Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James Madison Preparatory School

Charter | 7-12 | 178 students

Our school is best known for its academic excellence and small class size.
 
 

 
 

Living in Tempe

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2008

I have been involved with this school for 3 years and am disappointed in the decline of behavioral expectations and test scores. The teachers are so focused on behavioral problems that they are not focused on teaching. This may not be everybody's experience but getting a teacher's help academically was like pulling teeth. Also, so much time is spent out of class on the musical that the students are not properly prepared for state testing like AIMS and TerraNova and so the scores went down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

This is my son's first year at JMPS. Coming from a homeschool environment, we were pleased with the small class sizes, concerned and loving teachers, and the emphasis on Integrity, Morals, Character, etc. My son is very shy and every single kid and teacher, I might add, made him feel welcome from day one! Now he's more than half-way through the year and even though it's been tough, he bugged me to get his re-enrollment for the Fall in ASAP! This says a lot. He's learning valuable lessons that he will be able to apply to his adult life. This is a great school to check out. No expensive private school fees but a 'private school' setting and all the perks too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

I am very happy with this school generally. I think my son is happy too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

James Madison offers a strong curriculum in an environment of integrity, respect, and high expectations. The administration and faculty know each student. They work hard to provide strong academic programs along with extracurricular activites supported by the staff and parental involvement, It is an extremely safe and supportive environment. Students feel valued and are well prepared for college, are independent thinkers with strong values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2006

This is by far one of the best schools I have ever been to and probably one of the top three schools in AZ, the discipline is great because almost always everyone gets caught for their wrongdoing. I don't even care about the dress code because everyone else is wearing the same thing so if they're judging you the're judging themselves. The small classes are terrific and the teachers are humorous, but don't mess around when it comes to getting the job done. This is my second year at the school and i hope to see four more following this one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2006

My first year here was the first year the school opened. There wasn't much going on. Choir, PE, and a small theatrical production were the few things beside academics that were offered. By the end of my senior year, there was football, soccer, baseball, cross country, track, volleyball, and not only a few small theatrical productions, but also a musical. Adding all these great things, academics never suffered. They stayed top of the line with top of the line teachers. This is a great school for students who want to experience all the athletics and extra curricular of a large high school, but have the one on one focus of the teachers of each class. How do I know so much about JMPS? I've not only seen the effects of this school, I was also a student! You can't go wrong with this school. ~Tevye
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 20, 2006

I love this school. I am currently an eighth grader here. This school has wonderful academic programs, and I love the emphasis on history. The extracurriculars, everyone can join, except for the fall play which is High School only. And the parent involvement is wonderful. The teachers are great too. I don't even mind the uniform.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2006

JMPS is a great school where learning is the number on priority. The children are given a sense of responsibility toward the school unlike any other. They teach life lessons by assigning chores and making sure that everyone follows the code of conduct for the school. The teachers are proactive in the everyone school work. The small class size makes sure that everyone is learning the subject being taught. Extracurricular activites are available but not the school's number one priority. The uniform policy keeps the children on track with learning instead of trying to out do each other. They do not just teach the AIMS test to ensure that everyone passes but the children pass the AIMS test because of the quality education that they receive allow them to pass the AIMS test with excelling results. Even though this is high school they still have parent/teacher/student conferences twice a year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2005

I graduated from jmps.It was a pretty good-school.I enjoyed it as much as you possibly can in high school. I learned a lot.It was very hard for me to skim by in some of the classes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 3, 2004

Our daughter is attending JMPS after being homeschooled for almost 5 years. The teachers do seem to care about the students, and we like the small class size ( and small school size), and the communication seems to be good. However, most of the work is too easy for her, so far, as she is covering things we covered at home two years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2004

I never thought I would find a school that offered an outstanding education, ideal teacher to student ratios, and a safe environment where strong morals and character development were stressed, but thankfully I have. James Madison Preparatory School offers all of these benefits and more. However, if your child doesn t want to learn or excel and if a quality education is not a top priority for you then this is not the school for you. This is an exceptional institute with excellent staff and high standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2004

If you want a school that takes teaching back to the basics this is it! JMPS teaches more then just the basics it teaches Values, Morales, Dicipline and great leadership. I travel an extra 30 min ea way to make it possible for my child to attend and look forward to each new year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2004

James Madison Preparatory (JMP) is an outstanding school that promotes and teaches academic excellence, participation, responsibility, and character. My daughter has attended 8th - 9th grades at JMP and she truly likes the school. Her attitude about the school is not unique. There is no better testimony to a school than to have students that want to be there, want to learn, and want to participate. The administration and teachers of JMP are clearly very committed to the vision of the school, and the education and character of their students. Our family highly recommends this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2004

James Madison Preparatory offers a private school education in a charter school setting. If you are looking for strong curriculum, challenging classwork and outstanding leadership, this is the school for your child or children. The director of this school, David Batchelder is outstanding he seems to care as much about the success of the students at his school as the parents. He definitely maintains control in a healthy way. Don't let him scare you he's truly delightful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2004

Madison Prep is an excellent school. It is small enough that the teachers and principal know every student. It also has excellent academic standards and the curriculum places a strong emphasis on character. I would hightly recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2004

This school has great academic attributes. In the short time the school has been active, the yearly results of graduates and their reports after their first year in collage it very encoureging. This school has a good grasp of the basic fundamentals of individual accountability. Which includes character developement and responsibility. In todays world this is a real plus and lets this school stand out from the rest. This reinforces what my children receive at home and then some. The school measureables not only include academic value, but they measure each students character performance as well. For example, should a student not attend a school fund raising event their grade point can drop as much as 25 points per event. Thus they are able to enforce accountability right where it counts, at home. Thankfully only the children suffer grade point difference and not the parents. Although somewhat disconcerting as it may appear, it is comforting to know that school is no longer a matter or reading, writing and arithmetic. There are principles, policies and procedures that each student must be prepared to comply with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2003

I have been very pleased with the level of excellence at this school. My daughter was formerly homeschooled, and has found an easy transition here. The school has a high code of conduct, and so the students are respectful and well behaved. The faculty is caring and talented. The academics are strong. Extracurricular activities are excellent. Overall, James Madison has provided a positive experience for my daughter. She loves going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have two of my three children currently enrolled. I have [been] very pleased with the curriculum and I love the small size of the classes. Always, I've been able to have clear communication with teachers and principal. Tutoring has been provided in a regular basis when my son has needed it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2003

The grading system for high school was misleading. My son was docked 20-30% of his grade because he wasn't participating even though he said he had his hand up and tried to get a word in. He wound up with terrible grades so we had to pull him out. This was not mentioned at the interview.


Posted March 27, 2003

The leadership of this school believes in providing a 'private school' style of education, in which academic excellence is encouraged and nurtured. Additionally, a high regard is placed on the development of self-discipline and self-worth within the students to prepare them for leadership in society. I have no regrets in placing two of my children in this school and look forward to the rest of my children being able to get their education at James Madison Prep.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Homeschool
Christian schools
Other charter schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 10% (2011)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 80% (2011)
Percentage of students going to the military 10% (2011)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Arizona State University
University of Arizona
Northern Arizona University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • US News & World Report Bronze Medal (2012)
  • US News & World Report Bronze Medal (2009)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drum line
  • Flag girls
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
School Leader's name
  • Paul Grant
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 345-0059

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College preparatory
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • None
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Drum line
  • Flag girls
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • James Madison Preparatory School had TWO national merit scholarship winners this year (2011-2012) and we have another finalist for next years class (2012 - 2113).
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
200
Students typically come from these schools
Homeschool
Christian schools
Other charter schools

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arizona State University
Small private colleges in US and Canada
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Students' post-graduation plans in 2011
2 year college - 10%
4 year college - 80%
Military - 10%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5815 S. McClintock
Tempe, AZ 85283
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 345-2306

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT