Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tempe Preparatory Academy

Charter | 7-12 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tempe

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2014

Tempe Preparatory Academy is a small but amazing school. Being a Charter School in Arizona it receives only 79% of the funding as a regular public school yet is ranked among the top 5 High Schools in Arizona. The students at this school would benefit hugely from winning a contest like this. Our school is in need of basic items that are taken for granted in larger fully funded schools. Examples would be equipment for our science and chemistry rooms, a computer lab, and much much more. We ask that you seriously consider TPA, as we would spend the money wisely and in the best interest of our children. Please take a few minutes to research our little school, you won't be disappointed. Founded in 1996, the students are taught in the Socratic Method, with all honors classes, and a wait list of several hundred just to get into the school. Our campus is humble and yet it starkly contrasts the brightness of our faculty, staff and student body. As a parent I am grateful for the structured nature of the campus and the like mindedness of the staff to have our children be honorable young men and women while growing leaps and bounds academically. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2014

Tempe Prep overall is a wonderful community. This is a very academically challenging school. Only send your child here if they are willing and able to do 3 hours of relevant (not busywork) homework a night. All classes are honors classes, however, I know of kids at McClintock High School that are taking Advanced Placement (AP) courses, and working a lot less. To it's fault, Tempe Prep does not offer AP classes. Also, the curriculum is set. You only have one elective option: language. There are no free electives you can choose, for example, No Engineering, No Computer Graphics electives you might get at a large High School. The teachers are excellent. They work hard, and expect your child to do the same. The college counselor, Mrs. Karin Moffitt is absolutely the best! If you are looking for a good humanities focused school, that demands a lot from your student, go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

I am very happy with my decision to bring my child to Tempe Prep. The teachers care. They want to see your child succeed and do NOT accept anything less than their personal best. My child came to the school as an 8th grader behind in math. Her math teacher has gone far above to help. She took the time to find out where her problems are so they could fix them. Morning tutoring, afternoon tutoring, constant communication with me and positive reinforcement for my child. I have never seen my child so excited about math. I love it!! Her improvement has been phenomenal. Teachers who care make a difference. Thank you Tempe Prep
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

I graduated from Tempe Prep in 2012, and this school has prepared me very well for college. I was initially worried because a lot of my college classmates came in with a lot of AP credits and were almost a year ahead of me in school, but I have found that the foundation Tempe Prep provided me with has allowed me to more fully understand the material taught in classes. For example, Tempe Prep provided me with a fundamental understanding of Calculus, rather than just the skills of differentiation and integration. The Socratic style of teaching at Tempe prep also enabled me to understand my learning style (Listen, then contemplate, then practice, then teach), which has helped to ease the college courseload. Take this all with a grain of salt. Academics have always come easily to me; I wanted to provide a view of life after high school for those worried about college. What I liked the most about Tempe Prep was the sense of community it provides. Yes, it doesn't have a ton of extracurricular options, but the ones offered are quality and the administration is open to students starting clubs. I do wish that the school had stressed more that AP tests should be taken.


Posted July 25, 2013

Tempe Preparatory Academy is an excellent school when it comes to curriculum as well as student/teacher ratios. However, BEWARE (the faculty) teachers as well as dean of students are extremely prejudiced against minorities. Although, TPA is considered a grade "A" school. It may not be the best academic environment for your African-American, Asian-American, Mexican-American and/or Middle-Eastern American children. The only reason TPA allows minorities is due to AFFIRMATIVE ACTION then slowly but surely they start to weed out our children...forcing kids to leave on their own to other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2012

I have put four children through this school during the last eleven years, and the decline of the school has caused us a lot of grief. Academic standards are headed down (even AIMS scores say so), and discipline is gone. I appreciate that the current administration maybe has kept the school from folding for financial reasons, but it is terrible that several outstanding faculty members have quit in disgust because of disciplinary issues. A kid who brought drug paraphernalia to school got the same punishment as a kid who left campus to get coffee. A kid who injured a classmate in an on-campus car stunt was "punished" by having to supervise younger kids cleaning up garbage (which is all over the place). Etc. Some years, the football team runs the school. One year, at the all-school awards program, two female coaches dissed a girl from another school by name. Classy. Eleven years ago, this was a school for people who really cared about classical learning. Now it's a school for parents who've who don't even understand the curriculum but think it's a passport to Harvard. It's better than regular public school, but it's going downhill fast. One more kid, one more year, then out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

I have been part of TPA for the past 7 yrs. Although I still believe the education here is still better than public schools, I'm very disappointed in watching the decline. They have definitely lowered their standards in not only academics, but in student conduct as well. My youngest child has been encouraged to do "busy work" (make bracelets) in order to keep her from being disruptive. WHAT is that about?!! My oldest child who attended TPA is appalled by how slack everything has become. Where did the TPA standards go? Do you suppose that's why all of the quality teachers are leaving?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

While no environment is perfect, TPA has a dynamic that few other places posess. For the most part, in most instances, a partnership is formed between the parents, the students and the staff and faculty. Also, there is comraderie among each of these groups. Parent groups, student groups and the faculty as a group. As is the case in all such situations, the balance is never perfect, however, I have never worked with a group that strives for balance in a more diligent manner than the people associated with this school. I believe a great deal of the credit should go to the current leadership, Mr. Hallman, who has provided a great deal of structure to this model educational institute. While no leader is ever truly appreciated for their efforts by everyone, this one is especially diligent in his attempt to find the common ground and nurture the basic values that TPA tries to convey.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 31, 2011

I know now why anyone who values education would want to take part in TPAs lottery. It is an outstanding school in terms of teachers, mission, commitment to excellence. Even with the limited budgets all schools face, TPA is about excellence and the striving for the full person to be greater than he or she thinks is possible. My children thrive there--but note that we very much value education and excellence and are very involved. We love the Tempe environment of liberalesque, high-tech, passport-holding kind of families that attend TPA, and the teachers which are so intellectually open-minded and challenging. In TPA, you work on your brain and your mind, question biases, question your assumptions, learn, excel. The campus doesn't show well, but its teachers and administrators more than shine. In the end, its about outstanding results, scholarships to college, well-rounded intellectual leaders of the future. I feel my children are on the right track at TPA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2010

Tempe Preparatory Academy has been through a difficult transitional period, with three different headmasters in the last 4 years. In that period, the education offered at the school has declined. In the past, students had to write a research paper each year as part of an annual project week that took place in January. This important intellectual experience has been eliminated, and students no longer have to write research papers. In the past, students were required to write review essays about concerts that they attended. This requirement has also been changed; students now fill out a check sheet. Even in humane letters classes, writing does not seem to be very important, and teachers take months to comment on and return essays. (In one humane letters class, for example, the third formal essay was due on Feb. 17 but not returned until May 4). Teachers seem to rely on rote-memorization exams now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

i absolutely cant stand this school. i've been here for only two years and am getting out for next year. i'm not spending the next four years of my life in that place, thank god. it has great academics for people at other schools who get all a's, which i did. in everything else, tempe prep just is not the the school for some people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2010

It is a great school. Besides great academics, TPA forms and prepares the person for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

TPA as it was nicknamed was the best school I have ever been to. The teachers are great and I love it. Plus, the academics are above average.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2009

I love this school more than I can tell you. I am grateful to God that we were lucky enough to get in. Although there is no perfect school, TPA is the perfect school for us!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

i just moved to a different state i regreted leaving soo much! the teachers there are wonderful. you make great friends there in no time because there are not that many students. overall this school is wonderful. i loved my 2 years there
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2008

I think your diversity rating is flawed! There are substantial number of Black, Indian (India) and other cultures - diversity at this school is not viewed as an issue by students, they work side by side and accept each other regardless of race! Have had 2 students in this school over past 8 years! The 'average' student at Tempe Prep excels in university studies with emphasis in Math, Physics and Literature!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

TPA provides an outstanding demanding curriculum which in most classes is taught with enthusiasm, humor and rigor by extrordinary teachers. Improved evaluation of teachers is needed to rid the environment of a a scant number of teachers whose motivation to teacher to TPA standards is lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

An excellent school, but parents and students should be aware of three points - a) the work is hard b) there are mountains of homework, especially in ninth grade c) the curriculum is set so if, for example, your student is poor at Latin or music theory, then tough. In my opinion, this school is great for the over achiever or student who if lucky to be bright at all subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

Every school should strive to have the standards set by TPA. My son just completed 7th grade. He has found balance between daily workouts with the HS football team and a passion for Latin. He drives our family crazy with incessant Shakespeare citations. He tells his brothers, 'Dudes, in Julius Cesar, he's talking about guys like us!' If you want an honest assessment of the school ask any of the students. They'll tell you that while they don't always look forward to going to school (my son: 'I'm not a nerd, geesh') they love to learn and they're learning a lot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

TPA offers a strong and comprehensive liberal arts curriculum in an environment of integrity, respect, and high expectations. The administration and faculty know each student and truly seek to maximize their collective and individual potential. Teachers will challenge your child to stretch his/her mind and reach beyond the comfortable; to learn to examine, reason, and to question. There is a strong sense of dedication within this community, and the students feel valued. Parents who are considering this school should be prepared to provide a safe and supportive home environment, and be willing to take an active part in the mission of the school. It is a community of learners, and parents are integral. Students graduating from TPA are exceptionally well prepared for college, and are independent thinkers with strong values.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Italian
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Greek I, II
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:00
School Leader's name
  • Julie Boles
Fax number
  • (480) 755-0546

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Greek I, II
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parents can become involved through the parent organization; and through various volunteer activities. each spring the parent organization hosts a school wide renaissance fair that is highly supported by the entire community.
More from this school
  • *consistently rated "Excelling" by state of Arizona *outstanding scores on standardized testing (state & national, including SAT) *high acceptance rate to competitive colleges/universities (Boston U.; U.of Chicago; Pomona/Claremont Colleges) *strong involvement of students in extracurricular activities
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arizona State University, incl. Barrett Honors College
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1251 E. Southern Ave
Tempe, AZ 85283
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 839-3402

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Imagine Tempe
Tempe, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT