Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gethsemane Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 194 students

Our school is best known for our outstanding academic program

 
 

Living in Tempe

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, September 15, 2014

Gethsemane Lutheran School is the best kept secret in private school education in the Valley! We love the small class sizes, after school sports, the music program and all the family and education focused extra curricular activites. The teachers are wonderful and there is a real sense of community. My child is thriving and feels safe. The curriculum is great and the students are tested and put in classes to challange them at every lever. The 6:30am to 6:30pm before and afterschool care is fantastic. We look forward to 4 more years at Gethsemane. It is truly a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2014

This review is for their summer camp program. We absolutely loved this school after coming from another private school program that was not run as well as this one. My daughter was about to enter K and I am amazed by everything they taught her this summer. The kids learned addition and subtraction, and did all kinds of phonics & reading worksheets. And that was just for a small amount of classroom time as the rest of the time was all activities to really wear the kids out. They had daily swim, field trips that were age appropriate including a visit to the firehouse, PE games and scooters in the gym and arts & crafts. All of the kids were so well behaved that they also had 5 year olds playing board games like Twister and Chutes & Ladders. I was very impressed by how well behaved the kids were and very thankful to the summer camp teachers who clearly were great at what they do. So caring. In fact, my daughter loved the school so much that she asked us to wake her up early so that she could go earlier and at the end of the camp day she never wanted to leave. The price for tuition is very reasonable and if we could afford it for the school year this would be our first choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2014

We have been at Gethsemane for 3 years and we couldn't be happier with this school. Teachers do an outstanding job of creating a caring environment that has helped our kids thrive academically and socially. We absolutely love the outside-the-book learning environment which makes Gethsemane unique and helps our kids get excited about school everyday. Our kids get a great education and excel at levels above their grade, but the Chores for Charity, Operation Christmas Child, and WWII Water Balloon Simulation are great examples that make this school special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2014

I had high hopes for this school for our children. I have been so disappointed in how this school has changed. In just a short time there have been so many staff changes and now the governing board is run by a few parents. There is no real leadership which is a red flag and in my opinion, not good. The school does do a lot of nice things for the community and has a nice Christian environment. We found the small class sizes were actually a detriment and many of the classes now have less than a dozen kids. I did a lot of research and for the money we were paying I expected a lot more from this school. There are many great schools in the surrounding area that are wonderful with a very nurturing environment. Plus not to mention they are free and offer many great electives and community programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2014

Why 1 star? Here aresome of the reasons; 1-You would be paying for the Curriculum that is same as the public schools. 2-Bullying is a big issue that nobody does anything to stop it. 3-School has no money and has a lot of debt. 4-They have been combining the grades due to decrease of enrollment.Only 7 kids will enroll for the kindergarten. 5-Most of the teachers quit .They have lost their best teachers already. I hope my review can reach out other parents before it will be removed .It is not unusual that they manage to remove negative reviews before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2014

This school has continued to positively evolve with an emphasis on academic excellence, the student's character development - all based in a christian atmosphere with a focus on individual moral and character development. The test scores give the school elite status. Our children (3) have benefited from the academic, athletic and Christian community environment. Our family has been blessed to be a part of the Gethsemane Community. This school has earned the opportunity to be part of your educational evaluation process for your children and your family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

We have been very happy with the educational experience at Gethsemane. We have found the teachers and staff to be kind and caring. We have enjoyed the smaller class sizes. Gethsemane is full of great Christian families and we are proud to send our children there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

Gethsemane Lutheran School has been an amazing community in which to raise my two boys. They have both been with the school since they were 3 years old and attended Preschool. The individualized learning and attention to each child has been what has kept us there. My son's first grade teacher recognized that he needed additional things to keep him challenged, as well as several others in the class and she made that happen. By challenging them at an early age, it has set the bar pretty high. My two sons have had the opportunity to participate in sports, music, drama, band, Spelling contests, geography contests, and Accelerated Reader programs, among others. The staff knows each family and is always working with each one to meet their needs. Teachers are accessible and open to discussions. Outside of the classroom, the school has many activities throughout the year to join the families in fun and fellowship. It creates a community atmosphere where you feel comfortable knowing that others are looking out for your family when you are not able to be with them. Thanks Gethsemane for 10 great years so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

My children have been attending GLS for over 6 years. We love this school because of the small class sizes and advanced curriculum. Our children are eaily a year ahead of their peers who attend public school. Additionally, we enjoy the comminity aspect of the school and the mentoring of younger students by the older children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

We love Gethsemane Lutheran School. Our son is in his 4th year at GLS. The school is not the fanciest looking from the outside but once you get inside the classrooms, the entire experiance changes. State of the art electonics, mobile computer lab with Ipads as well as standard books. The small class size ensures that our child is receiving a great education. While many public schools are cutting non-academic classes, GLS offers many programs such as music & drama & a sports program for the older students. The most important aspect to us as parents is that GLS is a Christia n based school that teaches our child the same beliefs & guidelines that we try to reinforce in our home. The staff cares about the children & we consider GLS an extension of our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

Gethsemane Lutheran School has been a big part of our lives since 2002 when we moved to AZ from MN. Our three children will spend all of their elementary years at this great school! As parents, a Christian school with teachers that believe and model strong values is important to us. GLS provides that and so much more. Teachers at GLS truly care about their students. They encourage and challenge students on a daily basis. They integrate a Christian viewpoint into all aspects of education - curriculum, chapel, campus life and extracurricular opportunities. Creativity within the classroom is another reason we are raving fans of this school. A WWII re-enactment, Iron Chef and CSI are all examples of courses that have been offered at GLS. Music, drama and sports are a few of the extracurricular activities you can find at GLS. Who doesn't love rooting for the Gethsemane Gators throughout the year? GLS is affiliated with Gethsemane Lutheran Church, which broadens our family even further through great support and integration. We couldn't be happier with the school, the staff and the teachers at GLS. You should definitely check it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

This school is amazing I am proud that my student can go to Gethsemane.At this school my daughter can be in honors math and most importantly honors kindness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

Gethsemane is a wonderful school with dedicated teachers and support staff. The student-to-teacher-ratio is low enough so that each student is given the support he or she needs in order to reach his or her potential. The teachers are always looking for cutting-edge ways to teach the material to their students. It is a huge sigh of relief to send my child to a school where I am confident he is loved and cared for. All parents should seriously consider sending their child to Gethsemane.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

My child has attended this school for 4 years. We really like the school! Gethsemane has gone through some changes but it is heading in the right direction. Teachers and staff are outstanding. The principal is dedicated and is always happy to speak with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Gethsemane Lutheran School has been a part of our families lives for many years. Our two daughters attended from preschool through the eighth grade. They received an excellent education, learned about God and are responsible high school students. They attend one of the highest ranking high schools in the state and know the education at Gethsemane was a huge factor for them to be admitted to their high school.


Posted December 15, 2012

I love this school! It is a small school with big school offerings. The class sizes are small. Technology is on the cutting edge. Students use technology to enhance their learning experience. The principal is a loving, compassionate leader whom all the children know. The teachers are outstanding teachers and great Christian role models. I would recommend this school to everyone looking for quality education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2012

Our family is so very thankful for Gethsemane Lutheran School. The teachers are so talented and the environment is just like one large family. When I send my child off to school I know she is safe, well taken care of, and that she will learn an extensive amount of subjects. Not only does she learn the important subjects but she also gets to participate in amazing extracurricular activities of her choice. Currently, she is participating in hand bells, band, and cooking in addition to advanced math and her important core subjects. We are so grateful and so thankful for all the hard work and time the teachers put into our child every day. We believe our daughter will be very successful because of the time and dedication the teachers put into each and every child. Sending our daughter to Gethsemane is one of the best decisions we have ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2012

This is our third year at Gethsemane with only regret that we didn't start sooner. The Administration is the most compassionate about children and their walk with our Lord. The teachers find joy in teaching their students and it shows. Academically, the standards are high and the small class sizes ensure students needs are met, if they need advanced math, they receive advanced math, etc. Gethsemane is a community of families supporting each other and the love that is shown and shared is absolutely wonderful. Personally, I would recommend Gethsemane to any family who wants to receive a quality education for their child at a great price surrounding by a supportive community of parents, staff and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

Our son was in the Gethsemane preschool for a year and a half. We experienced very poor communication between teachers/staff and parents. The teacher quality, especially in the preschool 3's class, was poor. I requested a conference with out son's teacher and she would not even look me in the eye. She said our son was doing fine and she had no concerns about him, but it was like pulling teeth to get any information out of her. Shortly afterwards, we removed our son from the school. None of the staff, teachers, or the principal even asked why we were withdrawing him. I would think twice about sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

My children are entering their 10th year at GLS. The teachers and staff are caring and work in the way of the Lord. The classes offered are advanced and they offer assistance to others in need of extra help. The sports activities that are available are offered to all students after grade 4, with the exception of Cross Country in 3rd grade. The elective classes are also current to what children are interested in. We have 6 more years at the school and would not trade it for anything!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 5% 5%
Hispanic 1% 43%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Wendell L. Robson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (480) 839-8876

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Valley Lutheran High School
Valley Christian High School
Seton Cathholic High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1035 E Guadalupe Rd
Tempe, AZ 85283
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 839-0906

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Aguilar School
Tempe, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT