Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Western Peaks Elementary School

Public | K-8 | 1240 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2014

I am an eight grade student here and I have gone here since around 2nd grade. This school is honestly all I know but it was pretty mediocre with the administration from the past few years. But recently we have gotten a new administration and moral has improved and I'm almost certain those previous reviews were angry parents who can't tell their child/children to shrug it off. Wouldn't hurt to tell them nothing anyone says about them really matters. And for those saying Ms. Mitchell and Mr. Thompson are "Bully Teachers" their kids are just immature and misbehave, and are given proper consequences, if you're disrespectful to the teachers, you're going to be talked to. As far as the actual education, it's all based on how your child acts within the classroom. The teachers DO teach, you just have to pay attention. For those with children with bad grades and blame the the teachers, maybe you should do a double take. Some teacher's methods may seem questionable at times, but you have pay attention to the lessons and not socialize during class. I believe Mr. Thompson's classroom is an amazing environment to get work done, we work quietly for ten minutes and are allowed to socialize for 2.


Posted April 17, 2014

The current administration (Truett and Hollowell) at this school is the lowest level of life! They are horrendously cruel to parents and students. There are two upper grade bully teachers (Thompson and Mitchell). I can't wait for summer, as we are enrolling our child in another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

My kids have been at the school for the past 4 years. They're now in 2nd and 4th grade. Since my kids are in the lower grades, I haven't witnessed the bullying other reviews are talking about. The main reason I keep my kids at this school are the teachers -- my kids have had great teachers every year. The teachers and staff are awesome and truly want the kids to succeed. The principal for the first 3 years was awful and contributed to much of the low school morale and problem areas. We have a new principal this year and so far all seems okay, although that's yet to be determined.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

My kids having been going to this school since its grand opening day. The past principle was so bad that she finally was transferred to the high school level as an Asst. principle. The current Principle may not be any better. There is a 6th grade female teacher screams at her students, and even worries some of her fellow teachers with her behaviors, yet nothing is done. This school is such a disappointment. Luckily my kids have avoided all the chaos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Absolutely HORRIBLE school!!! Principal lacks PROPER discipline both a s principal and disciplinary. Bullies seem to be very common in that school. Very few "good" teachers who actually CARE about the children they are teaching. The IEP teachers seem to lack what they are "qualified" to do??!! Just an absolutely HORRIBLE school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

I a student who goes there. I left an A rated school for this one. Over all, it's a great school, but there are a lot of bullies. The teachers are great, and really try to help me when I don't have the best grades. But their methods for stopping bulling aren't the best. But what counts is: their methods of teaching are great and I am acing most of my quizzes!


Posted February 11, 2013

HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE School.... Teachers & Principal lack in proper education and GOOD discipline. Expect allot of bullies, crowding, and poor leadership.. The only plus to this school is Kinder and 1st grade. I live in Surprise and drive my kids to Scottsdale everyday just for high quality teachers and good schools..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

My children moved to this school from a school in the Peoria School District 3 years ago. The school my children moved from had a very high amount of parent volunteers and involvement. Most of the teachers had been there for 3 years or more (in most cases, a lot more). They had student of the month assemblies, I loved going to them, they were very high energy. The kids all loved them and all the kids seemed to try very hard to be awarded at one of the assemblies. Now, on to my experience at this school. The turn over rate of the teachers is very high. The parent involvement is almost non existent, and so are the assemblies. My oldest daughter needed extra help from her teachers due to a learning disability, I felt as if a few of the teachers did not care whether she learned the subject or not. My step daughter was bullied at the end of last year, a report was filed and nothing was done. The bully was in her class the next day. There was a large number of students who were moved to other schools by their parents at the beginning of last year. Most of these problems seem to be coming from the principal, whom the district refuses to do anything to correct the situations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2011

My oldest daughter attended Kindergarten at Western Peaks. Although we liked her teacher, we did not like the school. The classroom size was very large especially for Kindergarten. Our daughter would come home with 1/2 - 2 hours of homework every evening because the teacher couldn't cover the material in class. The students lacked respect and not much was done about it. Not much parent involvement either. I didn't feel like I ever knew what was going on unless I took the time to find out for myself. t didn't see the principal the whole year either!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

My son has attended this school for 3 years and has had a few problems with bullys but now we are having issues with a teacher that seems to be a bully. I was told by the admistration there were other concerns regarding this teacher so I am hoping there will be a few staff changes for the better but if not my child will not attend this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

This teachers are all very nice, but there isnt enough staff or time to help kids that fall behind. My 2nd grader is by no means up to grade level and the teachers have no problem with that. When I voiced my concern they stated that he was right along with the rest of them. Ok, if all the kids are below grade level that is a serious problem. Coming from the Peoria school district this school is a serious disappointment. Looking for a charter school now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

My son has been attending Western Peaks elementary for 3 years and has received a wonderful education that is appropriate for his age and developmental level. The teachers are excellent, engaged, and listen to the children and provide them with numerous learning activities. They also have physical education for the kids, which many schools have done away with. Also, art, music, and computer skills are taught in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I just wish that their were more individual levels of learing for students. Smaller groups would be very helpful. Too many children in one facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

I attended Western Peaks for 8th grade, the year it opened, and I can say that I absolutly loved it. At least the 8th grade teachers were excellent and the school has excellend P.E. and Computers instructors. My only complaint would be the weak instruction in other special areas such as Art and Music.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2007

Though the teachers and 'resource' classes are up to par, the upper level staff are difficult to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Hispanic 23% 43%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Highly Performing (2010)
  • Performing Plus (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dannene Truett
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (623) 523-8761

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Bullying Prevention Team
  • Drama club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Students With A Goal
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Western Peaks is active in Rachel's Challenge. We believe as did Rachel Scott, that "people will never know how far a little kindness can go."
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school
Middle school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Willow Canyon High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18063 W Surprise Farms Loop So
Surprise, AZ 85388
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 523-8750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Canyon Ridge
Surprise, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT