in the West Valley. In response to the student's comment regarding NTHS, this is definitely one of our Fine Arts Deparment's goals. New schools take time to grow and expand. This will be our first year to have Seniors at Valley Vista High School. A majority of the teachers have their Masters. My experience at Valley Vista has been extremely positive and I am happy to be a part of Valley Vista's faculty. I love what I do and my students know it.... So, just sit back and watch us grow.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2008

This school is brand new, so of course there little to no school spirit, but other then that its a spectacular school i attened this school my sophmore year after spending one year (freshman year) at WCHS, and i love both school equally.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

632 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

633 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

625 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 42%
Hispanic 38% 43%
Black 9% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 523-8811

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Diving
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15550 N. Parkview Place
Surprise, AZ 85374
Phone: (623) 523-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dysart Ischool
Surprise, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT