Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Canyon Ridge

Public | K-8 | 900 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

A+ school of excellence.. A STEM school, with an awesome staff.. This school , to me, is as Private- as Public school can be- I grew up in a Catholic school and there are not many around- but I did want my kids to grow up knowing the same group of kids-like I got to do,, and this school is close to that! There are borders and that keeps the same ones coming back! I know my kids are safe here, and it is a great community.. Cant say enuff positive about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted yesterday

This is my daughter's 5th year at Canyon and I could not be happier! From the front office staff to the administration-- everyone is amazing!! Not only do I feel completely comfortable with asking anyone ( crossing guards/ teachers/ admin) any questions I have, my daughter feels the same!! They all work so hard to keep standards high and to work extra hours with those who may need a little more help!! It is an amazing school-- so happy we are part of such a wonderful community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

I have three kids that attend CRS. I couldn't be happier! The teachers are fabulous, my kids are held accountable and we love the STEM concept. It's obvious that the administration cares deeply about the well being of the school, both staff and students. Dr. Isai and Mr. St. Germain are very noticeable and involved at the school. They are friendly and approachable and it's obvious that the students know they care. If an incident happens that concerns one of my kids, parent contact is made and the situation is resolved appropriately. The parking lot can be crazy before and after school, but there is adequate staff outside working to make things as smooth as possible. The PTA seems to be very involved and does numerous events to benefit the students. There appears to be some drama in the PTA, but it doesn't seem to impact the good they do for the school. CRS seems to be getting better every year, it has come a long way, the change in the administration a few years ago was exactly what the school needed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

Best school for my children ever . Seven grade teachers are a great team. They answer e-mails inmediately. When you talk to them, you can tell they really care about students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

I Attended Canyon ridge since it opened and spent four years there until moving to highschool. The first year, the school was brand new and there was no air condioning in the building, but other than that, it was a good school. But, every year the school got progressively worse, going through three principals during my enrollment there, until the teachers became lax, and lazy. The eight grade teachers from my 8th grade year have since been replaced, every single one has excpet one, and it is looking up again. my sibling currently goes to school there in 8th grade and though curiculum has dropped, it looks to be a decent school once again.


Posted October 16, 2012

This is our kids first year at the school and we love it. The expectations of staff are high and they support students in achieving their goals. The principal is accessible and visible. The school offers after school clubs like Lego Robotics and Rocket Club. They also have great sports teams. The girls' softball team just won first place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

Reasons we love Canyon Ridge... Very academically challenging. There are many ways for parents to get involved and volunteer. Anytime I have an issue or question the teacher responds very promptly and respectfully. Administration if very helpful and deals with situations appropriately and keeps the parents in the know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

This is the beginning of our first full school year at Canyon Ridge. We were there for the last half of the school year last year. We have children in 7th, 4th, and 1st grades.We are generally happy with the school, the environment, teachers and the principal. If we had a complaint about anything, we are used to more homework. The kids are learning and are interested in many different aspects of the real world, science, current events, etc. My wife and I are very involved and interactive with their teachers, so this has been our experience. As for other students, we have met some really nice kids and yes some not so nice, but that is the case no matter where you go.We teach our kids to speak up for themselves and stear clear of trouble. My son has an IEP with some special needs. Had no problem with bullying and if there were I know we would have heard about it from the teacher and principal. Staff is very responsible and responsive. As for left wing right wing whatever.. there do not seem to be any political agendas in the class. Science is science, until you get politics involved then it becomes a voters issue, good thing kids dont care about voting yet! LOL Good Job CR
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

My son attended 2nd to 5th grade here. He had great teachers, no complaints. Teachers worked with him to make up work if he got a low grade so that he could stay on honor roll. We did not have bullying problems. He will be leaving for the 6th grade. We will miss Canyon Ridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

As a parent moving to Arizona from Michigan in 2009, one of the most important factors in buying a home was the school that my kids would attend. I did my research and bought a house 1 block from Canyon Ridge. Boy how things change! I am so disappointed in both the school and the neighborhood. Kids here are awful. I suppose its the lack of parental presence in their lives, but it is just pathetic. My oldest son has autism and is bullied both at school and at home. I have personally seen 15+ kids chasing him through the neighborhood and throwing things at him. The story is much the same at school. He has transferred to another school in the district with much the same story. My younger son who has always been a straight A student with almost no effort, is failing 3 subjects because of social issues at school and the fact that the teachers just don't give a darn about these kids. The teachers are encouraged to just push the kids through regardless of whether they are learning or not. It's really sad to see. The current administration is horrible. They think that they have all the answers and yet the problems get worse. It's such a shame to see such a good school get so bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

This school is not good at all. There are no math books. There are no English vocabulary words. The science class is pushing a left wing environmental wacko agenda, even though global warming has been proven to be a hoax and "scientific" data was proven to be falsified by so called legitimate scientists. I hear from other parents with kids in other schools who are having a more enriching educational experience. After 2 years, I believe next year is a time for a change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

My son went to this school from 3rd to 6th grade. He had amazing teachers that cared about him and "pushed" him to succeed especially since he wasn't a particulary motivated student. Last year, he had Ms. Saltarelli for math and he made amazing gains and excelled on the AIMS test. She is strict, fair, and consistent. At times, this website serves as a forum for parents who don't know much about education or what goes on in the classroom. Get involved, observe the classrooms, and see what goes on for yourself. It's easy to be an armchair quarterback and criticize. Much harder to get off your butt and be involved in your children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

My son has been going to this school since kindergarten and I have not had any complaints so far, this school has a great reputation and has lived up to it. I think people have written bad reviews only because of their lack of involvement in the school itself. Public schools aren't daycares and require parent as well as student involvement in order for the school to achieve a higher learning experience. I would recommend this school to anyone and if it's not good enough, the next step would be a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

This school has gotten worse every year its been open. The 1st year it was amazing, this year it is a horrible mess. Its a shame, the best school in the district has fallen to be the worst! I pulled my kid out !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

My son and I love this school. I have yet to encounter a problem.He has been on the honor roll for 3 semesters:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I am so proud to say that my children go to CR! Mrs Castillo is so wonderful and open with the kids and they all trust her. The front office staff is a great first impression as you enter the doors. Keep up the great work!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

We love this school. The only downside of this school so far is the lack of field trips. The office staff and the teachers seem to really care about the students and their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

Outstanding school! The teachers and administration at Canyon Ridge are fabulous. Parent involvement and support is very high. Expectations are high and students are excelling (and the school has only been open for 1 1/2 years). Both students and teachers utilize the latest technology in their classrooms. Students receive a well-rounded education (reading, math, science, health, technology, problem solving, PE, music, art, library). We're fortunate to live within the boundaries of CR.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

Canyon Ridge is an excellent school. Mr. Dean, former principal got the school off to a successful start. To be an excelling school the second year a school opens, that's impressive, great job to Mr. West. Our children's education is the priority at CR. We're thrilled to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

Love this school! The CR staff (admin, teachers, office, etc) seem to love working here and definetly put forth the extra effort in helping parents, students and each other. You really get a sense the kids matter here and the kids respond by doing their best in academics, sports, behavior and overall spirt. It's great to be a part of a school who really likes their students!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 13% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 5% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17359 W. Surprise Farms Loop N
Surprise, AZ 85388
Phone: (623) 876-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT