Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Western Peaks Elementary School 4

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
My kids have gone to Western Peaks from K-2 and we have had a Good overall experience. My kids enjoy going to school and seem to be learning and applying information well. I haven't had any issues with Administration or other kids. Prior to enrolling my kids in 2013, I read old reviews and was certainly skeptical. I even began the process of enrolling my kids into A-rated Canyon Ridge but we liked Western Peaks right away and our kids really loved it. When Canyon Ridge called and said they had availability we declined and stayed at Western Peaks. I even had a Canyon Ridge teacher once tell me that the school focuses heavily on the exams that give the schools high grades and they want to continue to keep their own kids at Western Peaks! I couldn't believe it.

Western Peaks Elementary School 2

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
There is no funding in the school, and no teachers. Kinder and pre-K Schedules in convenient for working parents.


Western Peaks Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
I do not know at this time; I can not say. We'll see what the future holds.

Western Peaks Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
I do not know; I can not tell at this time. We'll see what the future holds.

Western Peaks Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
I can not say at this time; I do not know. We'll see what the future holds.


Western Peaks Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
I can't say at this time. We'll see what the future holds. At this time I do not know.

Western Peaks Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
I have no Idea. I can't say yet at this moment in time. We'll see what the future holds.

Western Peaks Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2015
- a parent
Great school! I have three kids enrolled this year 2014/2015. K, 4th and 6th. My kids teachers are outstanding and always keep me informed about how the kids are doing. Safety is also very impressive, there's definitely not going to be any strangers getting in that school or at least past the front office staff. Very happy parent!


Western Peaks Elementary School 5

Posted June 30, 2014
- a parent
The past administration was awesome. The completely turned the school around. It's a shame that the district couldn't see that, and keep them there. I wish them the best if luck with a inexperienced principal and a assistant that doesn't know the staff or the kids. For those parents that thinks it was bad before? Be careful what you wish for. Be sure you got it. Have a great 2014-2015 year.

Western Peaks Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a community member
I am an eight grade student here and I have gone here since around 2nd grade. This school is honestly all I know but it was pretty mediocre with the administration from the past few years. But recently we have gotten a new administration and moral has improved and I'm almost certain those previous reviews were angry parents who can't tell their child/children to shrug it off. Wouldn't hurt to tell them nothing anyone says about them really matters. And for those saying Ms. Mitchell and Mr. Thompson are "Bully Teachers" their kids are just immature and misbehave, and are given proper consequences, if you're disrespectful to the teachers, you're going to be talked to. As far as the actual education, it's all based on how your child acts within the classroom. The teachers DO teach, you just have to pay attention. For those with children with bad grades and blame the the teachers, maybe you should do a double take. Some teacher's methods may seem questionable at times, but you have pay attention to the lessons and not socialize during class. I believe Mr. Thompson's classroom is an amazing environment to get work done, we work quietly for ten minutes and are allowed to socialize for 2.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Western Peaks Elementary School
18063 W Surprise Farms Loop So, Surprise, AZ  85388
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (623) 523-8750
Last modified Western Peaks Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top