Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rover Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 525 students

We are best known for teaching the "whole" child.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2008

I loved Rover for three of the four years that she attended. The last year there was a different principal, and I felt like he wasn't as dedicated as the first one. My child attended from 04 to 08.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

Rover Elementary is a great school! Everyone is so welcoming and generous. I have three kids who have been attending Rover, and have been an involved parent for 5+ years. The teachers that my kids have had and friends children have had go beyond their call of duty. You will be lucky with any teacher you get... my favorites are Mrs. Gilbert, Ms. Foster, Mrs. Hardesty, Mrs. Skinner, Mrs. Lutz, Mrs. Wakefield, and Mrs. Cornett!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

My sister as been going to Rover for 5 years now and the focus as changed over the years. They only care about test scores and becoming a A+ school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 5, 2007

My son is a 2nd grader at Rover and we are very happy with this school! The teachers are phenomenal. The principal, Ms. McCoy, is also wonderful, but sadly she is leaving at the end of this year. The school is a very welcoming and safe environment. I'm always struck by how friendly and polite the kids are. There is a high level of parent involvement which I think contributes to the success of the school. The teachers and staff are very happy to work with families. There is a fabulous PE program (with a climbing wall in the gym!) and a music program, computer lab and library. The art program is volunteer-run and not as strong as the rest. I think my son's classes are usually 20-25 students, but there are often aides or volunteers helping, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2006

I am so impressed with Rover School! My son, a fourth grader, has attended Rover since he was in kindergarten and he just loves it! His teachers have all been outstanding. They are nurturing, highly-skilled professionals who are dedicated to meeting the needs of each child. I always feel welcome when I visit Rover! The staff and parent volunteers are so friendly. Mrs. McCoy, Rover's principal, is wonderful! She has had a great influence in creating a positive learning community! Every day I send my son to Rover School, I am confident he is in good hands and he is receiving the highest quality of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2006

I have had are children in Rover for the last three years and have seen a steady decline in both the academics and the leadership. Rover's focus has become all about scoring well on the AIMS test to the detriment of student needs. Although the teachers have been great, both the leadership at the school and district appears to be more of a barrier to their success than a help. I have my children in another school and am surpised at the significant gap between where they left off at Rover and where they were expected to be in this new school. In this era of 'no child left behind' I am afraid that all of the students at Rover are being left behind by a substandard education that will not prepare them for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

Rover Elementary is an excellent school with caring teachers, a wonderful music department and a top-notch resource department. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

We are very happy with this school. Not too big, clean, very friendly to parents and the kids. Our kids always like going there... All in all, great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

My daughter is in 3rd grade at Rover. She is doing so well. She loves the school and her teachers. This is an awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

My experiance at this school was great. It is a blue ribbon school. My son had problems with reading when we came to this school. The Kyrene school district would help us. They told us that he is a boy and boys always fall behind in reading. He was in second grade and he could bearly write his name, forget the reading part. We were frustrated. When we switched to Rover it was a 180 degree turn around. Teachers were volunteering their own time before and after school to help for free. Just to see my son excel. Teachers and the Principal want to see the children excel. Teaching here is what it should be. This school steps up to the plate and goes beyond the call of duty. My other children over excel in classes, they are put in groups where they are being challanged. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2004

We live 35 miles away from Rover and feel the hour drive each way is worth knowing our daughter is happy and being well-educated in her kindergarten class. Her teacher, Mrs. Zimmerman, is very caring and creates a positive, comfortable and fun learning environment for her students. The Tempe District kindergarten classes are all full-day classes (at no additional charge - most other area kindergartens are only half-day, so parents who want their child in a full-day class are charged the balance - usually around $250.00 a month). Kidzone, the before and after school program, is also excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful. Parental involvement is incouraged and many opportunities are available for volunteering. As a parent I feel included in my child's education and welcome in her school. We plan to have our daughter stay through the 5th grade and are selling our home to move near the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

Strong principal and good teachers. Class sizes are out of hand. Too many stories coming home of major discipline problems. No real arts program is a negative. Excellent music teacher but she was transferred to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

This school has an awesom climate! My son loves to go to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2004

An excellent public school with a terrific teaching staff from K-2 (we moved away after 2nd) The school nurse is especially notable for her calm caring concern and excellent nursing skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

This is the only Elementary School in Tempe, AZ at this time that is a Blue Ribbon School. It has received the highest of awards. The teachers, even though some are new, are excellent. The focus is the children developing lifeskills that will carry them throughout their lifetime. Also children have more 1 on 1 time with the teachers due to classroom size. If you're considering Rover School for your Kindergarten aged child and you need open-enrollment because you don not live in the area, register ASAP. The waiting list this year is 30 students just for grade K. And if you have a Kindergaten aged child - you have to request Miss Maria Mihas as their teacher. I've had 2 of my children in her class and she had such a positive impact in my childrens lives. She's more than just a teacher, which is so important when you're just starting in school. She is an outstanding teacher and should be teacher of the decade as far as I'm concerned. I'm privledged to had my kids in her class. Sincerely, Mrs. Gouveia
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2003

We moved our girls from a Phoenix District to a Tempe District and have had no regrets! Starting with the Principal and going through the Teachers, Staff, PTA, Parent involvement and the wonderful children, we could not have found a better school than Rover Elementary. We put a lot of work into trying to find the best school for our children and Great Schools web-site helped us complete our task. I would recommend Rover and Great Schools web-site to everyone.


Posted March 21, 2003

My daughters attended Rover for most of the 2002-2003 school year. I can't say enough wonderful things about it! I cried when a family move required changing schools and have returned to visit with their classes and teachers just to keep in touch. The teachers are excellent and have been wonderful examples for my children. The Lifeskills taught there continue to shape thier lives and encourage them to seek new experiences and knowledge.


Posted March 17, 2003

We love Rover Elementary!! Great school. I am a Subsitute Asst. Teacher and have been to many Tempe Schools and I am very impressed with Rovers staff and parents. Rover has Huge PTA support and it shows!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 42%
Hispanic 28% 43%
Black 12% 5%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Arizona A+ School
  • Highly Performing School- State of AZ
  • Blue Ribbon School

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mark Martinez
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (480) 820-8503

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Science
  • Technology
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Girls on the Run

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • *active pta partnership *counseling & crisis intervention *clothing/food banks *site council memvership *fame docents (music and fine arts) *classroom volunteers
More from this school
  • *Recognized as an Arizona A+ school and one of 18 "Great American Schools" by National Education Association. *Recognized as National Blue Ribbon School and National School of Character.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school
Middle school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Fees Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 E. Watson Drive
Tempe, AZ 85283
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 897-7122

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Aguilar School
Tempe, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT