Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Surprise, AZ
Students enrolled: 2,356
 

3 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


35 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Valley Vista High School 4

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Really like the way the school has grown in a positive way! Love all the involvement of both staff, students and parents. Great to see the school spirit!

Valley Vista High School 1

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
My son Has been going here for about two weeks. Front office staff is awful the women need some training on how to deal with people. Haha and they work at a school. Security staff stands at the front gate every morning yelling at the kids as they enter the school. Who wants to be yelled at 7:00am. Come on guys this is high school not a jail. Students Test scores are really low. Prolly because they spend more time dress coding then they do teaching. Geez... I can't wait to met some of the teachers that work at this school. I am not satisfied with this school at all.


Valley Vista High School 5

Posted December 20, 2012
- a parent
Love this High School! The staff, teachers, principles, programs & involvement with the kids are outstanding! Everyone seeems to love their jobs & care about the kids~ Lots of smiles & happy students :)

Valley Vista High School 4

Posted November 12, 2012
- a student
I'm a student, and I can say this is one of the best schools I've noticed. The teachers there are great and relate to all the students, plus they easily accept if you have problems with homework and such. They really do deserve more credit and pay to what they do. Some gripes I have is the ridiculous homework and sometimes tests (my math class needs a graphing calculator to just finish one problem that would take nearly 10 minutes without). Some students need more disciplining, and I wish they would allow administration to hand it out. Overall, it's a good school, but just needs a couple of small improvements.

Valley Vista High School 2

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
Very disappointing. There are some very good teachers at Valley Vista who truly care and love what they are doing. Unfortunately there are many more who do not. Teachers that are consistently out and being replaced by subs, Teachers that do not grade papers then lose them, and do not enter grades. There are to many who are really overwhelmed.


Valley Vista High School 3

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
I believe that this school is overcrowded and the teachers and staff are overwhelmed; most of the energy is spent on disciplining the students rather than educating them ; I believe that most of the teachers are caring and capable ; most of them do respond to my e mails, but some do not . I believe there is too much emphasis on AIMS testing and other reporting features; which score the teachers and not the students; teachers are under a lot of pressure to maintain their jobs and are undpaid at that . it is an average school. they are busy just trying to keep the fires out .

Valley Vista High School 2

Posted October 25, 2010
- a parent
I recently had my first interaction with the Principal and her staff and am sorry to say it was an incredible disapointment. The staff seemed to be overwhelmed and more interested in quick resolution to keep moving than what is in the best interest of the students. The teachers seem willing to help for the most part but my kids get good grades so my involvement with them has been limited. I will say that when my kids missed some time for a family vacation some of their teachers were less than helpful and almost seemed to get angry when asked for homework for the time they would be missing. As for parent involvement, there are a select few (like most places) but those that take an active role do a great job.

Valley Vista High School 1

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
The principal is inept and has a blase attitude toward education that trickles down to the teaching staff. The school is overcrowed to the point where kids do not get to eat lunch because they spend the whole lunch period waiting in line. There are not enough lunch tables and students have to sit on the ground and eat. The kids do not have lockers and do not have books. There are a limited amount of books available through the bookstore and if you are not fortunate enough to get a book then you are just out of luck. The teachers are not capable of grading papers and entering grades correctly. Often graded assignments and tests are never returned to students. This is a poor excuse for a high school!


Valley Vista High School 0
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
Obviously, this is student and not a parent. Highly educated I think NOT. The term is overall not allover (allover is two seperate words) So, please do give this review any consideration. I have worked in more than one high school across this country. An there is bad in all schools K-12.. Monitor your children, be involved in there lives and pay attention. You and your children will be just fine.

Valley Vista High School 5

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
you are all wrong. my child goes there and she is an excellent student, she has never once complained to me about the violence! she says there is some but it is only if you involve yourself, it is not the school's fault if your kid starts arguements with other students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valley Vista High School
15550 N. Parkview Place, Surprise, AZ  85374
(623) 523-8800
Last modified Valley Vista High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Valley Vista High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top